We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond the expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Admiral Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hotel located close enough to Dubrovnik so you can visit all the sightseeing but far away enough to enjoy quite and relaxing vacation. Food, amenities, and service are exceptional!!! I hope one day I'll be able to get back to this place one day. I definitely suggest that place to any type of the traveler.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mandarinkaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
There are newer reviews for Admiral Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 495 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

Conclusion:
Maybe a bit odd, but let's start with the conclusion first :-) The Admiral Grand is a really nice hotel, very contemporary and modern. Food are more than OK, staff is friendly. Slano in itself is a bit desolate and quite far from Dubrovnik city center, but as a result, very quiet and peaceful.

Hotel:
The hotel is a really nice hotel. Very modern and contemporary, from the hotel lobby to the rooms. Get a sea view room if possible, as you get a wonderful view onto the bay.
The hotel has a private beach (small stones, not sand) with plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas. No need to get up early to 'reserve' yours, lovely!
You have an outdoor and indoor pool (including jacuzzi), but as you are close to the sea, we never used those. They were clean and properly maintained though, so thumbs up!

Location:
As said before, Slano is a bit desolate and you really need a rental car or take the bus to visit something. There are plenty of things to see in the surroundings of Slano. Most of the islands are worth visiting (Mljet was very nice in terms of nature, but besides that, a bit dull). Of course you should visit the city of Dubrovnik including the old city center. It's a very nice town, but can be very crowded, especially if some cruise liners just arrived and take their guests around town.
Plenty of things to do and see here! Make sure you take the stairs in to old town, really nice restaurants there!

Vicinity:
In the immediate vicinity, there are only 3 restaurants there. 1 belongs to the hotel, the other two are privately owned. One of those is a pizzeria (Maestral), the other one (Kolarin) serves a mixture of local food (incl fish) and international food. Good places to eat, but nothing fancy. One or two bars and some shops and that's about it. You get the bare necessities, but don't expect too much out of it. The hotel itself has a bar and a very nice restaurant indeed, which we believe you will use most of the time. The bar isn't cheap, but you get really nice drinks. We stayed half board, and didn't really get 'bored' with the buffet offered.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor, sea view, away from the central hall or elevators.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Admiral for the last few days it was open - it closed for the winter the day we left. It was very strange staying in a hotel which could accommdate hundreds with only 12 guests - we felt abit like we were squatters (but in a fun way). The staff did not in any way make us feel like they were about to close - everything remained open (although they did pull the plug on the indoor pool as soon as I left!!). The staff were excellent and friendly, and as they didnt have much to do, did spend time chatting to you which made fro a really nice stay. The hotel is well appointed, excellent location and it was such a shame that it rained for 3 out of our 4 days - the sun did come out onthe last day so I managed to get some great sunny pics! The isn;t much in the resort, but the local bus stops just outside the door with easy access to Dubrovnik. We hired one of the hotels cars and took a road trip to sarajevo (4 hours each way) which was well worth it for the scenery on route and snow flurries once there!

Room Tip: sea veiw is a must! Although the mountain view is also spectacular!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorfolkExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Grand Admiral in September this year on my first trip to Croatia. It was excellent! If you are interested in history then this hotel stands on the footprint of the original that was destroyed during the war. It really is perfect for a relaxing, comfortable holiday. The setting is in a beautiful bay although don't expect long sandy beaches - this is small pebbles so probably not best for families with small children and the hotel isn't terribly geared up for families. There are no children's clubs or play area but we wanted a couples holiday without kids and that's what we got. As well as the beach there's a lovely salt water pool with plenty of sunbeds and a bar that serves food at lunchtime. You just can't get enough of the view of the bay and meals are served in the restaurant which has a terrace literally one step away from the beach. The staff were excellent - recommending decent local wine for us and reserving a table for us when we knew we'd be late back from a trip. Very friendly and always professional and attentive.

Slano is tiny so you will find yourself eating at the hotel most, if not all, nights, but it is a very peaceful place and just what we wanted. The hotel does an amazing job on the food and there is plenty of choice given they have to cater for different nationalities but we loved it. There's a big wine list too and some of the Croatian wine is worth a go. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and we had a view over the main entrance and fountain to the mountains, which we loved.

Dubrovnik is accessible via bus and the bus stop is just outside the main entrance of the hotel and runs to time. There are only a few buses each day so plan ahead but it's cheap, reliable and takes you into the main bus station by the port. The first bus of the day takes about an hour because of the number of people trying to get on and off, but the scenery along the coast road means it's not exactly a hardship - the coast is stunning. From the bus station it's a short taxi ride to the old city, and it's well worth walking the walls which takes about 90 mins to 2 hours -but don't do it in the heat of the day. It's one of the most beautiful cities I've been to and sobering when you realise this was also partly destroyed. We ate out in Dubrovnik one night and found a restaurant in the walls with a view over the harbour and it was a lot less expensive than we were expecting, and worth every penny to see the place as it gets dark. It's also worth taking the cable car from Dubrovnik town to the top of the mountain. Once you're up there, on one side you have breathtaking views over the coast and the sea, and behind you mountains into Bosnia as far as you can see. There is also a museum up there that tells the story of the war and it's well worth a visit - you can buy a combined cable car/museum ticket at the bottom.

The Grand Admiral for us was a perfect hotel to use as a base. When you are there it's just a lovely place to be with enough facilities - although the bar closes by about 11 and there's not a lot in the way of entertainment. If you want lively, this isn't going to be for you - don't be fooled by the fact it has a nightclub - it's empty! But if you want a touch of loveliness and relaxation in a stunning location and to get some peace and quiet this would be perfect. There are a number of trips that run from here so it's possible to get out and about, which we did, and you can also explore the area on bike or on foot. It also has a spa but book a few days in advance for any treatments because it's popular. I had a couple of treatments and they were top notch.

Beautiful hotel, lovely staff, good food & wine, stunning location, and just one of the best holidays I've had.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Clara_Bell812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My Wife and I stayed at this hotel for a week from 15th September 2012, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, food was excellent as neither of us eat meat there was always plenty of choice.
The hotel was spotlessly clean both inside and out with bedding changed regularly. The only downside to the room was no tea & coffee making facilities, but we overcame this with our own kettle !!!
We hired bikes from the hotel one afternoon, the bikes were well maintained and good value.
I would recommend a stay in this hotel to anybody and would definitely like to return one day
Bus to Dubrovnik was very easy and not expensive, Dubrovnik old town is well worth a visit

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KingofTonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for a few days half board in the last few days of October. Despite being one of the last few guests before the hotel closed down for the winter the facilities were all still open and the staff very attentive. Food was excellent, rooms were spotless, view was magnificent!
Bus stop outside the hotel made local travel very easy and cheap. Would go again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cdhetheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here the first week in September 2012. Having never been to croatia before we had been warned how expensive it was etc and so we opted to stay out of dubrovnik. This was thes best decision we made! There are regular buses to dubrovnik (30 min) but we on,y went there twice as Slano was beautiful. Hotel in great location, clean and modern. Food amazing. Left a great impression and would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: We had a mountain view which was beautiful. The restaurant in the hotel has a sea view so i thought...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gabriella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slano
12.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
12.4 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,877 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,768 reviews
19.3 mi away
Sheraton Dubrovnik Riviera Hotel
12.7 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Grand Hotel

Address: Rudera Boskovica, BB, Slano 20232, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Slano
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slano
Price Range: $144 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiral Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiral Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing