We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Meal only, Great good value meal meal, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Meal only, Great good value meal meal, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Came here as we were in the little train from porthmadog. Had a really good lunch, which sugared the pill of pitching up in blaenau on a wet day in February. Chips were particularly good and menu was imaginative. Husband had burger with bacon and welsh rarebit, I had goats cheese and walnut salad and friends had other things. Good value. Clean, well equipped loos.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElliseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager h, Manager at Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
hello

many thanks for your positive review. We will soon be launching our new menu, so please come and see us soon to sample some of our new culinary creations.

We hope to see you in the not too distant future.

thanks again

rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    72
    59
    38
    49
See reviews for
60
121
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Recently refurbished hotel in the centre of Blaenau which has also been given a make-over. The staff are first class- so friendly & cannot do enough for their visitors.
The rooms have everything one would need- including plenty of supplies for the tea/coffee making and even homemade biscuits. The rooms are of quite a reasonable size and whilst not luxurious are very comfortable, lovely fluffy towels in the bathroom.
We stayed for 3 nights, eating in every night since the food was good home cooking. A little more pasta choice on the menu would have been welcome.
If you don't want to drive the small bus & railway station is nearby. We took the train through the Conwy Valley to Llandudno- definitely recommend this, very scenic & reasonably price. We would have taken the narrow guage railway to Porthmadoc but it doesn't open until mid February.
All in all a very comfortable stay, can certainly recommend Ty Gorsaf to anyone needing a comfortable & friendly reasonably priced hotel in the heart of Snowdonia.
The only downside is that the local council have recently made the car park Pay & Display, and whilst it is reasonably priced at £2.50 per day, who wants to get up at 8am to put a ticket on their car!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the rear overlook the railway station and the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnevsChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager h, Manager at Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hello & many thanks for your fantastic review.

We are very happy to read how happy you were with our hotel. The Pay & display car park is, of course, an inconvenience; but we are also very glad to have so much parking right next door to our property.

Please remember, if you would like to stay with us, we will always beat ANY online price by 10% if you book directly with us by telephone. Simply quote "T.A.13" to take advantage of this offer

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

thanks again

rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My partner & I stayed at this hotel on a short break at the end of January and I have to say I cannot fault it! The public areas & rooms were spotless, well appointed & had everything you needed. (The home-made biscuits in the room were a lovely extra - and delicious!)
What makes this hotel stand out from others though is the asolutely fantastic service given by all the staff - from checking in, eating in the restaurant, to the bar staff, the big hotel chains should take a leaf out of Ty Gorsaf's book! The staff were professional, 'out of their way' helpful, smiley and extremely welcoming. (Particular mention to Debbie & Beth here - they were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble)
I will be going back & I will recommend to anyone and everyone - dont hesitate to book here.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front of the hotel but the road is extremely quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager h, Manager at Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
hello and many thanks for your review.

it is always encouraging to read such positive reviews as this one.

Please remember, if you would like to stay with us, we will always beat ANY online price by 10% if you book directly with us by telephone. Simply quote "T.A.13" to take advantage of this offer

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

thanks again

rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidstone
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here with a groupon offer. had a great 50th birthday treat. The staff were very welcoming and the room (Room 6 Super King) was clean and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant every night after a hard days walking in knee deep snow. The food arrived hot and tasty. All the staff were very attentive ( but not over board )- very happy to chat and nothing was a problem. Only one complaint to make - the bathroom was not cleaned At All during our 4 night stay. The bath did not appear to have been cleaned before our arrival. I promptly cleaned the bath myself but it was not cleaned again by the house keeper. tell tale signs were left- i.e. bubble bath dripping down the side of the bath which was not removed. We did not however,allow this to spoil our break. Well done the the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front- away from the carpark. Heard youngsters hanging around outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrappydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager h, Manager at Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
hello & thankyou for your positive review

whilst we are glad to recieve such a positive review, we are also concerned about the comments you make about the bathroom...
Needless to say, we will look into this and take steps to ensure such things dont happen.

Please remember, if you would like to stay with us, we will always beat ANY online price by 10% if you book directly with us by telephone. Simply quote "T.A.13" to take advantage of this offer

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

thanks again

rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked this short notice and after reading reviews on here decided it would be perfect.
We were greeted and shown to our room. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant both evenings of our stay. On the first night there was a slight misunderstanding with our order but it was sorted out and were were offered a drink. The food was lovely, local and fresh. Breakfast had great options, cereal, juice and cooked breakfast alternatives.
As we were there to venture up Snowdon we also arranged for a packed lunch to be done. Reasonable price and much appreciated during the climb.
All in all we did enjoy our stay, the staff were friendly and attentive, the room was comfortable and the food was lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady5Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager h, Manager at Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
hello & thanks for such a great review.

Please remember, if you would like to stay with us again, we will always beat ANY online price by 10% if you book directly with us by telephone. Simply quote "T.A.13" to take advantage of this offer

We hope to see you again soon

thanks again

rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

A nice Hotel in the middle of the national park. Everything was clean, water was hot and the breakfast was good.
A friendly girl served us breakfast and was very attentive. I'd say that overall, it did the job for us of giving us a comfy nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hamenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager h, Manager at Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
hello & thanks for your review.

its always good to know that we're doing "what it says on the tin"

Please remember, if you would like to stay with us again, we will always beat ANY online price by 10% if you book directly with us by telephone. Simply quote "T.A.13" to take advantage of this offer

We hope to see you again soon

thanks again

rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Spent a very nice pre Christmas holiday with my family at Blaenau Ffestiniog where we went to the Gwesty Ty Gorsaf hotel for our (pre) Christmas dinner. The atmosphere was warm and friendly, the service was excellent, the food superb, the helpings were huge and a three course meal was very reasonably priced at only £20 a head. Now that’s my kind of hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager h, General Manager at Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
hello & thanks for such a great review.

we're very happy that you emjoyed your visit to Ty Gorsaf

Please remember, if you would like to stay with us, we will always beat ANY online price by 10% if you book directly with us by telephone. Simply quote "T.A.13" to take advantage of this offer

We hope to see you again soon

thanks again

rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaenau Ffestiniog
8.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
8.7 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
8.7 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel

Property: Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Address: 1 High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3ES, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing