We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“28/1/12-30/1/12” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rocks Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Rocks Chalets
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“28/1/12-30/1/12”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay here. Pat and Chris made us very welcome and we had the most wonderful self-contained apartment -very private with a lovely view towards Takaka. We also enjoyed a delicious dinner in the adjoining restaurant, cooked by Chris. Pat even took our dry washing off the line and folded it all for us and was very helpful over a problem with some telephone calls to the UK. A really relaxing stay in a wonderful part of New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Hope to see you back again soon
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    24
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
92
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Thank you for your hospitality and Chris accepting our menu changes and wanting very dead steak. we had great service and meals every night thank you very much

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wenalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
You pay for it we cook it to YOUR liking see you again.
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

WOW!! What more can I say. We arrived at the Rock in a whirlwind, whilst traveling the country working. Could not have stayed at a more relaxing place. The service that we received from Chris and Pat was by far above and beyond what we were expecting. They accommodated our needs and looked after us so well that it really did feel like a 'home away from home'. After eating out in the town the first day, we thought we'd try the restaurant at the rock. Needless to say, the food matched the service and we spent the rest of our stay looking forward to the next meal. As we found, Chris has quite a talent in the kitchen, and was more than happy to make meals for us that weren't on the menu. I must say though, no matter what I ordered, nothing compared to the 'Pork Loin - with home made apple sauce and fries. A must have off the menu. The room we stayed in was secluded and very private. We were able to sleep with doors and curtains open, which when you are from a big city, is bliss. Can not wait till the next time I am back down that part of the country. Will be back to the Eatery On The Rock for sure.

Room Tip: I miss the Tui room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DFontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thanks for your kind words
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Beautiful, natural surroundings with private, quiet chalets. The restaurant serves delicious food and the hosts are friendly and attentive whilst leaving you with all the peace and quiet you are after. Highly recommended when anywhere near Takaka.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lishlishlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
hope to see you soon
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

My work as Member of Parliament for the WestCoast Tasman Electorate involves me in constant travel from Takaka to Haast. Over the last six years I have frequently stayed at Eatery on the Rock Motel whmen in this part of the electorate.The consideration that the Hosts, Pat and Chris extend to guests is exemplary, from the time of arrival till departure. The restaurant service and menu is one of the best I have enjoyed in a region which is not short of good hospitality. The motel units are comfortable, private, and a clever design. The gardens are tranquil, spectacular, and a perfect setting for a wind down in the evening, and for a bracing start each day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
All the best for 2012
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Let me start off by saying that we stayed here over Christmas 2010, so apologies if there's been a change in management / ownership since then.
We arrived at reception with our backpacks, possibly looking a little dishevelled, we'd spent the previous 5 days living in a tent whilst completing the Abel Tasman Track but the look on the owners face was, now I look back on it, laughable! I imagine she assumed we were backpackers - You know what they say? Don't judge a book by it's cover. She asked us if we'd like to pay for the room now? To which we replied, no thanks, we'll settle the room at the end of our stay (like it says on the sign at the counter). She then asked if she could hold onto our passports? I explained that although we've got English accents, we've been NZ residents for nearly 10 years and didn't travel with our passports. She accepted this with a look of suspicion and declared that if we're checking out before 9am the bill must be settled the previous evening. I said, ok, we will be leaving before 9am but not for another 4 days!
Not a great start.
The rooms are basic but clean and equipped with a large, modern bathroom.
We decided, against my better judgement, to eat at the restaurant. We made a reservation for 8 o'clock and arrived 10 minutes early, the restaurant was fairly busy but only at about half capacity, the lady owner told us that because our reservation wasn't until 8 o'clock we would have to come back. We weren't offered a drink or a seat!
When we were finally allowed to sit down it took more than 30 minutes for the waitress to take our order and then a further 30 minutes for it to arrive, the waitress was very apologetic and explained that there'd been an issue in the kitchen. We'd heard a lot about the Chef / owner from a very friendly local in Takaka the previous day who recommended the steak. To be honest, it was average at best and the vegetables were cold.
Fast forward 2 days and there was a note attached to our door saying 'Please don't smoke in your room' as neither of us smoke this was a little confusing. So I approached the owner who said the cleaning staff said it smelt of cigarrettes in our room and they'd also noticed that we've been using the air con an awful lot! This was the final straw. We packed our bags and made our way to reception to check out 2 days early, only to be told that we'd only reserved our rooms online and not booked them, so the online rate doesn't apply to our stay, it was only $20 a night difference, so I begrudgingly payed.
This place definitely has potential, just a shame that the owners are going to drag it down. I genuinely can't remember a worse experience of service at a hotel / motel.
I personally wouldn't go back to Golden Bay, not because of this experience but I feel there are far more attractive options closer to Nelson and it's surrounds.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pommiematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
We have no recollection or record of anyone staying ever that has cut their stay short. We are the original owners, have never asked anyone for a passport. Our booking system requires a credit card and deposit on booking so would've had no need for further proof of identity.Our rates are the same if you book directly or on line. We are located between two National Parks so backpacks are the norm and would not have caused any concern for us. There never has been nor will be a sign on the counter saying pay at the end of your stay, if you shortened your stay you would have been charged for the entire length of stay not just an extra $20.00. Why would we send early diners somewhere else to have a drink before dinner, wouldn't that be shooting ourselves in the foot? Locals usually know the best place to eat so God knows what you'd have got else where!! If you have been to the Bay and didn't appreciate it perhaps it's for the best. We note it has taken you 11months to write a review perhaps your memory is a little clouded.
Chris & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taupo New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at Eatery on the Rock for 3 nights in early July 2011. We prefer accommodations that are quiet, private and modern so this was an ideal location for us. We stayed in the Pukeko unit which has a very private setting. DVD's were available to borrow. The hosts, Pat and Chris, were respectful of our privacy but always available when we had questions. We celebrated our anniversary and my birthday at their on site restaurant and enjoyed a fabulous dinner and dessert prepared by Chris...thanks for that, Chris!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takaka
10.7 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#1 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
12.1 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#2 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
14.0 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 7 in Collingwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rocks Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Chalets

Property: The Rocks Chalets
Address: 2086 Takaka Valley Highway | Tasman, Takaka 7110, New Zealand (Formerly Eatery on the Rock Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rocks Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocks chalets offer 5 one bedroom affordable private island style chalets each with their own en suit bathroom, patio and garden, and 1 two bedroom family unit with private deck. The chalets have been built amongst the large Karst rock formations, which dominate the four-acre award winning gardens. Commanding breath-taking views of Takaka and the surrounding hills. Just minutes from beautiful beaches and all that Golden bay has to offer. The Rocks is perfectly located, within walking distance of Takaka township and sandwiched between two national parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Rocks Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eatery On The Rock Hotel Takaka
The Rocks Chalets Takaka, Golden Bay, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing