We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Jungle Lodge, but not a lot of wildlife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Huasquila Amazon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Nice Jungle Lodge, but not a lot of wildlife”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed at the Huasquila Jungle Lodge for 3 nights. The lodge was located just outside of Cotunda. The lodge was well kept, the room was clean, and the gardens were beautiful. It was not deep in the jungle so therefore there isn't a lot of wildlife present. However, we did see lots of birds, insects, a snake, and smaller animals. We did 3 walks in the jungle and learned about medicinal plants, edible fruits/plants, etc. It was interesting and beautiful. We also visited an animal rescue center. The driver that picked us up in Quito and dropped us off drove a little crazy. The food was great except for some mushrooms that we ate. They made us sick. Other than getting sick from the mushrooms we had a wonderful time and would definitely return if we had the chance.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMH10, Owner at Huasquila Amazon Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your review and comments. We would love to have you back one day!


All the best,

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    27
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
31
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

My husband and I were overwhelmed with all the lodges and options. We made a spreadsheet of what all we wanted and this lodge fit most of our criteria. When we got there we were overwhelmed with the beauty, cleanliness, and friendliness this lodge provided. Cecilia, the owner, was there and talked us through what our options were and helped us with our transport to and from Quito even with an extra trip to Tena that we had scheduled. They made sure we had everything we needed at all times, and the guides were fabulous. We even got to go grocery shopping with Cecelia, to get some fresh baked bread, fruit and fresh milk for our meals which was quite interesting. We felt like a part of the family. The outings we went on, jungle walk, jumandy caves, animal rescue center, and a white water trip added to the end were beyond anything we expected. We were never uncomfortable or worried about anything. The guides were very experienced and very easy to talk to (we have limited spanish). There was nothing lacking in my opinion as to the lodges care and concern for us, even so far as to give us a plastic bag for our digital camera so nothing would happen to it on the jungle walk. We felt completely at home and had the privacy when we wanted it as well as out of this world delicious and healthy foods. The lemonade is a must have, if you go (which you should) definitely request a glass!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMH10, Owner at Huasquila Amazon Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Mandy,

Thank you for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back one day!

All the best!

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

This was our family's first trip to Ecuador and we could not have been more fortunate to have stayed at the Huasquila Amazon Lodge. The proprietors Cecilia, Pablo and Bastienne took us in like family and we thoroughly enjoyed the week. All the pictures you see on their web site are accurate and the guides they have for the excursions are top notch. The reviews we read about their excellent food are true. There are some things that North American travelers should consider before going to Ecuador - not many places accept credit cards and if they do, there is an added fee. Before you travel to this wonderful country, make sure you bring enough cash out to the jungle.

My wife and I had a great time with our kids ages 14, 18 and 20. There was something for everyone.

A special thanks to Pablo for helping us with our travel arrangements. We were there during a very busy public holiday period and booking parts of our trip became tricky, especially with our limited Spanish. Pablo and his wife were awesome. They made our trip, for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMH10, Owner at Huasquila Amazon Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Kathleen and Brad,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We enjoyed very much meeting you and your wonderful family!

We hope you are doing well and wish you all the best!

Let us know when you ever come back to Ecuador!

Pablo and Bastienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

We went to Huasquila for a weekend with a group of 15 people and had a wonderful time over there! The lodge is very clean. The beds in the bungalows are the most comfortable I have ever slept in in Ecuador. The bathrooms are aswell very clean and exclusive with hot water. Each bungalow has its own terrace and hammocks.
Besides, they serve excellent food.
The lodge is a great place to chill and enjoy the Amazon area.
But there are also a lot of adventurous activities to do! We went to a jungle hike, the animal center and some caves. We enjoyed everything. It was just such a great experience!! I can only highly recommend all of these activities. The tours were very interesting, the guides new A LOT and we had so much fun these days.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verena1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMH10, Owner at Huasquila Amazon Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We would be very to have you back one day!

All the best!

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

I arrived at Huasquila after having a bad experience at another lodge, so I wasn´t in the best of mood. After just one day of being well taken care of I was back to feeling like myself. Everyone at Huasquila treated me so well. The food was really amazing (and I´m a picky eater). I really enjoyed the tours of the near by jungle and the canyon tour was my favorite. The guides took their time, explained everything and were helpful when there was a slippery rock or wooden bridge. I also enjoyed making artisania in the near by community. The ladies were so nice to me and we had a few laughs too.

I highly recommend Huasquila. They really go out of their way to make you happy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMH10, Owner at Huasquila Amazon Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at Huasquila! We are very happy you enjoyed it and hope to have you back one day!

All the best!

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

My wife and I spent 3 days/2 nights at Huasqila Amazon Lodge with our daughter, who'd visited previously as part of her college study abroad program. Our experience was excellent. This a family-owned and operated establishment that has found the right balance of professionalism and informality, comfortable accommodations and environmental sensitivity.

Pablo, the principal owner, was very responsive in answering our questions via the Internet before we even left home. (We found their website very accurate in its representations and descriptions of services.) He then met with us at their Quito office to square away last minute details. His mother, Cecilia, welcomed us at the lodge itself and was delightful and accommodating throughout our stay. It is obvious they are accustomed to meeting the concerns of international travelers with little experience in this region.

We opted to travel by bus to the town nearest the lodge, Cotundo, a fascinating trip through multiple ecosystems. A local taxi took us to the lodge proper, about a 3 km drive on unpaved road. As it happened, we were the only guests (it was low season, though they were preparing for a large group the following week), so we felt during our entire visit like special guests whose happiness was the staff's sole concern.

The cuisine we enjoyed was excellent, prepared with local produce, beautifully presented, and delicious. The buildings are of wood with thatch rooves, furnished and decorated simply yet comfortably, with modern bathrooms and hot water. The lodge itself and all the cabanas had serene views of the surrounding country. The lodge property was well constructed and maintained without having a prefabricated, corporate-designed air about it. Amazingly (at least to us), there were no mosquitos or other insects at the lodge or the cabanas, although cabanas have glass-in-wood framed windows and doors. Security was not a concern.

The staff was friendly, polite, well-trained, and attentive without being intrusive. (Our daughter reported the same when she visited earlier with her 30-person college group.) We went on two different hikes -- 1 hour and 3 1/2 hours -- to different areas of the 200+ hectare property. Our guides, Kleber and Jose, were exceptional: residents of the area who were well-informed about the native flora and fauna, obviously interested in sharing what they knew, with a good sense of what we were capable of. Huasquila's property holdings are large enough to feature pastureland, areas undergoing reforestation, secondary forest, and primary forest, affording the opportunity to learn about each in a very tactile way. Birds and animals not readily seen on the hikes can be viewed at a nearby local rescue/zoological facility. No lodge can promise animal encounters, and much of the larger and more exotic fauna only occur much farther into the Oriente, so we found the hike and rescue facility combination at Huasquila a good alternative to many more hours of travel to much more remote locations south or east of Quito. And when you're looking up at primary forest canopy, or cooling off under a water fall, or making your way (with headlamps) through a pitch black cave with a stream running through it, you'll feel plenty remote.

All in all, we found Huasquila Amazon Lodge a delightful property, a relaxed introduction to the Amazon, and an excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violinoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMH10, Owner at Huasquila Amazon Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed review about your stay at Huasquila Lodge! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back one day!

All the best,

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

A lovely setting. We were made very welcome and we were well fed - perhaps too well fed! The activities varied. Trekking through the secondary jungle was excellent, trekking on horse back very good, rafting too far away, village visit somewhat contrived and the animal sanctuary more like a small zoo. Tip - if you wish to go to the sanctuary go on your own on the way back to Quito. This will save both time and money.
The accommodation was good but we were shocked at the 5 star London equivalent prices which did not match 5 star London accommodation. Directions were fine but remember that Ecuadorian roads can be long and bumpy! If you are travelling on a budget, give this a miss. If money is no object, have a go but don't expect luxury. Our son took us here for a treat, we ended up subbing him.

  • Liked — The setting. It was beautiful
  • Disliked — The cost
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMH10, Owner at Huasquila Amazon Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Harry,

Thank you for your comments. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Huasquila. We are surprised that you have found that our prices are too high for Ecuador. If you compare to other lodges with comparable standards in the region we are definitely the best price/value relation as you can see from other reviews. In our full board program we charge 120 USD per person per night that includes a welcome cocktail, All meals , drinks during meals, activities, rubber boots, entrance fees, transport to activities, accommodation and 22% taxes. I do not think you can find something comparable to this in the UK in a 5 star hotel.

We will be more careful in sending our reservation vouchers to the final client, to avoid misunderstandings. In this case we handled every information with your son.

Thank you for helping us improve our services!

Kind Regards,

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cotundo
0.0 mi away
Tapir Lodge
Tapir Lodge
#3 of 3 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
16.4 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
24.7 mi away
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Suchipakari Amazon Rainforest Ecolodge
0.0 mi away
Yachana Lodge
Yachana Lodge
#1 of 54 in Napo Province
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hamadryade Lodge
Hamadryade Lodge
#9 of 29 in Tena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huasquila Amazon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huasquila Amazon Lodge

Property: Huasquila Amazon Lodge
Address: Huasquila Rd Km 3. 5, Cotundo 150352, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Cotundo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cotundo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Huasquila Amazon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 2h30 from Quito's New Airport, Huasquila is the closest Amazon Lodge in Ecuador!Private transfer, departure every day, no minimum of persons required,Easy reservation, credit cards accepted!No yellow fever and malaria shots required.Best option for Galapagos extension, even one night stay possible:! (Being so close to the airport we pick you up from your flight and bring you back on time the day you leave back home without getting into Quito's traffic jam (it takes about 1h30 from Quito to the new airport!!!!).At the beginning of the Amazon-Andes circuit, passing Termas de Papallacta, Rio Napo, Banos, Chimborazo and Cotopaxi, you can start or finish your Ecuador Trip with us.First class personalized service.100% Accessible (even wheelchairs), the best family option ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Huasquila Amazon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huasquila Amazon Lodge Ecuador/Cotundo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing