We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for the family”
Review of Tsuru Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tsuru Apartments
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty lodging in Furano
Reviewed August 27, 2014

It is just like our home at Furano! It is well equipped: the laundry, the kitchen, the rice cooker, the dish washer, the refrigerator. It is also spacious enough our two kids enjoying their time here! My wife cooked the curry rice as breakfast for our kids during our stay, and kids just loved it! Will come back again when visiting Furano.

However, it is more suitable for the travelers with cars.
Our GPS seems out of date and failed to locate the hotel by map code or telephone number. Therefore, try to print out the google map of the location with you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PelleaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 32 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is the best stay ever when I visited Hokkaido.
The location is average. Must have your own car to access to this apartment.
The apartment cost me a boom....like really a boom.
But soon after I enter the apartment.
My 1st reaction: WOW!!!!
Well furnish, washing machine, cooking utensils, and dishwasher are available.
End up we cook our own dinner. Wow, what a special experience

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chungling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed 16 nights in Feb 2014, couple with no kids in Furano for the snow. Tsuru apartments are exceptionally appointed, TV has english channels set up, free FAST wifi, dishwasher, fridge, washing machine, stove & oven, comfy beds, decor was great, modern and perfectly suited to western guests.
Hiro, the owner is the icing on the cake! So friendly and helpful, he explained how everything worked and all the instructions for the washing machine, dishwasher etc were also printed in english. He maintains the apartments immaculately. We surveyed many similar priced apartments and feel Tsuru is one of the best. Will definitely be back!!
Thank you Hiro!!
PS Incredible snow conditions!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ-snofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Our family stayed in the Tsuru Apartments in February of 2014. We came for the skiing and to experience Japanese way of life. Tsuru apartments were really gigantic by Japanese standards and large by US standards. Everything was immaculate and in working order. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Our family of four was very comfortable. The large kitchen made preparing meals for our whole family really simple.

Beyond the apartment itself, the owner, Hiro, was very attentive and helpful. It is obvious he cares a great deal about his guests and his place. The snow in Furano was awesome! The apartments are close enough to the Gondola that you can actually ski home (down the street) through the neighborhood. There are many choices of restaurants nearby and downtown Furano is in walking distance (or a 1000 yen cab ride) with lots more shopping and restaurants. Go to Fukuzushi - the best sushi in Hokkaido!

If you can afford it this is THE place to stay in Furano!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I highly recommend Tsuru as a great place to stay in Furano, it is less than 5 min walk to Kitanomine Gondola station, and just 50m from the wonderful Ajito Bar.

The rooms themselves are great; drying room and washing machine included with a proper kitchen. I was staying alone so having the free wifi and big screen TV with English channels (something you don't get at a lot of hotels in Furano) meant I was able to keep myself entertained. The room is decent size, something again that a lot of the older hotels struggle with (imagine staying in a 15 sqm shoe box, that's what some of the hotels are like, this room was more like 50sqm with a proper bathroom/bathtub and living room to spread out a bit). The washing machine I think is a huge benefit because you can bring less clothes, and wash them; snowboard socks with intuition liners get a little, how can I say, rancid, after a few days, so having the ability to wash them and also with a drying room IN THE ROOM is a huge bonus.

the owner Hiro-San is a really nice guy; he lives right next door, and took both myself and other guests to the supermarket a couple of times, that's the level of service you get when staying here rather than a hotel.

Maybe not the cheapest place, as I was on my own, but definitely would be worth it and recommended as a place to come; note that if the ski resort is Dec - Mar then Kitanomine side is open; from April onwards the resort bizaarely closes this side and only the Furano side is open, meaning you can still stay on this side but you would need to bus over each day to Furano side, which is kind of a pain.

While in town last year, I shot a video to promote that Thai Airways now flies directly to Chitose (Sapporo) Airport from Bangkok; if you catch the bus, then it is possible to be arriving 8am, bus 930am, Hiro will pick you up at the EdelWarne stop at 12pm and you can be riding at 1pm no problem. I also recommend Furano International SnowSports School (FISS) for lessons, they are based at the Kitanomine side just up the road; lessons make a huge benefit for any skier or snowboarder I think!

Check out a little video shot for Furano here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Suhmetpnfv4

Room Tip: All the rooms have a washer/dryer and drying room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kipsan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Furano in July is the peak season & lodging during this period is normally more expensive. Having said that, we still felt that the 2 Bedroom apartment (slightly more than 80000 Yen for 2 nights, without meals) that we stayed in was a bit expensive.

Pros:
1. Apartment is huge
2. We loved the washer/dryer
3. Parking is free

Cons:
1. Location-wise - probably difficult to access without a car
2. Bath/Toilet - There is 2 toilets but only 1 bath. Although we loved the bathroom (fantastic shower and tub), for a family of 5, having 2 bath areas would have been much more convenient.
3. We were a bit surprised by how stern the owner was (by local standards). As such, we were constantly on our toes...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgpoonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 10 days in early Feb 2013. The apartment was very comfortable and clean. It felt very spacious for the two of us with all of our ski gear. The fridge was a decent size and the owner kindly offered to take us to the supermarket when we arrived so that we could get supplies straight away. It was helpful to have a washing machine given that we had a longer stay. The apartment is a decent walk to the gondola (about 600m or so uphill). It is perfectly doable, but you do get a bit warm carrying your skis etc in your ski gear. Hiro has helpfully programmed in English channels on the TV and has free wifi for guests. He is also an excellent cook and we had a fantastic dinner there one night with friends. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay in Furano.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marienzreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Furano hotels
1.4 mi away
New Furano Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Edel Warme
Edel Warme
#4 of 13 in Furano
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Naturwald Furano
Hotel Naturwald Furano
#3 of 13 in Furano
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Furano Natulux Hotel
Furano Natulux Hotel
#1 of 13 in Furano
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Furano Prince Hotel
Furano Prince Hotel
#6 of 13 in Furano
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Furano Hotel
New Furano Hotel
#10 of 13 in Furano
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsuru Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsuru Apartments

Address: 10-16 Kitanominecho, Furano 076-0034, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Furano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty lodging in Furano
Price Range: $132 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tsuru Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Tsuru Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing