We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing stay in Furano at the New Furano Prince Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Furano Prince Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels / Ryokan in Furano
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay in Furano at the New Furano Prince Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The New Furano Prince Hotel has a great location for a ski in ski out holiday, but we found the service, restaurants, and shuttle bus options extremely limited and expensive.
The in hotel restaurant options were over priced, and the restaurant staff were unwelcoming and inflexible. For example at the Japanese restaurant we asked if we were able to order sushi and were told that we would have to sit at the sushi bar. As this sat ten people it was unlikely our group,of six would have got a booking during our six day stay. We also asked for a mixed tempura which was listed on the children's menu but were told the chef wouldn't make this for adults. Left a sour taste.
One of the kids lost the lift pass that was part of the accommodation deal and the staff said we would have to buy another one. They seemed to have no way of reissuing another or cancelling the lost one. That was another ¥11000. And they were quite rude about it - unable to explain why.
I've never before been charged for the use of the Onsen in a Japanese hotel either. As this is one of the great experiences of Japanese travel, this was yet another disappointment.
So we had to travel on the shuttle bus into the town of Furano to eat. 500¥ return and 30 minutes each way every night. The buses also run really irregularly so there's no such thing as an impromptu quick bite to eat.
The rooms are clean and spacious and the cleaning staff were great.

Room Tip: Others have said look over the town but looking over the ski fields was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    369
    141
    25
    14
See reviews for
326
166
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a fab holiday I had at the New Prince. Rooms are spacious and clean, and the house-keeping team obviously works very hard! Kudos to them. I enjoyed the breakfast buffet - what an amazing spread especially if you like Japanese food. The salad bar is perfect for a vegetarian like me. Service is top-notch. Plenty of shops in the hotel to keep us entertained, from the little shops and cafes at Ningle Terrace to the Bakery and even the Arcade room in the basement.
My only small gripe is: the menu options in the restaurants are not really catered to vegetarians; there is meat or seafood in almost every dish. You can always request for no meat but essentially you will just be eating rice + curry sauce + some some bits of vegetables. At the end of the day there really isn't a wide variety for vegetarians.

Room Tip: You can choose either a room which faces the ski slopes or one that faces the town (and looking at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greenflubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our second stay at New Prince Furano, having returned to Furano after our trip in Dec 2011.

Just as before- a great hotel, many restaurant options, spacious rooms (this time our 8th floor room overlooked the ski slopes), friendly, helpful staff, and great snow and slopes. We returned partly because we have a three month old baby along and want something familiar (being out in the sub 0 temp with a baby is not an option) so we returned, to no regrets.

Through an excellent ski op, we had an early bird special deal with free transport to and back from chitose airport, free buffet breakfast (delicious as always-- but I do miss last year's grated yam). We skied for 6 full days.

This time, we went to kitanomine more often, making use of the free hotel shuttle between the two prince hotels.

We also had some dinners in the hotel, and some in furano town (a taxi costs about ¥2000 one way. Or take the shuttle ¥500 return per person).

Will return, maybe in a few years time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank areisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Lovely surroundings. Good selection of Japanese as well as Western food. Nice lounge. OK onsen (the outdoor part was functional without having pretty views).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyce018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Our family of three stead at this resort hotel over Christmas 2011/12. We found all staff to be unfailingly polite, despite language difficulties. The restaurants were varied in style and price. For us, with a vegetarian and a 6 year old in our group, we found the onsite Izakaya, and also the bakery, best suited. The food, particularly at the Izakaya, was beautiful. Cost wise, is wasn't cheap, but this was anticipated as we were in the ski fields. I read a previous comment regarding tattoos and the onsen. As an individual with ink, I chose discretion to be the best tactic. My husband stated that he saw heavily inked Japanese men in the male baths. As a final word on this subject, as with traveling anywhere, if you don't like the rules, don't go there, and certainly don't whine about it after the event. Investigating local custom prior to travel ensures that your behavior is in tune with the way people live. I would also like to recommend Scott Tovey, the international bookings and sales manager, who is often at the hotel. Scott was very helpful in answering all our questions, gave us his mobile in case we required his services on a day off, and had many wonderful suggestions for local touring whilst in the Furano are. I hope Furano stays as wonderful as it is. A true family destination, this hotel had it all. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for village view; the volcano and town is more interesting than the ski slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coasr
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

My partner and I travelled to New Furano Prince hotel. Our room was meant to be a double and when we arrived it was 2 separate single beds. Thats fine, mistakes happen, but it is what you do about these mistakes that matters. The staff at the New Furano Prince Hotel, did nothing, offered no alternative, no assistance to join the beds, no apology! The staff were rude and extremely unhelpful in all sections of the hotel, including lobby shop, resturants, ski school and on the slopes also. Japan itself is amazing, however the only good thing I could say about New Furano Prince Hotel is its location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

My family and myself recently booked a 5 night stay at the Prince Hotel, New Furano on Hokkaido island, Japan, for a ski holiday. We checked out after only one night and moved to the Hilton Hotel in Niseko.

The Prince Hotel is badly managed and staffed and is quite unacceptable to western standards. The room smelt of damp, the food in the restaurant was disgusting, (even though my whole family eat Japanese quite regularly), and the restaurant prices were exorbitant.

The Prince Hotel also has a sign in the hot springs (onsen), that reads, "Bathing is prohibited for people who are intoxicated, members of crime syndicates, or people who have tattoos or fashion tattoos." I explained to their management that a very large percentage of western people have fashion tattoos and that their sign was insulting and discriminatory and should be removed immediately. I also found out later that it was illegal.

However they chose not to comply and as I have had tattoos on my arms that have been there for 50 years, I checked out of the Prince Hotel the next day and moved to the Niseko resort where no such antiquated or rude policy exists. One full day was wasted of our holiday. Our booking agent Ski Japan agreed completely with our stand on this matter. We won't be suggesting any Australians travel to Furano Resort in Hokkaido.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JianM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Furano hotels
2.5 mi away
Furano Natulux Hotel
Furano Natulux Hotel
#1 of 13 in Furano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Naturwald Furano
Hotel Naturwald Furano
#3 of 13 in Furano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.2 mi away
Furano Prince Hotel
Furano Prince Hotel
#8 of 13 in Furano
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Edel Warme
Edel Warme
#4 of 13 in Furano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Furano Hotel
New Furano Hotel
#12 of 13 in Furano
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.1 mi away
Resort Inn North Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Furano Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Furano Prince Hotel

Property: New Furano Prince Hotel
Address: Nakagoryo, Furano 076-8511, Hokkaido
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Furano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels / Ryokan in Furano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Furano Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furano is a spectacular all-season resort surrounded by the magnificent nature of Hokkaido.New Furano Prince Hotel is an outstanding new travel destination for outdoor sports activities and base of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Fastbooking, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Furano Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Furano
Furano Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing