We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, spacious place to stay!”
Review of The Rocks Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rocks Chalets
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, spacious place to stay!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Rocks Chalets are conveniently located on the main road in and out of Takaka which makes them perfect for anyone interested in traveling to Abel Tasman National Park and Farewell Spit or Wharariki Beach. The owners have given a personal touch to everything on the property and made it a priority to personally show us around the grounds. The rooms are incredibly spacious and every detail has been thought of. A must stay in Takaka!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We basically designed what we like private large rooms, powerful shower, comfortable beds and quiet.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    25
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
94
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at The Rocks for two nights and also ate in the restaurant. The setting was fantastic, the chalet was immaculate and wonderfully spacious. The bed was the most comfortable of our three week stay in NZ!
The food in the restaurant was fabulous and the walk to and from the chalets to the restaurant via the glow worms was just an added bonus.
Couldn't rate this place highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddieRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you I'm glad you enjoyed our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have been staying & The Rocks Chalets for the past few days & rate them the best we have stayed in so far during our South Island road trip. We only intended to stay for one night but stayed for 3. The chalets are private, very comfortable, clean with a casual resort feel about them. Beds & showers are great. The owners Pat & Chris are helpful & available without being intrusive- would not even consider looking at other accommodation if we came back to Takaka.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tui chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed you stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We won a nights accommodation at the rocks which included breakfast and dinner. The staff were absolutely lovely and made us feel spoilt. The grounds are lovely with the chalets very well spaced out with lots of open ground between them all. The chalets themselves were immaculate and spacious. Our meal in the restaurant was delicious, and the service fantastic. They even whipped our desserts up quickly so we could put them in our fridge ready for when we returned from watching the rugby (the creme brulee was to die for!) We both are looking forward to going back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatG2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Everyone loves a winner congratulations on your win and we hope to see you soon
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at The Rocks while working in Takaka. This was a beautiful setting to come back to each night after work. The large well heated room was comfortable and clean and the bed was comfy and warm. Lovely hosts where nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant wasnt open Monday night, but I dined there Tuesday. Beautiful food, both in taste and presentation and I learned what a' knickerbocker glory' was! Thanks for a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Our pleasure hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at The Rocks. We were made to feel extremely welcome by the owners from the outset, and were very pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a more expensive chalet for free.

We had several of Takaka's restaurants recommended to us by our hosts (as the restaurant at The Rocks was closed), and the two we chose turned out to be excellent.

The chalets themselves are spacious and modern, but also cosy, with a very comfortable bed.

We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InsolentMinx18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I hope to cook for you next time you visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson City, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed one night at The Rocks. The setting is nice, a rocky and beautiful landscaped garden that provides a lot of privacy for each chalet.
The rooms are spacious and clean with a comfortable bed and bathroom.
Friendly staff.

There's a restaurant on site which we would have loved to try, but unfortunately it was closed due to a winter break.
But it's close to the city centre where you can find several restaurants to choose from.

It's a recommendable place to stay, value for money and an attractive central location for visiting the Golden Bay area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Sorry we missed you for the restaurant we do not get away often so I can almost guarantee the restaurant will be open on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takaka
10.7 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#1 of 4 in Takaka
175 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#2 of 4 in Takaka
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
15.9 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
384 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rocks Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Chalets

Property: The Rocks Chalets
Address: 2086 Takaka Valley Highway | Golden Bay, Takaka 7110, New Zealand (Formerly Eatery on the Rock Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rocks Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocks Chalets offers 5 open plan private chalets each with their own en suite bathroom and patio, set amongst scenic karst rock formations. Each Chalet has a toaster, jug, cutlery, cups, plates, a fridge and a BBQ. Just a short drive from the beautiful beaches and all that Golden Bay has to offer. The Rocks is ideally located 800 metres from Takaka township. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Rocks Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eatery On The Rock Hotel Takaka
The Rocks Chalets Takaka, Golden Bay, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing