We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely spot!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tal-Y-Bont Country House B&B
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
“A really lovely spot!”
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We spent a weekend at Tal-Y-Bont with our 3-year-old twins during the summer - a perfect choice. Big, spacious, comfortable family room with lovely bathroom. Everything spotless. Food excellent. House full of character with beautiful views along valley - road nearby but no noise. Great location for relaxing, and as base for a few day trips. Hosts couldn't do enough to help, and were genuinely really friendly - lots of great tips for things to do. Would recommend Porthmadog Highland Railway for kids, especially on a rainy day - a short steam train ride, then a wander round a good museum with lots of trains, and also a fun-size train to ride on. Portmeirion village also very close. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spotter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
122
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Ann and Dennis made us feel extremely welcome. The best B&B experience I've had. I'll be back and I'd recommend it to anyone. The food was so tasty! Great start to the day, especially if your climbing Snowdon. A hidden gem! Ticks all the boxes. Cheers from James and Julia!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James-Partridge723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2010

I decided to stay at this B & B for two reasons. One, the location is great for touring round Snowdonia and the North Wales coastline. Two, because the reviews on trip advisor were so good. Anne and Dennis (the owners) combine the very best of old world accommodation (flagstones, woodburners, beams on the ceiling and so on) with a friendly, relaxed and and helpful style that makes you feel very welcome without being in your face at all. This is a difficult balancing act and they manage it very well. The breakfasts were superb and they generously shared a slice of apple pie with us that I can safely say was one of the most sublime things I've ever eaten. What can I say? I can't really fault the Tal-y-Bont countryhouse on any score. If I was to be unreasonably critical I might say the bedrooms are a little kitsch for my tastes. But only a little and and in no way over the top and I didn't spot any doilie anywhere! Do yourself a favour and choose to stay here. I don't think you can do any better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_of_Cottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We spent 4 nights here in September 2010, and had a fantastic time. The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Ann and Dennis were brilliant hosts, the breakfast was great, and we had a great time. Would recommend to anyone, and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twoodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Our trip to Tal-Y-Bont Country House B&B was quite simply just lovely.

The location was fantastic, situated in walking distance of a good pub, which served great food, a beautiful river, surrounding fields, woods, a waterfall and in driving distance to many other places of beautiful landscape and exciting outdoors activity.

The B&B was spacious, clean and welcoming, with a great big fire place in the lounge. The breakfasts couldn't have been better with a huge variety of cereal, fruit, toasts, spreads, yoghurt, english breakfasts and we even were offered pancakes and scrambled eggs on toast, when I said I didn't think I could manage a full breakfast.

Dennis and Ann were so welcoming and made us feel really at home, giving us some great advice and tips about the surrounding area and generally being a lovely, accommodating and good fun couple. Albert their black lab, was also a fantastic asset and made us feel very welcome!

In summary - a really great stay, definitely the best B&B we've stayed in. It really was far too short and we didn't want to come home.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateandEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Best B&B we've ever stayed at in every respect. Immaculate 300+ year old cottage, beautifully appointed rooms, top food & drinks, hospitality second to none and a pet dog you'd die for. The surrounding area is up there with the best in North Wales and pretty close to most things. Couple of excellent local pubs, serving better than average pub cuisine. And the highlight, and there were many, was the hosts Ann & Dennis, who treat you more like friends than guests. We will certainly make the effort to return when we next visit the UK (and next time we would stay longer than the three days that we stayed on our last visit).
Brian, Wendy & Rhiannon (Brisbane, Australia)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathcliffe1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Stayed here in July 2010 with a group of friends for a walking trip in the surrounding countryside. We received a warm and friendly welcome and we were all very pleased with the accommodation. One of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in at a B & B, and woke up to stunning views of a picturesque valley.
The owners were unobtrusive and yet attentive when needed. The food was way above average for this type of accommodation, and nothing was too much trouble.
All in all a great experience, and great value for money !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parkview33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaenau Ffestiniog
11.7 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
373 reviews
8.0 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
6.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
521 reviews
2.8 mi away
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
#9 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
314 reviews
2.7 mi away
Capel Pisgah
Capel Pisgah
#7 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tal-Y-Bont Country House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tal-Y-Bont Country House B&B

Property: Tal-Y-Bont Country House B&B
Address: Talybont None | Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 4HG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at Tal-y-Bont Country House, a traditional rural house full of historical character set in the lea of the Snowdonia Moelwyn Mountains. Situated midway between Porthmadog and Blaenau Ffestiniog, it is ideally situated for easy access by car to several beaches, castles, mountains (including Snowdon) and steam railways. All rooms are en-suite. Hearty breakfasts, outstanding views and log fires will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tal-Y-Bont Country House B&B Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing