We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome company - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Bay Kayaks

Golden Bay Kayaks
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Golden Bay Kayaks is one of the best little kayak companies in New Zealand, situated in one of the best kayaking destinations in the world, which is why it is such a popular destination for all kayakers from beginners to the more experienced. They specialise in kayak rentals for a half day, full day or the popular 'paddle the length of the Abel Tasman', the only company that will allow this. The Guided tours are a simple, no fuss, high value experience where the personal touch makes the half day spent on the water a memorable experience. Perfect for those that have not kayaked before or very little or for those keen to learn about the Northern end of the Abel Tasmans rich history, geology and wildlife. Stand Up Paddle boards available and the easily accessible Tata Islands is a fantastic destination to explore the close up nature of islands. They are the closest sea kayak company to the Abel Tasman National Park. An extra bonus at the end(or start) of the day is the great coffee and ice cream....PERFECT!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Auckland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome company - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Tony and Lisa at Golden Bay Kayaks were fantastic to deal with - and went the extra mile to make sure we had a safe and fun trip. They were informative, the equipment was in excellent condition and the training was thorough (but also heaps of fun). It's a beautiful part of NZ - one of the highlights of our awesome country.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    11
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beatrice, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Tui and Tony were great guides. We had them to ourselves. First time kayaking so we appreciated their patience with us.

Went farther than I thought we would for a 4 hour booking. It was worth visiting a great beach. Tui motivated us by signing classic 90's tunes. Great equipment and overall experience. Such a beautiful area that is not crowded.

Helpful?
1 Thank Timetovaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is the place to go to if you want to Kayak in Abel Tasman. The northern section of the park is quiet and beautiful. We went in October, most of the times we were the only ones on the beaches. The owner, Tony, is knowledgeable and helpful. He's also a good instructor. We came in not knowing much about sea kayaking, but feeling much more confident after the orientation. The whole trip was a lot of fun. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank tliang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

Beautiful scenery, seals up close and personal, a knowledgeable and friendly guide - this is one trip not to be missed when visiting Abel Tasman. We were inexperienced kayakers but felt safe and had a truly enjoyable experience we will remember for many years.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank pearsefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun, safe, trustworthy & beautiful scenery.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

I did a wonderful hour's trip with my 6 year old son, early one morning in March, with Golden Bay Kayaks.
My little one had never been in a kayak before, so it was important that he felt confident, but understood how to behave. Tony & Paul did a great job, putting him at ease, whilst helping me understand the additional safety bits needed when rowing for two.
After a fab hour's hire, we returned to eavesdrop on Paul & Tony doing full safety briefings - one for a bunch of beginners, about to hire for a half day, and the others for people going on a guided trip. I was impressed by the quality of the briefing and their patience, when answering questions.
At one point, they were interrupted by a couple who wanted to hire for a full day. Tony offered them a half day only, as the waves were due to get too rough for novices, by the afternoon. The couple left without hiring. For me, this showed that the Golden Bay Kayaks team has integrity and trustworthy. Anyone prepared to lose business rather than let people take unnecessary risks is a gem, as far as I'm concerned.
I strongly recommend them - great location, friendly and experienced team, great kayaking, sensible price.
Enjoy!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Bay Kayaks also viewed

 
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Golden Bay Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing