We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cosy little cottage in a perfect location...”
other travelers have booked this property
The Cottage 'Ty Isaf'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage 'Ty Isaf'
The natural garden and river (gated) Living room with mountain views, an open fire and freesat TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
The Cottage 'Ty Isaf'
The natural garden and river (gated)
Living room with mountain views, an open fire and freesat TV
Raised deck, take in the mountains over morning coffee or evening drinks
Sunset over the mountains
Larger of the two bedrooms, double or twin beds, with old beams and mountain views
The Meolwyn mountains, across the valley from the cottage
Kitchen with 'Rangemaster' cooker
The bunk room
A cosy fireside Christmas
Decorated for Christmas
A warm welcome to a cottage in the mountains
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Clair3911
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect cosy little cottage in a perfect location for exploring Snowdonia”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Alan, the owner, greeted us with mulled wine, welsh cakes, logs for the fire and fresh flowers on display. Also the cottage was decorated lovely for Christmas. Which we thought was all a fantastic welcome to his beautiful property during the festive period.
We have completely fell in love with this cottage. It was so cosy, clean and well equipped. The views from the back of the cottage of the mountains was just perfect and with a river running down the side of his garden, what more could you want!!
The cottage is in the perfect location for exploring Snowdonia. The coast is a 20 minute drive away. The mountains and hills on your door step. Ffestiniog shops and railway is in walking distance and the local pub is literally a minute walk over the bridge.
The cottage is also suitable for dogs and the garden perimeter secure. Our dogs felt right at home.
We definitely would stay here again, as it has now become our favourite holiday cottage.
Seriously can't fault the place or Alan's hospitality. It was just what we needed to escape the city for a while.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterst...
wimbledon, London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A cosy cottage which was perfect for Christmas with our daughter and the pugs”
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Waking up to a view of the mountain every morning was bliss even the dogs were transfixed by it. Alan the owner has made the place perfect and nothing is missing. Especially liked the fir for roasting chestnuts. Blaenau is a lovely place with lovely welcoming people and the cottages is in walking distance of all you need.

Liked the hilly windy walks with fresh air and would love to see it in the summer. I especially liked that everyone spoke Welsh which I started to pick up on again as mine is very rusty..

Cannot thank Alan enough for a wonderful break. It was everything we wished for and more

We cannot thank

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare D
1 review
“Mr & Mrs”
Reviewed November 30, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Absolutely brilliant. Had a fantastic stay. The cottage had everything to make our stay very comfortable. Would highly recommend. The local pub a few doors along was very welcoming. Friendly locals. Will definitely return. Many thanks xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cosy cottage”
Reviewed November 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Really enjoyed staying here for a week. Fantastic views and all the facilities that you would expect. Great location for exploring Snowdonia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoPlaces2...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage with lots of Character”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The cottage is in a beautiful location, with stunning views all around. The balcony is great in sun or rain, as it has cover if the weather is not behaving.

We were left gorgeous flowers, tea, coffee, sugar and Welsh Cakes on arrival, which was a really thoughtful touch.

The Kitchen is well equipped with everything you could need. The open fire is really lovely (especially on a miserable day), but if you don't fancy the hassle of lighting that, there is a good boiler which heats the cottage up quickly.

We did find a few downsides though, the village itself has little going on. There are lots of take takeaways (which are ok, some better than others), but there is nowhere nice to go and eat. So be prepared to drive or cook in the cottage yourself.

Last point, is that the bedding/soft furnishings could do with an update. Both myself & my husband felt the bedding smelt sweaty/not nice. We may have just been unlucky and followed a very sweaty guest before us, but I washed all the towels & bedding once we got there. The towels came out fine, but we could still smell sweaty/musty pillows. I would suggest an update here.

All in all though a great little find, and we had a lovely week walking and taking in local beauty spots.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you very much for your review, and I'm glad you enjoyed your time. I am sorry and very much disheartened to hear that you weren't comfortable with the bedding. I would love to have helped at the time. Thank you for alerting me, and I will double check now that all is well. Just to note the duvet is about a month old.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew702...
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely property in ideal location for exploring North Wales”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very cosy and comfortable cottage with excellent facilities. Very central for exploring Snowdonia, Harlech, Llandudno and surrounding areas. I can highly recommend travelling on the Ffestiniog and Welsh Highland railways. A few minutes walk from the cottage and opposite the railway station is an excellent fish and chip takeaway and restaurant.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you for your review, I'm glad you had a good time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica D
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Lovely little cottage. It was the perfect base for hill walking for our family. Easy parking nearby. Kitchen was well equipped and nice to use. Alan was really helpful and we loved the teacakes and fresh flowers!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Teacakes and cosy fire
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
Thank you Jessica, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, you're all welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing