We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
22
0
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
0
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private room one night clothing paul optional hostel
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 24 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Gazebo is a fantastically friendly place, the small size along with Paul, the owner make it a great place to really meet people and make the most of the wonderful Golden Bay atmosphere. There's so much to do in the area from relaxing on a beach and checking out the unusual shops 5 minutes slow walk down the road to challenging tramps and beautiful scenery.

This is one of the few places I've stayed where the facilities and the welcome exceeded those advertised and there was no hint of trying to make money from you. I'd recommend it to anyone unless you're made uncomfortable by people being nude around you if they want to be.

Room Tip: I can't say much about the rooms but they look nice. The tent space outside is comfortable and shaded.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We came to Takaka for only a week and stayed two months, during that time we Wwoofed for Paul the owner. Paul is awesome very rare to find someone who cares so much about the people around him. We felt so much at home, and the people there were much our family! Paul has bikes that you can take for the day no charge, also he has all the information about the area, and stories from all over the world he is a great person to strike a conversation with! He has really great wifi hookup, communal computer to use and an awesome theatre system to watch any movie imaginable, he has heaps to choose from.There is plenty to do around the area too, from swimming, beaches, rock climbing, or dip into the community that has developed, a place where people are so nice and down to Earth! If you are looking to smile a lot and have a fantastic time Gazebo Backpackers is the right place for you, and its a great social atmosphere where you can relax and just be yourself, you won't regret your stay! His property is well surrounded by natural plant life, the area is beautiful to just sit relax, or even BBQ!!!

Cheers
Marcus

Room Tip: The dorm rooms are really nice, VERY comfortable beds! He has two private rooms as well, very quiet, and relaxed!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Such a beautiful place to stay! A lovely relaxed atmosphere and heaps of fun. I felt a bit nervous staying at a clothing-optional hostel, but felt so comfortable and accepted around everyone staying here whatever clothing I chose to wear or not wear. The people I have met here, including Paul (our host) and his lovely dog Rachel will be memories I keep for life. Very close to Takaka township for all our needs. Bikes that can be borrowed to travel to exciting waterfalls and swimming holes. Looking forward to next summer already <3

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Suzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

A splendid place to relax into while you enjoy Golden Bay... Paul and Rachel the dog make excellent hosts for all your needs. The house is located off the main street so it's quiet but still right in the heart of Takaka. A very comfortable stay... I will come back here again and again.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
Thank shipirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews