We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely”
other travelers have booked this property
The Cottage 'Ty Isaf'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage 'Ty Isaf'
The natural garden and river (gated) Living room with mountain views, an open fire and freesat TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
The Cottage 'Ty Isaf'
The natural garden and river (gated)
Living room with mountain views, an open fire and freesat TV
Raised deck, take in the mountains over morning coffee or evening drinks
Sunset over the mountains
Larger of the two bedrooms, double or twin beds, with old beams and mountain views
The Meolwyn mountains, across the valley from the cottage
Kitchen with 'Rangemaster' cooker
The bunk room
A cosy fireside Christmas
Decorated for Christmas
A warm welcome to a cottage in the mountains
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
thebids1
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely little cottage with everything you could possibly need to make your stay comfortable. Great location for hills and or beach. Found a great Forest Park 20 mins away suitable for mountain bikers, walkers, runners and dogs!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2017
Hi, thank you for your review, I have left positive feedback for you too! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and you're welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesswinde...
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Had another amazing time at Ty Isaf, especially since it was Easter and it felt even more magical for the kids. They loved the bunkbeds, and the outside space to have a little play.
The cottage was spotless (the house keeper really is fab) and just has such a comfortable homely feel. It was a lovely touch to have fresh flowers, Welsh cakes and some mini eggs in a little welcome basket. The large range cooker was a dream to make a big Easter roast with, I need one at home!
The views are amazing, especially since the weather was much better this time around. We even managed to go to Porthmadog beach and walk around Snowdon's miners trail.
It was nice to pop into Y Monod pub for a couple of drinks and to see Graham (the owner) who remembered us from 2 years ago.
We are already looking into going back again next year as we just love being there so much.
Thank you Alan for letting us all stay at your gem of a cottage! Xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alison M
Loggerheads, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm cottage with great views.”
Reviewed March 23, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The cottage itself was easy to find and instructions on arrival were clear - had no problems and didn't need to contact the owner.
The cottage was warm and cosy, but could do with freshening up a bit (could be super with a little TLC)!
Quality towels were nice, and the main bed is huge (& clean, fresh linen etc).
Views from the decked area are amazing, but the deck is VERY slippery when wet.
The location of the cottage is good, convenient to the coast or many other interesting places within a short drive time.
Overall, had a good break with the dog for the price paid.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2017
Thank you for your comments Alison. I'm sorry the deck was slippery, I'll see to it. If you'd like to message me directly with any other specifics I can see to them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chekalova
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed February 9, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed here with my husband and dog, wanted a little holiday at home, and this place seemed perfect.
Very easy to book, Alan got in touch with us almost instantly after booking and answered any questions we had via messages on trip adviser. Easy to find in the main high street even though its double yellows outside the property parking is just over to the left down a small hill and you can see your vehicle from the back porch area. Heating was on when we arrived, welcome pack of coffee, tea, fresh flowers and welsh cakes went down well with all three of us. Handy little welcome brochure on the table as well.
This little cottage is the perfect for complement for its surroundings. Its very clean and cozy. Main bedroom has a large king bed with views of the mountains. The bathroom is shower only but that suited us. The kitchen is well stocked with cutlery and essential items.
This cottage is situated right in the heart of Snowdonia and there are some lovely walks near by and the beach is only a 20 minutes drive.
The only thing I missed was wifi but you can get it at the local pub and there is 3G in the area.
Overall a lovely stay, much needed break away, Thank you very much Alan.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Paulo...
1 review
“Cosy cottage in a picturesque location”
Reviewed January 24, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Had a wonderful stay at this cosy cottage in the Welsh Mountains....on arrival the welcome pack was a very nice touch, the cottage itself was warm and welcoming and everything was in order. The location stunning, especially with the recent snows, and plenty to see and do during our week stay. Will definitely keep on my list for places to return to :)....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clair3911
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect cosy little cottage in a perfect location for exploring Snowdonia”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Alan, the owner, greeted us with mulled wine, welsh cakes, logs for the fire and fresh flowers on display. Also the cottage was decorated lovely for Christmas. Which we thought was all a fantastic welcome to his beautiful property during the festive period.
We have completely fell in love with this cottage. It was so cosy, clean and well equipped. The views from the back of the cottage of the mountains was just perfect and with a river running down the side of his garden, what more could you want!!
The cottage is in the perfect location for exploring Snowdonia. The coast is a 20 minute drive away. The mountains and hills on your door step. Ffestiniog shops and railway is in walking distance and the local pub is literally a minute walk over the bridge.
The cottage is also suitable for dogs and the garden perimeter secure. Our dogs felt right at home.
We definitely would stay here again, as it has now become our favourite holiday cottage.
Seriously can't fault the place or Alan's hospitality. It was just what we needed to escape the city for a while.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing