We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on Rio San Juan!”
Review of Hotel Sabalos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boca Sabalos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sabalos
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Boca Sabalos
South Bend, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on Rio San Juan!”
Reviewed April 27, 2010

The rooms were clean and comfortable, tours were very reasonable, the staff was friendly and helpful. The location is great, right on the river. I would not hesitate to stay here again! Be sure to visit the fort, El Castillo when you're in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank q1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
25
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2010

located right in the river san juan, it was relaxing, charming and very affordable

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefugitive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Very comfortable. Good food. Great small river town on the Rio San Juan. Used the hotel dugout canoe to take a trip up the Rio Sabolas. The other guests were interesting and I had some great conversations. The dining room is on a deck overlooking the river. A unique experience. The town of Boca de Sabolas is charming and offers travelers the chance to observe a genuine Nicaraguan river town.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingnewretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Eight of us went to Sabalos to help build a church in the nearby village of Las Colinas. I'd been by the Sabalos Hotel several times and always wanted to stay there. To get there you fly to Managua, then San Carlos, then catch a fast boat 40 minutes down the Rio San Juan to Sabalos (means "Tarpons" in Spanish). There isn't a road to the hotel and getting across the Sabalos River to the town requires a 2-3 minute boat ride, arranged at any time at the hotel.

The room was small but very comfortable with shelves and a small clothes rod. The bathroom was adequate with an electric shower, common around Nicaragua. The view from our riverside room was stunning, particularly in the morning as the fog lifted when the sun came up and in the evening. For whatever reason, the Rio San Juan has the most spectacular sunsets anywhere in the world I've been.

The staff is great and very accommodating. They are a bit shy to use much English at first but once they get comfortable with you, they do very well. The meals are typical Nicaraguan fare but well done with excellent fresh juices and desserts.

They can set up jungle tours as well as tarpon fishing. I hooked a 4' tarpon about 50' from the hotel.

I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdfloyd322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Wood panelled hotel that juts out over the Rio San Juan. Incredible view down the river, try to get a room on the river side. The staff were genuine and very pleasant and the food was very good, they even had some homemade chocalate, nice little touches like that. If you want to go to Sabalos village/town, the young lad has to take you across. Sabalos has its own charm, and the Clarissa restaurant in town (also has lodging) also serves very good local food. Hotel Sabalos really is a great place to stay. Thanks to the sweet staff that made us welcome. Nice memories.
Steve and Tasch

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteviefLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2009

This place is wonderful! It was the highlight of our wonderful trip to Nicaragua! We spent only two days and nights here, but I wish we could have spent longer. Rosa-Elena is so friendly and the whole staff is helpful and delightful.

The food was wonderful - very fresh and delicious. Our room was small but clean and cozy. We were situated right by the river and we enjoyed the beautiful views every time of the day.

My husband went fishing with a guide from the hotel and he had a great time. He said the equipment was first-rate and he almost caught a tarpon! Even though he didn't speak Spanish and the guide didn't speak English, they still had a great time and had little problem communicating.

We also went on an excursion to El Castillo. The guide was very patient and waited for us to wander around and spend an hour at a local bar. Everyone is so friendly everywhere you go!

I wandered over into Sabalos (across the Sabalos River) and ran into Julio. Julio took me on an informal tour of the lumberyard, cocoa plants and wildlife (we saw howler monkeys). Julio was an excellent guide and also can serve as a translator for English-speaking tourists.

This hotel is the most relaxing and pampering place you can imagine (if you don't need to have a manicure or hair-dryer). I will definitely come back. My desktop picture on my computer is the river view outside of our room. I can't wait to come back!

Erica

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamburg
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We were lucky to have picked this nice hotel in the internet - close to the Rio San Juan in Nicaragua. It was all so clean, with an 1a service and the food was excellent ! The sweet water shrimps were the biggest we ever saw and the most tastful ! Also important: Rosa, the owner, also speaks perfect German ! Looking forward being be there again in 2010 !
Peter and Nora Albrecht - Hamburg/Germany

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haesvau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca Sabalos
0.0 mi away
Sabalos Lodge
Sabalos Lodge
#1 of 2 in Boca Sabalos
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luna del Rio
Hotel Luna del Rio
#1 of 3 in El Castillo
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lara's Planet
Hotel Lara's Planet
#3 of 3 in El Castillo
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Montecristo EcoLodge
Montecristo EcoLodge
#1 of 3 in Boca Sabalos
104 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sabalos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sabalos

Property: Hotel Sabalos
Address: Boca Sabalos, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rio San Juan Department > Boca Sabalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Boca Sabalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Sabalos Hotel Boca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing