We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 3rd visit - and we still love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Finca Canamero

Finca Canamero
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serrato
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Canamero
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our 3rd visit - and we still love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

Spacious, clean & comfortable with a wonderful swimming pool. A lovely rural setting with fantastic views, particularly from the Alto apartment , and well placed for visits further afield. Barbecues on the balcony as the sun sets ... all strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2xShuttles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Three of us (myself, wife & teenage son) had a really great holiday at Canamero. The property really was as good as the photos show. The apartment was very spacious, extremely clean and very well attended to. The pool and grounds were great with plenty of shade amongst the olive trees when things got too hot - and it was hot.
The village of Serrato was just a short walk away with a few bars to drink in and eat Tapas. We visited Bar Rafa on most weekend evenings when tapas were served from 9PM. The people running the bar were extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant in the village wasn't open during our stay but there are plenty of others a short drive away. We enjoyed our stay so much we would seriously consider returning and would have no hesitation in recommending this property to other friends or family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlenOrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

Accommodation
Fantastic, we had the downstairs apartment which was comfortably shared by 2 couples. Both double rooms have ensuite facillities and as the apartment was so spacious it allows for plenty of privacy.
The decor is rustic/farmhouse as the pictures show. Its very clean and very well stocked, crockery, cutlery etc. A very generous welcome pack is provided, this is sufficient to get you through the first day if necessary.
The beds are comfortable and we slept very well indeed, however this is inland southern Spain in July, its hot!
Outside, where we spent most of our time, is a huge patio area with table and chairs a lovely big pool with sunbeds and views to die for. The stunning countryside you would compare with Tuscany, it is breathtaking. It is so quiet you hear virtually nothing other than birds singing.

Serrato Village.
It takes approx. ten minutes to walk into the village (take a torch for the walk back at night). It is hilly, it is pretty, a typical 'white village'. What makes Serrato so special is the people, they dont impose themselves on you in any way, but they are so friendly, warm and welcoming. There are 5 bars in Serrato, they are great, low key (except when Spain play Germany in the semi final of the world cup! I'm writing this the day before the final, with a heavy heart at not being able to enjoy the final with the villagers.We had an amazing night in one of the bars for the semi final.)
There are no restaurants as such, but decent food is available in some of the bars. Again this is low key, but you can get tapas, pork and chips or pizza. We ate in quite a lot, then walked into the village for couple of drinks. People dont clock watch in Serrato, if there are customers, they're open.

Surrounding Area
Many other 'white villages' to visit within 15-20 minutes drive, we really liked El Burgo. The next village on towards Ronda, (Steve will advise you which one,) has a brilliant Tapas bar. We ate loads, plate after plate, 3 drinks each, plus coffee and ice creams. Total price? Less than 40 Euros for 4 adults! You will find this throughout the area, the prices are incredible, certainly compared to the coast.
Ronda is as gorgeous as everyone describes, it is touristy in parts, but also very Spanish. It's 20 minutes away, we went every 2 or 3 days to visit the supermarket and to do a bit of wandering about. The scenery here, I cannot describe, you have to go and see it!!
Malaga is less than an hour away, we like Malaga and feel it is underated. We didnt go to Seville this time, but have visited it before, it is not to be missed and is under 2 hours away. The coast, an hour away. In my opinion, this location has it all.

Finally....your host! Steve is just great as everyone has already said.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BGTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

3rd stay great time had by all village pub spot on area great steve very helpfull and will visit again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank storesy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

The Accommodation was ideal for a couple wanting to explore the area on our tandem ! Unfortunately the weather wasn't at it's best but that didn't stop us getting out and about.
The views from the villa were lovely when dining outside for breakfast & evening meals and it's a nice walk to the local restaurant which made us extremely welcome.
We would have loved to have spent some time in the lovely swimming pool but couldn't brave the cold.
Thank you to Irene & Steve for looking after us and making our holiday a great experience from booking through to tourist advice, weather forecast and ash cloud updates !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanorchaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

Finca canamero is in a fantastic setting,the apartments are to a high standard & the service from steve was brilliant.Steve was available to answer any questions & his directions to places of interest were spot on.The adjoining village was nice & the people were very friendly.Overall a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjladyman130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

We have recently returned from a weeks stay at Finca Canamero. We all (including our two teenage children) had a fantastic time there. The accommodation was very spacious and of very high quality and was absolutely spotless. Again outside there was a fantastic amount of space and the pool was wonderfully clean. The views were sensational. The village was perfect - an absolute gem. The surrounding area was truly beautiful and very accessible many places of note such as Seville and Jerez. Steve the host could not have been more friendlier or helpful and he provided us with lots of information on where to visit or to eat etc. I can honestly say Finca Canamero is one of the best places we have ever stayed.

Jane

  • Liked — Spaciousness and the friendly nature of the owner
  • Disliked — nothing - everything was great
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank catWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Finca Canamero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Canamero

Property: Finca Canamero
Address: 29471 Serrato, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Serrato
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Serrato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing