We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolawel Guest House
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Dolawel, Blaenau Ffestiniog is very well situated for exploring North Wales, The North Coast and Anglesey, Snowdonia anf the Lynn are all very easy to reach from there. The owners, Pat and Alister, are very knowledgeable about the area and will help plan trips if asked.

The House is kept very clean and the rooms are comfortable, with good bathrooms, TV and Wi-Fi. There is good off street parking.

Pat and Alister where very keen to provide me with my particular breakfast requirements and everything was very fresh and nicely presented.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you Robert for taking the time to carry out an extremely complimentary review. It is much appreciated. It was great to see you make the most of your visit to Snowdonia and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thanks again. Pat & Alister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
50
23
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My fiancée and I received a very warm welcome here for three nights during the the snows in March 2013. The rooms are very comfortable in a traditional fashion, the breakfasts are hearty and the owners, Pat and Alister, are very friendly and helpful. The location is also convenient- on the edge of the town so you can enjoy being in a remote part of the world, whilst only being a very short walk from the pubs and transport links. Alister was happy to recommend a good walk in the hills too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks for the review Thomas, much appreciated,certainly different to London. You didn’t pick the best weekend for weather, probably the most snow we have had all winter. Good to see that you made the most of it and enjoyed your visit to Snowdonia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights in February whilst visiting friends and family in Blaenau. Pat and Alister were very warm, friendly and approachable with regards to anything. Having a two year old daughter with us, Pat and Alister (and of course the dogs) were excellent with us all. The room was extremely clean and warm with a very homely feeling. Already having local knowledge, I didn't need to tap Pat and Alister's obvious overflowing knowledge and love of the local area. Having walked past Dolawel at least twice a day throughout my school life and some of my adult life, I never realised what a cracking gem Blaenau holds in Dolawel.

I would happily recommend Dolawel to anyone and would deffinately stay again.

Many thanks for a great stay Pat and Alister.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyndaf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello Gwyndaf, Many thanks for taking the time to carry out a very complimentary review. It was great to meet you both and Emily and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards, Pat & Alister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We only stayed for two nights; we wish we could have stayed longer. Pat and Alister gave us a very warm and friendly welcome. The room we had was very clean, comfortable and well set up. The owners were very helpful and informative about the places to see and to eat, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast menu was excellent, everything you could possibly want. They were extremely well located for sightseeing and visits to tourist attractions within Snowdonia, with everything just a short drive away. We strongly recommend this B&B, if you are in North Wales stay here.
Thanks again Pat & Alister for your wonderful hospitality we will see you again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to put a review on Tripadvisor. We're thrilled that you enjoyed staying at Dolawel and look forward to seeing you again soon. Pat & Alister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Dolawel is a gem! Pat and Allister are the perfect caring hosts, the room was very nice and clean. The en suite bathroom was brandnew. The breakfast was a highlight, very generous and tasty! The hosts have been more than helpful (travelling map, mobile phone recharger, tips for trips, what ever you need to know, they have a solution ready).Even arriving very late at night from Birmingham Airport was no problem! I really enjoyed the stay and will definitely come back!”

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you Christoph for carrying out an extremely complimentary review. Hope that you can visit us again with your friend Chris. Pat & Alister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

As we wanted to attend a male voice choir rehearsal that evening, we stayed at the Dolawel for the evenings.The owners were ever so helpful and friendly, and there is lovely easy gated parking area which is most convenient. The views from the bedroom were beautiful, and the room was spotlessly clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUNSETS_AND_SEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamborough
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had booked on a recommendation and were certainly not let down. Pat & Alister we the perfect hosts and their well run establishment is a credit to them. The room was spacious and impecably clean - every day.Breakfast was generous and tasty.
Pat & Alister are a mine of information for things to do (even on the odd rainy day) in the area and were a great help. Blaenau Ffestiniog is a great town and base for exploring North Wales. Ian's Chippy in the town is also worth visiting.
We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending a stay at Dolawel - this is the sort of establishment that gives them a good name - so enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRFlamboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank-you so much for a most complimentary review - it's always good to hear we provided a good service. It was a pleasure being your hosts and we are pleased you also enjoyed our hospitality. Many thanks Pat & Alister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaenau Ffestiniog
8.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,459 reviews
8.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
8.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Capel Pisgah
Capel Pisgah
#7 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
#9 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Cellb
Hostel Cellb
#1 of 2 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolawel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolawel Guest House

Property: Dolawel Guest House
Address: Llyn y Gell | Rhiwbryfdir, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3HS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolawel Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolawel is a large Victorian Guest House (4 Star Visit Wales Grading) in the town of Blaenau Ffestiniog, North Wales. Located in the heart of Snowdonia, with its own well maintained grounds next to the A470, offering secure off-road parking. The 19th-century former Quarry Manager house has been modernized to high standards whilst maintaining many of its original features. We are ideally situated for exploring Snowdonia, perfect for sightseeing,mountain biking, Zip Wire,cycling and hill walking. A real home from home where a warm welcome is assured and a hearty traditional breakfast served. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolawel Guest House Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing