We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Las Plumerias Lodge and Surf
Nearby Hotels
Hostal Hamacas(El Astillero)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Magic Bay(El Astillero)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
80
7
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
7
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily styleamazing weektotal beginnerspent two weekslas plumeriasgreat wavesswimming poolpoint breakper daycentral americasurfinstructorsunsetyogacampcooksnicaragua
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 88 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2010

My wife and I, son (23) and his friend (also 23), just spent 9 days at Las Plumerias in Nicaragua and had a great adventure. Our host, Etienne, picked us up at the airport in Managua, drove us out to El Astillero, took us surfing at hot local surf spot 2 & 3 times every day, fed us gourmet food every meal, and taught us much about Nicaragua's history and its people. We had cool, eco-friendly cabanas with full bathrooms and comfy beds. On our last day there, Etienne took us on a tour of Granada and Masaya, then back to Managua. We got a good feel for the life style in rural Nicaragua, and Las Plumerias and Etienne gave us great value for our travel dollars. I would love to go back to Las Plumerias and Nicaragua, every spring for the next 50 years, for as long as I am able to surf.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surferfromKona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I was enamored with the wonderful hospitality, including the host, staff, and of course, food. It definitely surpassed my expectations of a Nicaraguan surf experience. Plus, I was impressed by their desire to take care of the environment by recycling, composting, and using solar power. I wish more developed countries would take this approach more often! The only area I suggest for improvement is air conditioned travel to and from the airport and surfspots. Everything else was stellar.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCsurfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Although you can see the ocean from the lodge you are nowhere near a beach. The closest beach is a 15 minute walk with no access, no surf, and across private property. The closest surfing beach is a 10-15 minute car ride to El Astillero followed by a 1-1.5 mile walk down the beach to where the break is surfable. The alternative is a 10-15 minute car ride to Popoyo followed by a 10 minute walk to the break.
The owner has one laptop computer with a 2G satellite USB plug in and therefore it takes roughly 20 minutes just to check your email.
The walls of the cabins do not extend to the ceiling and as a result the rooms are full of insects. The first night I killed a scorpion on my bed's bug netting. When I asked the owner,(Etienne) if these scorpions were poisonous he said " no I've been bitten lots of times, only causes redness, swelling and stinging along with your mouth going dry". (That's poisonous by the way). Every morning I watched as Hornets built a nest on the ceiling above my bed. I informed Etienne of this on several occasions only to be given the reply of "yeah,I'll take care of it". Nest was still there when I left.
The rooms have no air conditioning, no hot water, very little water pressure, tiny beds, and the toilet is a bench with hole cut out of it and a toilet seat placed over the hole. Below the bench is a 20 gallon plastic bucket into which you relieve yourself. The owner calls this a "chemical toilet".
The food is good but not plentiful, you are served 3 meals a day but that is it, there is no other food or snacking and no where to get food as you need a car to go anywhere. For 100.00 dollars US a night this seems very expensive for basically a tent and 3 meals a day in a 3rd world country. If you want to surf the price is up to 142.00 dollars a day,($1000.00 for a week). This includes board rental and instruction. Etienne is a fair surf instructor but I often was confused by what were seemingly contradictory instructions, possibly a language or cultural barrier was the problem. Etienne would often give instructions on surfer etiquette but told me "even if you have the right of way on the wave get off if someone else drops in on you because I have to keep things friendly with the locals". Although this is good PR for him and I understand, it didn't do me any good giving up waves to keep Etienne happy, not at 142.00 dollars a day.
Overall I would not recommend staying here simply because of the high cost with very little in return, you can get a nice room with hot water, air conditioning and on the beach, in Popoyo for less than the 100.00 dollars a night you are paying at Las Plumerias

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Sevoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

We stayed at Las Plumerias, and had the most amazing time. We took surf lessons from Etienne, and he was fantastic. We met new friends, relaxed, ate great food, and enjoyed the beautiful view. If you are looking to get away from the city and enjoy the beauty of Nicaragua, we highly suggest Las Plumerias, it is one of the most amazing places we have ever been.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chirogurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews