We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolawel Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Goat Hotel(Beddgelert)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Tyrch Inn(Capel Curig)
$122
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swallow Falls Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
$101
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Waterloo Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
$140
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ty Gwyn Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Castell Deudraeth(Portmeirion)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Portmeirion(Portmeirion)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
120
9
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseeggs from their own chickenshome from homesecure parkingquiet stayslate minelocal areamade us feelbreakfast was deliciousfantastic stayeach morningfriendly welcomebed and breakfastzip worldpataccommodationsnowdonia
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 130 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

If there is a better place to stay then i havent found it. Great people, Pat and Alister, great breakfast in a spotless house. Superb bedroom with Mira shower than comes on instantly at the temperature you left it at. Bedside light that reacts to just a touch. TV with built in dvd too. Cannot wait to go back to also see the dogs Kellan and Denver. If you want to eat locally, go to De Niros diner, simply delicious. Well done everybody!

Room Tip: They are all perfect. Who cares what room?
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you Les for carry out an extremely complimentary review. It is always good to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again and so does the dogs. Pat & Alister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent an evening here before climbing Snowdon in the morning, excellent location, beautiful surroundings! The room was very comfortable and very tastefully decorated, Alister and Pat are extremely friendly and made our stay very welcoming, will definitely be back to stay for longer. Although no fitness centre we had fun kicking football in the garden and throwing balls to the dogs :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonBarry633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to carry out an extremely complimentary review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Dolawel Guest House and found the sights of North Wales spectacular. The weather did happen to be perfect for you (as it is again today) when Snowdonia really is the best place in the world. We look forward to seeing you again soon. The dogs will be looking forward to your next visit. Pat & Alister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Dolawel, Blaenau Ffestiniog is very well situated for exploring North Wales, The North Coast and Anglesey, Snowdonia anf the Lynn are all very easy to reach from there. The owners, Pat and Alister, are very knowledgeable about the area and will help plan trips if asked.

The House is kept very clean and the rooms are comfortable, with good bathrooms, TV and Wi-Fi. There is good off street parking.

Pat and Alister where very keen to provide me with my particular breakfast requirements and everything was very fresh and nicely presented.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you Robert for taking the time to carry out an extremely complimentary review. It is much appreciated. It was great to see you make the most of your visit to Snowdonia and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thanks again. Pat & Alister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My fiancée and I received a very warm welcome here for three nights during the the snows in March 2013. The rooms are very comfortable in a traditional fashion, the breakfasts are hearty and the owners, Pat and Alister, are very friendly and helpful. The location is also convenient- on the edge of the town so you can enjoy being in a remote part of the world, whilst only being a very short walk from the pubs and transport links. Alister was happy to recommend a good walk in the hills too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thanks for the review Thomas, much appreciated,certainly different to London. You didn’t pick the best weekend for weather, probably the most snow we have had all winter. Good to see that you made the most of it and enjoyed your visit to Snowdonia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights in February whilst visiting friends and family in Blaenau. Pat and Alister were very warm, friendly and approachable with regards to anything. Having a two year old daughter with us, Pat and Alister (and of course the dogs) were excellent with us all. The room was extremely clean and warm with a very homely feeling. Already having local knowledge, I didn't need to tap Pat and Alister's obvious overflowing knowledge and love of the local area. Having walked past Dolawel at least twice a day throughout my school life and some of my adult life, I never realised what a cracking gem Blaenau holds in Dolawel.

I would happily recommend Dolawel to anyone and would deffinately stay again.

Many thanks for a great stay Pat and Alister.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwyndaf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hello Gwyndaf, Many thanks for taking the time to carry out a very complimentary review. It was great to meet you both and Emily and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards, Pat & Alister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews