We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christoph from Berlin, Oktober 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolawel Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolawel Guest House
Save
You added Dolawel Guest House to your Saves list
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christoph from Berlin, Oktober 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Dolawel is a gem! Pat and Allister are the perfect caring hosts, the room was very nice and clean. The en suite bathroom was brandnew. The breakfast was a highlight, very generous and tasty! The hosts have been more than helpful (travelling map, mobile phone recharger, tips for trips, what ever you need to know, they have a solution ready).Even arriving very late at night from Birmingham Airport was no problem! I really enjoyed the stay and will definitely come back!”

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you Christoph for carrying out an extremely complimentary review. Hope that you can visit us again with your friend Chris. Pat & Alister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
45
22
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilderness
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

As we wanted to attend a male voice choir rehearsal that evening, we stayed at the Dolawel for the evenings.The owners were ever so helpful and friendly, and there is lovely easy gated parking area which is most convenient. The views from the bedroom were beautiful, and the room was spotlessly clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUNSETS_AND_SEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamborough
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had booked on a recommendation and were certainly not let down. Pat & Alister we the perfect hosts and their well run establishment is a credit to them. The room was spacious and impecably clean - every day.Breakfast was generous and tasty.
Pat & Alister are a mine of information for things to do (even on the odd rainy day) in the area and were a great help. Blaenau Ffestiniog is a great town and base for exploring North Wales. Ian's Chippy in the town is also worth visiting.
We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending a stay at Dolawel - this is the sort of establishment that gives them a good name - so enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SRFlamboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank-you so much for a most complimentary review - it's always good to hear we provided a good service. It was a pleasure being your hosts and we are pleased you also enjoyed our hospitality. Many thanks Pat & Alister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and i recently spent 3 nights at DOLAWEL HOUSE. Pat and Alister were the perfect hosts. Our immaculate en-suite room also had wonderfull views of the mountains, tea coffe and biscuits replenished every day.The character and attention to detail of dolawel is very high, Pat cooked a superb beakfast amongst the many other things she does so well,nothing to much trouble for this lady. Alister is very knowledgeable of all the local walks and of Snowdonia, of which he is only to pleased to help in any way he can, as keen walkers his expertise was invaluable.Thank you Alister and Pat for sharing your beautiful home with us. P.S. must not forget the happy dogs. Will recommend DOLAWEL and the wonderfull hosts to anyone .

Room Tip: room two great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARTHUR J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you ever so much for carry out the review. It is always good to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Pat & Alister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was the 3rd year running that we have visited Blaenau, and once again we stayed at Dolawel. I do not know HOW they do it, but it was even better than last year. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left we felt totally at home. The room was spacious and clean. The food was top class. Our hosts (Pat and Alister) made us feel most welcome, and even the dogs ensured that our stay was most memorable.
Both Alister and Pat are fountains of local knowledge, and were able to sort out any (non accommodation) queries that we had.
WE WILL BE BACK

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazzz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for carrying out another extremely complimentary review, they are always very much appreciated. Great to hear that you both enjoyed your stay with us again. Looking forward to seeing you again next year. Pat & Alister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife, Daughter and I stayed here on 1st August 2012. The welcome was warm, the room and facilities perfect. Breakfast was superb the hosts going out of their way to satisfy my wifes somewhat awkward culinary desires more than adequately.
My daughter helped to collect the eggs this morning.
Would highly recommend this establishment to anyone.
We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are very well appointed, I had a tour they were all to a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to carry out an extremely complimentary review it is very appreciated. It is always nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Pat & Alister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at Dolawel for 3 nights last week and were very impressed. Pat and Alistair welcomed us into their home and were keen to make us very comfortable. The dogs were very welcoming too!
Our room was spacious, immaculate and comfortable, and the breakfasts were excellent - fresh eggs each morning were lovely. Alistair was very knowledgeable about the local weather and walking conditions which enabled us to plan our days.
All in all a good choice of accommodation with fine hospitality thrown in! Thank you both very much.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carolchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hi Chic & Carol. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay at Dolawel. We do try to make everything special for all our guests and believe attention to detail is key to this as well as great service. Thanks for your review and we hope to see you again in the future. Sorry for the response. Pat & Alister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaenau Ffestiniog
6.6 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
10.9 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
8.7 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
#10 of 10 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
3.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Craig Ddu
Craig Ddu
#6 of 10 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
5.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pengwern
Pengwern
#2 of 3 in Llan Ffestiniog
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolawel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolawel Guest House

Property: Dolawel Guest House
Address: Llyn y Gell | Rhiwbryfdir, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3HS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolawel is a large Victorian Guest House (4 Star Visit Wales Grading) in the town of Blaenau Ffestiniog, North Wales. Located in the heart of Snowdonia, with its own well maintained grounds next to the A470, offering secure off-road parking. The 19th-century former Quarry Manager house has been modernized to high standards whilst maintaining many of its original features. We are ideally situated for exploring Snowdonia, perfect for sightseeing,mountain biking, Zip Wire,cycling and hill walking. A real home from home where a warm welcome is assured and a hearty traditional breakfast served. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolawel Guest House Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing