We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just stayed at this great hotel, staff were great, food was good, clean room and slept like a log need i any more. Great base to tour north wales and the town has had a major face lift which was nice to see.

Room Tip: Room 12 has views over the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 371 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

I'll be factual to keep the heat out of it. I stayed there 1 night with my partner.
- Area is bad. Kids roaming the streets after 9pm totally drunk, local in the pub being rude and rowdy (got awoken 5 times between midnight and 3am by people screaming in the street). Got scared on the way for a take away and came back to dine at the hotel.
- Nice room design. Can't say the same about the cleanliness of the bathroom: hair on the walls, shower head leaking (leading to a flood). Windows and room above the pub, really noisy.
- Food and breakfast AWFUL: had to wait over 45min for the evening meal to arrive, and when it did it was soggy and overcooked. Got charged full price for everything, and an additional £4.75 for an extra scoop of ice cream ( dessert was £3.75). When it came to breakfast, had to wait another 30min before our order got taken, then 45min for the breakfast to arrive in stages. Needless to say that when it came to pay the staff was ill organised and unable to give me a detailed list of items they were charging me.
RESULT: for an extra £5, you can get a proper hotel in a nicer place. SELF RATED 3 stars, but a nice TV does not replace proper service. AVOID.

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 83Frenchy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager h, General Manager at Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Hello & many thanks for taking the time write a review

As your stay was before my time here at Ty Gorsaf, I am unable to comment on specific elements of your stay, but needless to say am concerned about the fact that you left unhappy.

Please feel free to contact me via e-mail to discuss your issues in greater detail

enquiries@tygorsaf.co.uk

many thanks in advance

Regards

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel after arriving in the town without reservation. Staff really helpful and happy to show the room to me before deciding to stay. Rooms had nice plasma television, beautiful antique furniture and a large bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and lovely plump pillows! The breakfast is outstanding.
My only gripe is the staff appear a bit disorganised and service was sometimes a bit slow.
The hotel is tastefully decorated and has a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madladz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. Room was great; nice to see some old furniture for character but decorated with contemporary style. Bed very comfortable with enough pillows! Both room and bathroom very clean and warm. Breakfast was extensive and well-cooked. We didn't eat other meals here but the menu looks good value. Overall an excellent stay and most of all we'd commend the friendly and helpful staff - always cheerful and eager to be able to assist us in any way. We had our dogs with us who were able to stay in our room at no extra cost. We nearly didn't stay here as we saw the reviews on this site about noise and customers of the bar hanging around outside, but we didn't experience this. There's a 'smoker's shelter' in the back garden and maybe this has solved the issue. Our only suggestion: needed an accessible socket for the kettle by the dresser (room 8).

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank suewho754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel looks great from the outside, welcoming and polite staff on entering. The room was larger than average and in the bathroom, the only thing missing was a shelf to put your 'stuff' on.
Dinner was outstanding and not over expensive. Breakfast was superb. We had a brilliant weekend there and would highly recommend it. All the staff were kind and considerate and the area is beautiful, ideal place to stay and explore.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a front room, nice views across to the mountains rearing up above you across the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Me and my husband stayed there for two nights on the 12th/13th October. Breakfast was lovely the first morning, but more like supermarket bacon and sausages the 2nd.
Room was big and comfortable but the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner and so could the drawers in the bedroom. Need a mirror I can see into, the bathroom one is too high for my 5'1" height, I could only see my forehead, the one on the wardrobe wasnt well enough lit.
The local pub, The Merion doent shut till 12, on returning to the hotel we found they shut at 11. We were locked out until a guest came and let us in, so make sure you ask for a front door key!
I'd stay here again if I was in the area.
P.S. The Bistro in the town we were hoping to eat at, is shut and is going to be a kebab house and the chippy closes at 9, the Alam Tandoori was lovely though, just so you know.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just got back from a break in the stunning Blaenau ffestioniog, the hotel has just had a refurb and with a mix of modern and old which was nice, the staff a friendly and helpful.

The town is coming to the end of a major refurb itself. With modern slate structures all round the town which are very interesting

We visited the slate mines and had a trip on the Ffestiniog Railway which we could see from our window, with the mountain range in the back ground, stunning. We also visited the new Bike centre near by and were grateful that the hotel had its own bike shed.

We ate there on both nights with the food of a good standard and the locals were friendly, it was interesting to hear the Welsh being spoken at the bar, it gave it a great sense of place.

We will be returning with our friends in the summer, thank you Beth(manager) and her team for a great weekend

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaenau Ffestiniog
8.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
7.2 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
241 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
777 reviews
15.5 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel

Address: 1 High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3ES, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Price Range: $69 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing