We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious rooms and friendly hosts”
Review of Mohua Motels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mohua Motels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The motel unit was really well equipped with high end fittings that made it feel quite luxurious. It was spotlessly clean too. The hosts were lovely providing a huge amount of local knowledge and suggestions for things to do. It was a very easy walk into Takaka in the evenings for a range of dining options.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohuaGoldenBay, Owner at Mohua Motels, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Mohua Motels. We pride ourselves on providing a friendly enviroment with beautifully appointed rooms to allow you to rest and relax .... whether it be for leisure or business. Warm regards Lenaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 162 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have been staying at quite a few motels over the last 12 months for my work and I have to say that this lovely place has stood out . . .things that have delighted me are . . .extreme cleanliness . . .gracious and well cared for furnishings, equipment and bedding . . .comfortable beds . . . The owners are a real delight as well . . .nothing is too hard [except green milk and that is the milkie's fault] . . .I love it and I am always looking forward to my stays there . . .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robsredrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohuaGoldenBay, Owner at Mohua Motels, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of Mohua Motels on your recent business trip. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your experience at Mohua Motels. This helps travellers decide on their accommodation while travelling and it's great to hear positive comments. We encourage negative as well to help us correct issues where possible to make Mohua Motels a favourite place to stay. We look forward to your return. Warm regards Lenaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We cruised into this relatively new motel and stayed 2 nights in charming Takaka. The motel offers large, clean and tidy rooms that are well appointed. It is good value. The owners are friendly and helpful. Takaka is a must visit in the north of the south Island with its slightly alternatative, arty scene, good cafes ans wonderful outdoors experiences including New Zealand's best beaches.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank WhakaipoLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohuaGoldenBay, Owner at Mohua Motels, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi there, Thank you for your review of Mohua Motels. We have a diverse range of people in Golden Bay which makes Golden Bay such an interesting place to visit. We agree Takaka is a charming place and a must to visit. Regards Lenaire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Where to start!

For one nite we booked it turned into three n if we had more time in the south island it would have been more,

They make you feel right at home, helpful with loads of knowledge of the region n others around, from loads of free things to do to things that cost what ever float ya boat they will help!

We had a fantastic stay n I didnt want to leave I have now found the most beautiful golden bay area n motel for more holidays to come

Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skylines86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohuaGoldenBay, Owner at Mohua Motels, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi there Thank you for your wonderful review. It was great having you stay with us. Great to share with you our beautiful back yard here in beautiful Golden Bay! Look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm regards Lenaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We want to stay only one night, but then staed three. Everything was good, friendly and helpful staff, very good rooms and beds, good equipment and amenities (incl. BBQ right in the middle of the motel). Staff provides you with information on walks and so on. Supermarket 100 m across the street.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are easier to access, rooms with spa are plus 20 NZD, but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerndC_NZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohuaGoldenBay, Owner at Mohua Motels, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Good afternoon, thank you for your review of Mohua Motels. What a lovely three days you had and what great weather Golden Bay has at present. With the lovely warm evenings, guests have been having a wonderful time sharing their days events over a BBQ. Warm regards Lenaire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is the second year that I have stayed at the Mohua Motel in Takaka and once again I enjoyed my stay enough to stay for 4 nights. The facility is modern, very clean with all the amenities plus knowledgeable information about the sights and walks in the area The proprietors are very helpful in every regard from restaurant recommendations to arranging tours. I have spent 2 months in NZ for the past 6 years and I can recommend the Mohua Motel without reservation as an accommodation that consistently exceeds my expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohuaGoldenBay, Owner at Mohua Motels, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to review Mohua Motels. It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Mohua Motels. We appreciate your comments and take great pride in providing 'Outstanding Accommodation' with a warm and friendly atmosphere. Warm regards Lenaire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I found Mohua Motels on the web. We instantly thought the price was very competitive, and the complex looked new and inviting. So we booked in for 2 nights - and so glad we did! We stayed in a studio where everthing was at our fingertips. Air conditioning, comfortable bed, sky t.v, beautiful bathroom, relaxing decor, gorgeous outlook over green lush paddocks. Staff who were more than accomodating, nothing was a problem; they gave us directions on anywhere we wanted to go in the area. Our unit was serviced thouroughly each day. We both travel quite a lot within our jobs and we both would rate this a most comfotable and memorable stay. So much so we booked for a 3rd night! Liz & Nick - CHCH

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohuaGoldenBay, Owner at Mohua Motels, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi there, Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm glad you had "3 Days of pure relaxation!". Warm regards Lenaire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takaka
10.3 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
177 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
266 reviews
12.3 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
140 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
16.1 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 2 in Kaiteriteri
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohua Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohua Motels

Address: 22 Willow Street | Golden Bay, Takaka 7110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Price Range: $78 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohua Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the entrance of Takaka township, we provide the perfect place to stay in Golden Bay. Relax or explore, the choice is yours. Everything you need is only a few steps away. We are an independent local motel, providing beautifully clean and well-appointed holiday accommodation. Our modern facilities include studios, spas, one-bedroom and two-bedroom apartments. People from all over the world know that Golden Bay is a magical place. We love to share our local knowledge, and will take great care of you from start to finish. Make your holiday a truly memorable one at Mohua Motels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Mohua Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohua Motels Takaka, Golden Bay, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing