We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in an extremely picturesque situation, home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolawel Guest House
rhyl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay in an extremely picturesque situation, home away from home”
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Excellent accomodation with homely touches. Rooms are unique and have everything you could possibly need. The owners, Pat & Alistair are friendly and welcoming and cannot do enough for you. The breakfast is excellent with their own free range eggs. Knowing the town quite well would recommend it above all others.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparky21Rhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
50
23
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2009

I had a very pleasant stay at Dolawel - Pat and Alistair were friendly and helpful. The room was extremely clean and well appointed. The breakfast was absolutely superb. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burton77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st loius mo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We highly recommend this B&B. The rooms are well kept and very clean and tidy. The breakfasts we had was very good and we was very relaxed which means a lot. Alister and Pat are great hosts.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popsstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Really enjoyed our stay here. We came from Ireland to do a motorcycle trip around Snowdonia. This B&B was in a prime location...basically any direction you went had fantastic roads for biking. Pat and Alister were lovely people. We were greeted with a warm welcome on arrival and it really felt like being at home. Breakfast was excellent, beds were comfy and the room was cleaned daily. The dogs were really friendly and very well trained - we loved having them around! Alister gave us space in the garage to store our bikes at night time. The garage is locked and alarmed which is a big plus for anybody worried about their pride and joy being stolen.

Looking forward to staying here again. Highly recommended!
Trev and Chris

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djwinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

This was our 3d stay ay Dolawel. Somehow Pat and Alistair always get it right - from the excellent breakfast, the warm welcome, excellent itenary suggestions to the spotless rooms and tasteful furnishings. I cannot recommend Dolawel enough.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheburator13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale of Glamorgan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Lovely accommodation, really friendly, would recommend to colleagues and friends alike

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morganah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHYL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2009

My husband & i stayed here for the weekend , it is a home from home pat & alister the owners make every effort to make it very welcoming . the cooked breakfast was better than the cafe in the town , the room was clean & very comfortable with everything you need from shoe shine to sewing kit , in the guest lounge was a selection of dvds to watch either in the lounge or your room whichever suited you best . i would recommend staying here to anyone the best guesthouse i have stayed in. jo from Rhyl

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaenau Ffestiniog
6.6 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
8.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
8.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
8.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
#9 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
3.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolawel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolawel Guest House

Property: Dolawel Guest House
Address: Llyn y Gell | Rhiwbryfdir, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3HS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolawel Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolawel is a large Victorian Guest House (4 Star Visit Wales Grading) in the town of Blaenau Ffestiniog, North Wales. Located in the heart of Snowdonia, with its own well maintained grounds next to the A470, offering secure off-road parking. The 19th-century former Quarry Manager house has been modernized to high standards whilst maintaining many of its original features. We are ideally situated for exploring Snowdonia, perfect for sightseeing,mountain biking, Zip Wire,cycling and hill walking. A real home from home where a warm welcome is assured and a hearty traditional breakfast served. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolawel Guest House Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing