We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
34
7
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
7
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarm hospitalityhis wifejapanese style roomend of the daytrain stationjimmyhosttoiletsenglish
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 42 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile

I travelled with extended family-6 adults and 7 young children (including 1 year old twin boys!) We had 4 spacious rooms and which was pretty much the whole house to ourselves. The shared toilet/bathrooms were not an issue. Jimmy speaks good English and takes the effort to get to know every one by name. He also makes great recommendations on where to go. His wife, Noriko makes excellent home style meals. The house was spotless and also had a piano for sing a longs. Both of them made our stay an excellent family home away from home. We would gladly return again. From Hoong San.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank HoongG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

Jimmy-san, the host was someone who will brighten up your day. His warmth and jovial character was the plus point during the stay. The pension was basic but complete, the rooms were big as compared to hotels. The breakfast was personally made by Jimmy and his wife.

Room Tip: Opt for a room facing the grape vineyard.
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay with Jimmy-san and his family in their lovely pension. The pension is tastefully furnished - eg hand crafted wooden tables and cast iron stove. Our room was Japanese style - large with a lovely view. Breakfast was very tasty and plentiful as was the one magnificent dinner we had on our final night. Jimmy-san has excellent english, and was very informative about the things to do and see, and restaurants. He has available discounted ski tickets. The pension is 5km from the ski resort in a rural setting, so a car is useful. Would very much like to go back.

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Madshus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2015

Where do I start? We arrived at Furano train station and our host (please call me Jimmy) of the Pension is waiting for us in a minibus. We arrive at the Pension, are introduced to Jimmy's wife (the Boss) and after a tour of all facilities sit down for a fantastic Yen 1,500 Japanese 5 course dinner. Jimmy speaks perfect English and with a dry sense of humour thoughtfully explains the dishes. For the kids, anything unusual is chicken or a Japanese radish! Breakfast is more of the same, with another fantastic Yen 1,000 Japanese/Western breakfast with explanations of what we are eating. After breakfast, Jimmy drives us (all lifts are at no charge) to the New Prince Hotel and organises our ski hire and lift passes before arranging to pick us up at the end of the day. Four days proceed exactly the same. On the last day, the bus was not running to Sapporo (because of snow). Jimmy explained the position and made sure that we had a place on the next train and waited with us until the train arrived. What an amazing host! A perfect stay! A pity that my skiing was no where near as good!

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SexyTaffyBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2015

This pension is located in a convenient area of Furano with easy access to the various tourist spots via car. What makes this place stand out is the warm hospitality of the host Jimmy-san. He makes the effort to learn everyone's names upon arrival and tried to converse with us in our native language! The place was spotlessly clean - cleaner than my own home! Food was sourced locally and tasted yummy. Would not hesitate to return to stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JWSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews