We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Playground !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Astillero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Plumerias Lodge and Surf
Ranked #1 of 1 El Astillero B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real Playground !”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We've been coming every summer in Las Plumerias for 4 years now !
Etienne, called Esteban by the friendly locals, Emeline, their daughter and Lionel will welcome you in a special and magic place where you'll enjoy the pacific breeze and the early morning waves on sunrise.
We've been travelling all around the world and to be honest it's the first time we find a place that gives us every thing we need: sunshine, extremely perfect waves for surfing, fun, fishes, warm water, friendly locals, astonishing landscapes, bluffing sunsets and most of all, no one in the water !
Bungalows are very comfortable, built in a mix of traditionnal and modern way, you'll feel like in a cocoon, especially if you have the chance to get the one in front of the brand new swimming pool facing the ocean ;)
Gladis and Marta will feed you as kings and queen, every day you'll get a new dish made with love and "savoir faire" and if you're lucky enough you'll get the famous fresh grilled lobster !
Can't wait to come back next year !
Julien & Eva

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juliensmsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
20
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It was my first time surfing in Nicaragua and I will definitely go back!!! Las Plumerias = PARADISE :)
I have been there with two other friends. To organize the trip, we had so many questions and the owners Emeline and Etienne were very patient to ask all of them.
Here are the main reasons why this is such an amazing place:
- I was there for a month and surfed every single day !!
- perfect surf guides to show us the spots and explain us the conditions.
- great surf quiver if you want to rent surfboards
- the bungalows are really comfortable (good beds, spacious, private terrace, super clean)
- the swimming pool is the best place after a surfing session, especially because you can enjoy a fresh beer at the same time and watch the sunset!
- Food is delicious!! I have eaten the best lobsters in my life. Etienne is going to buy fresh fish and seafood at the fish village Astillero. I love food and I was not disappointed.
- great price-quality ratio
- awesome atmosphere

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EliSchmout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Best place to stay on this stretch of coast in Nicaragua. I ve stayed here 3 times each for a week at a time at different times of the year and each stay was incredible. Spacious, clean bungalows, great ocean views, super yummy food all for a really reasonable price. Owners Emmeline and Etienne are gracious and accommodating hosts who will make sure you have a wonderful stay. This is a great surf spot and having stayed here with my wife and daughter who don t surf as much as i do, we found many fun things to do ( horse back riding, zip lining, pool....ect....). All meals are served family style which allows you to meet interesting people from all around the world
Overall, a amazing place to stay with great people

Room Tip: The honey moon bungalow is a more spacious and has a beautiful bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerome B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Have been here for the first time. Well set up surf camp- pool, lounge area, books, etc. The included meals are amazing. Local seafood was incredible, I cleaned the plate even when fish was prepared, it was that good. The staff are extremely helpful and attentive. Rooms are comfortable and very clean. I was the only beginner taking lessons at the time and my lessons were very helpful, great feedback. This surf camp is definitely on the short list of ones I would return to over and over again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frozen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Las Plumerias Lodge offers a complete hassle free package! Plus: friendly staff, great location, good waves, excellent food and very clean accommodations. We really enjoyed our stay and plan on coming back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cesar15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Hello everyone

If you're searching for a very Nica-style, best price quality lodge with great food you have to go to the Las Plumerias Lodge. French hosts Etienne, Emeline and their team will welcome you with open arms. The surfteam with surfcoach Peyo and Lucia are stoked to find you the best waves whole day, whole week long. Martha will treath you like a king and she makes sure your lodge is perfectly clean. The swimmingpool is coming so I'll be back soon to enjoy a week of surf, sun, fun and pleasure.

Thanks to Las Plumerias for the nice trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pieter835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algorta
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Hi,

We were at las plumerias with our 2 year old daughter and our 5 year old son.
He actually turned 5 while at Las Plumerias and was offered a piñata and delicious chocolate cake for his birthday.
I will not write another (good) review about the facility as most have been said in the previous reviews.
Nicaraguan waves have been perfect to help Xan go to his next surfing level, at 5 year old he managed to go up and down the wall and almost scored a barrel in Santana beach while surrounded by pelicans.
This is the place to go to improve any kid surfing ability, please look at the pictures.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xabi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Astillero
0.5 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
11.2 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
585 reviews
20.3 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Soma Surf Resort
Soma Surf Resort
#1 of 13 in Popoyo
217 reviews
5.1 mi away
Buena Onda Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Club Surf Popoyo
Club Surf Popoyo
#2 of 5 in Tola
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Plumerias Lodge and Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Plumerias Lodge and Surf

Property: Las Plumerias Lodge and Surf
Address: Playa gavilan, El Astillero 0000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > El Astillero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in El Astillero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean, 300 yards from a white sand beach and surrounded by greenery our 4 Lodges meld authenticity and comfort.The tranquility of the spot will seduce you, the abounding nature will enchant you. Our lodge offer you restaurant services a wonderful cuisine, varied and original with our special " french touch" and the rendez vous of spectacular sunset. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Plumerias Lodge And Surf Nicaragua/El Astillero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing