We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly good but rather expensive ”
Review of Fukuzushi

Fukuzushi
Ranked #8 of 207 Restaurants in Furano
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed December 22, 2018 via mobile

Came here as it is next to the hotel I was staying at. Found out later that it’s considered rather famous. The food was good. Average for japan. But priced for foreigners I felt.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Malinky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 129 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2018 via mobile

Fukuzushi is stretching the limit of value as they decrease portions and raise prices. We dined here five years ago and the value proposition was much more reasonable.

We expect prices to be higher as this a ski resort but I would say they are now pushing 2-3x Tokyo pricing.

As Furano slowly moves the way of Niseko it is disappointing to see the business community further the convergence with endemic price gouging.

7 pieces of sashimi (three of which where low cost salmon) at Yen1300+. Three cooked onions at Yen600. A micro seaweed salad at Yen500. A chicken rice bowl that could just barely meet the hurdle of being called “chicken” via a few miserly scraps.

Finally we had the fish of the day at yen3500 and it just barely exceeded the length of our chopsticks. See picture.

Be warned that the steadily flow of “give me the most expensive item on the menu” Chinese tourists will soon ebb. The trade war and a decade of debt fuelled growth is coming to an end. Their cash stuffed wallets and free spending ways will dry up as fast as it came. You will be left with the core base of real skiing/boarding tourists who will be sour as you have ripped them off over the past few years.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jones888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018

They had really good and fresh sushi. Highly recommend their uni sushi/sashimi, they're really sweet and fresh. We also tried their rice bowls and fried dishes. The tonkatsu was really tender

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chewydoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

They are closed on Monday so we went on Tuesday. You cannot imagine how good the sashimi is. You must try it. If you do not eat raw fish do not worry, they cater for everyone taste. If they were open on Monday I could have eaten there for two days. Our hotel is just next door. How convenient it is to walk only a few steps and you are there (Furano Natulux Hotel)

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank josephy688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

Not cheap but you get top quality uni and chirashi bowl with freshest sashimi. We got great service and the owner even gave some local info about Furano. The kid really enjoy his dinner and it was comforting to see locals eating at this place.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank AndyLHLimSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fukuzushi also viewed

 
Furano, Hokkaido
Furano, Hokkaido
 

Been to Fukuzushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing