We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five-star comfort and service”
Review of Hotel Victoria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Castillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in El Castillo
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Five-star comfort and service”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights November this year at the Victoria hotel. We checked out several of the 15 rooms and all of them looked very inviting and spotless. Most of them have a king-size bed plus a double, a bunk bed or a single. The bed is the most comfortable in our Nicaragua experience. AC and hot water are a real bonus, believe me. You can not find a better hotel in El Castillo.

The 2nd morning I locked ourselves out but did not think it was disastrous. Guess what, the previous guests left with the other copies so ours was the only they had. They had wanted to make more copies but I was too fast for them. The next hour saw 8 people with hard plastic sheets, a hammer, several screwdrivers and a wood block trying to unlock it but finally, the lock had to be destroyed by force. We tried many times to pay for the damage but the 2 sisters, Magdelina & Julia, would refuse it over and over again.

The food was great and the staff extremely friendly and efficient. We miss them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    43
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
57
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaneohe, Hawaii, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Hotel Victoria has staff, views, food and rooms that are 5 star all the way in the tiny two horse town of El Castillo in Nicaragua on the Rio San Juan. My party of 5 never wanted for anything. We were provided with boots, boats and food to take on the day tours and attention to detail with food and service within the hotel. The rooms were spacious, clean and perfect view of the Rio San Juan. This is where you are able to enjoy the sumptous giant river shrimp and every variety of cocktails, beers and wines. We are already planning our next trip back.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Rio San Juan and enjoy the soft babbling of the river. All rooms have air condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzi Clay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

There is a choice of pine clad rooms with air conditioning and en-suite shower-rooms, Ours was overlooking the river. There is a large first floor balcony to watch the river from a seat or a hammock. The restaurant serves good food and the hotel will provide a packed lunch. A bonus is the wildlife 'on the doorstep' from massive Amazon Kingfishers in the day to huge Caiman (a crocodile species) sitting in wait below the balcony at night. Trips down river and into the jungle can be arranged by the hotel. Situated at the very end of the small road through El Castllo its a fine location in a fabulous little jungle town. Dont miss it if you visit Nicaragua.

Room Tip: There are rooms large and small we had a fine choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonEcologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Super clean, nice and quite and balcony views onto the river. Well stocked bar (which in El Castillo is surprisingly rare) and good food (again, surprising rare apart from Borders cafe) makes this one of the best places in town. Super friendly staff too.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steveslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoyed our three night stay at Hotel Victoria and were looked after very well, getting our breakfast as a picnic every morning as requested as we were leaving to go down river before 5.30. The rooms were very clean and we had a great view from the lovely balcony. If you like epiphytes, you'll love the tree in front! I did feel, however, that for the price we paid, compared to our friends' at the hotel next door, the difference wasn't really worth it - Victoria had bigger rooms, you couldn't see the river through the floorboards and the view was similar. Food and drink was more expensive here too. I don't think our friends' hotel had air conditioning either, but then we prefer a fan anyway. Another nice feature is the boardwalk just below, so you can watch the world go by - oh, and caymens just beside the restaurant.

Room Tip: We were shown two rooms and chose the one with the better view. Depending on length of stay, you mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hotel Victoria is certainly the hotel with the highest standard in El Castillo. We had a room in the newer building. The spacious room are in good shape. The house on the whole is very clean. The quiet A/C works very well.
The poor breakfast consisted of a small fruit plate , some pieces of toasted bread, a small sausage, one egg, jam and butter. You get a package juice and can choose between coffee and tea. You have to pay for every additional slice of toast and cup of coffee you request for.
During our stay the electricity broke down and a noisy generator in front of our building was installed. Only the older house and the restaurant got light. Our house remained completely dark. No flashlight was given and no information at all. Later on there was no water. Again no information. When we brushed our teeth in the darkness we didn't recognize that the water was
dark brown it means spoiled. My wife got an infect for more than five days with extreme pain in her stomach. During the night no fresh water was available till the next morning. The owners are not responsible for the problems with electricity and water but they are responsible for the lack of information.
Conclusion: In our opinion the owners who run the hotel are practising the minimal principle which means to get the highest success with the lowest means or commonly spoken - they have the $-sign in their eyes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Herbert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a nice place to sleep after spending the day in the jungle. The TV does not actually get reception, if that matters to you (I would not have turned it on anyway.) The water is not really hot, but that hardly matters, given the climate of the area. The a/c does work (very well), and that does matter. It's clean and the two women who own it are really nice. It's quiet and the rooms are very private and it's a pretty building. There's a nice balcony upstairs with rocking chairs for watching the river or for people watching. It might be the only place in town that will take a credit card (at least it's one of very few.) El Castillo was my favorite town in Nicaragua. No cars, very picturesque, very safe, very eco-conscious, very friendly people. It's wonderful just to stroll all over the town, the residential streets as well as along the river. No hawkers, just people living their lives. The restaurants typically serve delicious, simple, local food. I just love this town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luna del Rio
Hotel Luna del Rio
#1 of 3 in El Castillo
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lara's Planet
Hotel Lara's Planet
#3 of 3 in El Castillo
53 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sabalos Lodge
Sabalos Lodge
#1 of 2 in Boca Sabalos
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nena Lodge and Tours
Nena Lodge and Tours
#1 of 5 in El Castillo
49 reviews
4.2 mi away
Montecristo EcoLodge
Montecristo EcoLodge
#1 of 3 in Boca Sabalos
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Iglesia Catolica, El Castillo, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rio San Juan Department > El Castillo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in El Castillo
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel El Castillo
Hotel Victoria Nicaragua/El Castillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing