We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food with English menu”

Teppan Okonomiyaki Masaya
Ranked #2 of 165 Restaurants in Furano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Barbecue, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food with English menu”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We tried most of the items on English menu and all is very good. I believe the place is popular among SEA tourists so you may wait a little longer if seats were full. I am not sure if the chef owner and staff are Japanese, they are nice, friendly and speak many languages. We really enjoyed our time there. There is parking on site.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Makabe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    64
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Delicious food & wonderful hospitality by Chef & Owner Masaya”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a wonderful time in this cozy restaurant. Although it was a one-man show that night, Chef/owner Masaya made us feel welcome & entertained us with his cooking skills. Dinner for us was hotplate omelette curry rice with side servings of sausages, boneless rib etc. The food was simply delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoseandBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, Wonderful food, awesome atmosphere!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My partner and I went to this wonderful restaurant twice during our stay in Furano. What an experience! :)
We sat around the bar, which just happened to be the hot stove, and so, were able to watch the owner/chef, Masaya, cook us our wonderful delicious food!
The service was incredible. We were always greeted so politely and with excitement. The restaurant had a very inviting friendly atmosphere. The chef even took his time to teach us some Japanese, which came in handy!

If you are ever in Furano, this restaurant is a must see and do! The food is great value and very delicious!

Thanks Masaya!

Kathryn

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kathryn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tasty food, wonderful atmosphere and good value.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I visited twice on my trip to Furano. The owner, Masaya speaks good English but is more than willing to help us with our Japanese. We sat around the hot plate and watched him make the food. Ordered the okonomiyaki both times. Went down well with some nice cold beers and a bottle of the local asakihawa sake (which is very smooth and also highly recommended).

Thanks Masaya!
Josh (from Sydney)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ambosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Masaya, Owner & Chef”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I originally booked via Facebook. Unfortunately our booking got lost in translation. Even though the restaurant was fully booked the owner Masaya was very oppologetic and offered us the next available table. We first went for a quick drink at a litle local bar called Roberto's. They offered hot Sake heated over hot coals. Fabulous small local bar, No English Menu, food looked great ! But back to Masaya. We came back half hour later, most others had left. Teppan was more casual than the Knife tossing theatrical Teppans i have been to before. English menu with good selection of Japanese and Western dishes. Okonomiyaki ( Japanese savoury pancakes ) selection about 6 different styles to choose. Followed by the Grilled ribs which Masaya did flambé for a little excitement and Theatre. Well done Masaya, you made us feel very welcome to Furano. Keep up the good work and hope you follow your ambitions to open a restaurant in Australia !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teppan Okonomiyaki Masaya also viewed

 
Furano, Hokkaido
Furano, Hokkaido
 

Been to Teppan Okonomiyaki Masaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing