We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just needs a few tweeks :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Just stayed the 1 night on a Groupon offer. The room was clean, nice bed and clean linen and towels, tea making facilities provided and of good quality. Bath nice and deep, over the bath shower a little short of space because of position of shower head but adequate, hotwater plentiful. Nice dining area and decent bar. Public toilets clean, new coat of paint wouldn't go amiss but otherwise v good. Staff polite and more than willing to help. Breakfast had plenty of variation and plentiful.Now for the iffy bits, OK maybe I'm being a bit picky but these are things that I wasn't happy about. Black mould in the grouting in the bathroom, sorry but there is no excuse for this, plenty of stuff on the market that shifts it with very little effort, otherwise a good dose of neat bleach and a scrubbing brush will do the job. The evening meal was just not up to what I expected. My partners starter was hot and cold in places....not good when the starter was Mussels, result he left most of it and did explain to staff why. The steaks were tasty but swamped by very well done chunky chips....less chips and a bit less cooked would have been far better. The puddings once again not qute right, cheesecake appeared more cream than cheese with not alot of taste. The apple pie would have been fab when first cooked, however microwaving pastry just makes it soft and rubbery, not even the custard made it edible. The bar when we were eating was quite busy and unfortunatley the language by a customer was punctuated with the F word far too loudly and often to be ignored, the bar staff should have asked the customer to tone it down or leave...I'm ex bar staff and if asked correctly most customers comply without any problems. Our room was above the bar and main exit, noise from the bar could be heard but not at an annoying level, however I suggest a soft close door closure be fitted to then Main door as the constant bang,bang when anyone entered or left was very annoying when trying to get some sleep. Street noise was a problem the night we were there, the local boy racers were directly opposite reving their engines and blasting their car horns at various intervals during the night.....not the hotels fault, but annoying to say the least. Could I also suggest that decent sausages but provided to accompany the rest of the good cooked breakfast, the paste type ones were tasteless, I'm sure most customers woildn't mind paying a little extra for a good sausage. One final thing....Parking....it's either round the back in the council pay and display or if you are lucky in one of the free bays close to the hotel, however I would imagine in summer there would be next to no chance of getting one of those. There is a drop off point, but after that you would be hunting to find a free car parking space or paying for the council run ones.

Room Tip: There is only 1independant eatery in the town, however it is tiny and more of a cafe than a restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 374 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

My brother lives here and it seemed an ideal spot for a bit of lunch and a catch up. Was hesitant but it has been refurbed and is lovely now. The food was top notch, veg were some of the best I have had. Lovely selection and perfectly cooked. Very reasonably priced and a brilliant location right by the railway station. GO!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank smag3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We arranged a two night deal stay at this hotel from the KGB site for £109. This included two nights bed and breakfast and a two course diner for us on the first evening. We chose this hotel for its location and close proximity to Snowdon. The description said luxurious stay and thought we would be getting a better than average deal! The stay was lovely but as for being luxurious we scored this as average as we didn't think it fitted the description! However, we both agreed that if the hotel took a little more time and attention to detail, this hotel could be placed in a higher category :) There was another downside and that was parking. We were lucky that we manage to find free parking outside the hotel on the main road. If it were busy, you may have to park at the rear and pay or find another free parking area a distance away from the hotel. The food was lovely and we went to breakfast before it was officially open and the staff were happy to serve us an early breakfast as we were leaving early to climb Snowdon. The staff in the Resturant were very helpful :) Thanks for a lovely stay :)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I will I suspect always find something to moan about. So let's moan first I think my reviews will always be moan first. The hotel has no dedicated car park, there was plenty of parking on road or on the council car park at the rear of the hotel, but it was late November probably not high season, there is no wifi and the sash windows let a lot of noise in. My room was above the bar by the bus terminus however by 11:30 it was quite, the barman was very rude and spent his time entertaining his underage friends and watching tv. However that's all I can moan about (and a bit of mould I the grout)..
The barmaid was lovely, smiles,helpful & charming as was the chief. Food was OK lack of salt for my liking and non on table (probably was available). The room was brilliant, warm well appointed and very clean. Bath was nice deep and plenty of hot water. The bed was huge and one of the most comfy I have had the pleasure of sleeping in. Breakfast was very nice (more butter in the toast needed).
However for £35 per night it was a bargain, I would happy live here at that price and would pay £50 per night if travelling. Thank you on the whole a very very good experience.
Score 8.75 / 9.25 (wifi,better parking, more butter & salt) 10/10
Well done paid a lot more for a lot less xxxx thank you.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for three nights having bought discount voucher and had a fantastic time!

Blaenau Ffestinog is a lovely, quaint little town, and the Gwesty Ty Gorsaf is a lovely little hotel. We were greeted very warmly when we arrived and check in was simple and quick. Our room wasn't huge but was definitely adequate size wise for the two of us. The heating in the room and throughout the hotel was amazing - we were never cold. The sash windows in the room opened nice and wide too, meaning we could let a lot of lovely fresh air in when we wanted. The view through the windows was of a mountain - a first for us and very pleasant. The bed was extremely comfortable, something we appreciated all the more after hiking to the summit of Mount Snowdon on our second day (which was incredible though our muscles are still aching from the experience:-))

The breakfast was good - you could order a plentiful savoury breakfast, with the usual eggs, bacon, sausages, beans etc with tea/coffee, though there was also a buffet serving cereal, fruit yoghurt, juices, local jams, honey etc. The dinner at the restaurant, as well as the desserts were extremely tasty. Having eaten two courses, dinner and dessert, we were both satisfied, though I personally could have done with a tad more dinner. However, that's not to say that the portions were smaller than you'd expect in a decent restaurant.

Saving the best for last, we'd like to give a huge thank you to the staff - really friendly and helpful - and in particular David and Ffion who were ever so attentive, and took the time to explain the local attractions and went out of the way to help when I sliced the top of my finger with a razor. They are the kind of people you hope to find in every hotel.

We had a special time in Snowdonia at the Ty Gorsaf, and when we come back, we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alvshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here after buying a voucher from KGB deals. After reading some of the reviews I was a bit worried but I have to say we really enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was clean & tidy and we really enjoyed breakfast and the evening meal. The location is really central for visiting various places around Snowdonia, the only thing that let it down slightly was the street noise on a Friday and Saturday night from locals but this wouldn't be enough of a reason to stop me from returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caddy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Having read conflicting reviews on Trip Advisor I did not know what to expect. However, I was pleasantly surprised as the hotel,which is centrally situated close to the station, exceeded my expectations.
The room was clean & comfortable and the en-suite bathroom had both shower & bath.
Food was of a good standard and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bcagey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaenau Ffestiniog
8.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
15.5 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
8.7 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
695 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.1 mi away
Capel Pisgah
Capel Pisgah
#7 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel

Address: 1 High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3ES, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Price Range: $52 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing