We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Highlands Motel & Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Minden B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent the weekend of feb 9 at the motel it is so clean and inviting we where warmly met and advised by owners we loved the meeting room so we could all sit around and talk and enjoy the hockey game sat. night.
Even though there had been a mamoth snow storm it was all cleared and easy access to motel.

Room Tip: the restraunts are very good and short walk or quick drive. we stayed in rm 1 and even though it is...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for The Highlands Motel & Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 122 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked the Loft for a girls weekend get away - there were 6 of us and the loft slept us all comfortably - the bunk beds were awesome - infact we all wanted to sleep in them. The Loft was spotless clean and we used the club house to prepare our meals and socialize. When it came time to go home; we didn't want to leave! It's so cozy and the owners are so accomodating and friendly. We decided that this will be our permanent girls weekend location! Infact - several of us intend on brining our kids to stay to go skating on the pond this winter! You won't find a nicer place at such a reasonible price. Infact I almost crossed it off my list because it seemed so cheap - I was worried that it wouldn't be suitable. When the owner was giving me the tour of the room when I arrived I had to ask her again if it was really $135/night - i couldn't believe what an amazing deal it was! Would totally refer anyone - you will be pleasantly surprized!

Room Tip: The Loft Rocks!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in the Loft which was incredible. All new, beautiful stone fireplace, all pine, extremely clean and comfortable in a wonderful setting amongst trees with wrap balcony. All the little details were covered, from chocolates on the pillows, to tea and coffee, big screen tv and lots of clean blankets and towels. Absolutely loved the unit which was bright, and very nicely decorated. Would love to go back there again and plan to in the warmer months. Paul and Dora were very friendly and take great care with the Highlands. Thanks Paul and Dora! Joe/Anne F.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have stayed there 5 or 6 times. I am a bit of a clean freak and this place is great. The owners are
very friendly and helpful. The grounds are lovely and the flowers are beautiful. Dora and Paul are always updating the rooms and adding to the accomodations.All in all, a great place .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzie1Barrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in The Loft which is basically a one bedroom apartment (minus kitchen, but has a bar fridge and microwave, as well table for six) with 2 double futons and 2 bunkies for kids. Loved it from the minute we walked in. The whole accommodation is in pine, floor to ceiling and smells heavenly. It is clean, bright and very tastefully decorated. My husband and I enjoyed the comfort of the bedroom which is very big and has a wonderful view of the trees behind the motel. Ahh, I love the Thanksgiving colors! My married daughter and husband used the futon and my single adult child cozied up in a bunk enjoying the comfort in spite of the fact that she is 5'6" tall. The propane fireplace adjusted the heat in the loft maintaining a nice comfy temperature for the cool weather we experienced. Two Formula 1 fans rejoiced when they saw the big screen tv with cable, but were let down when F1 appeared on sport channel 2 instead of 1. We enjoyed the spaciousness of the Loft rather than being crammed into a couple of regular motel rooms. A big bonus at this motel is the club house which is a seperate building (below the Loft) and has a full kitchen and lounging area with games and if necessary a tv. Also a bonus when you have one bathroom and 5 adults is the seperate shower room from the toilet/sink area. When someone takes a shower then the bathroom is free for others to use. The owners are very accommodating and respond to all requests quickly. We can't wait to go back and are considering spending some time over Christmas at this motel. The location to the lake, hiking trails and all things good things in the north country is excellent.

Room Tip: All motel rooms are good and the owners have done extensive remodelling. If you need a little extra...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancebuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in the Cabin and we were pleased. The room was clean and the linens were too. The hosts were very welcoming and were always working on the property. They gave us towels for the beach when requested and were available most of the evening. There are a few good places to eat near by. The only problem was that only one window in the cabin had a screen, so we had to put the air conditioning on all night. I would have loved to open all the windows :)
All in all would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grhrb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were two families, our blankets were dirty one with a white substance dried curd fluid with some hair attached to that and the next one had some crashed food or biscuit on that. My friend sheet was not changed because there was some hair. It seems they don’t change and wash blankets and sheetes as often as other hotels or nice motels, but the room was clean, also they did not have phone in rooms, it is unacceptable for a motel or hotel.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Behnaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandsMotel, Owner at The Highlands Motel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

We were very surprised and puzzled by this review. Upon receiving it we immediately went and checked all our blankets in all the rooms, but were unable to find the stains the reviewer was referring to. It would certainly help if we knew which room the reviewer was staying in. As for the comment on the sheets, we would like to assure all our guests and future guests that we do not take any shortcuts when cleaning the rooms. We do not have a cleaning staff so we can personally ensure that the quality of the cleaning is there every time. The sheets are changed every single time without exception. As the reviewer states, they had two families staying with us at the same time. Between the two families (depending on the room configuration) that means about four to six beds. Although we try our best, we do not wear hairnets when changing the sheets so no matter how unfortunate this is it may have happened that there was a hair on one of the sheets. But close examination of all the other beds and the clean freshly laundered smell of the sheets should have been an indication to the reviewer that the beds were changed and the sheets were cleaned. It is hard to believe that two families would put up with dirty sheets and not approach the office about this problem. As the reviewer states the room was clean – we would certainly not put the work and effort into making sure that the rooms and bathrooms were spotless just to have our reputation tarnished by unchanged sheets.
There are no telephones in the rooms at The Highlands Motel. When we became owners of this place our priority was to upgrade and modernize all the rooms and all the buildings on the property. Since the majority of people seem to have cell phones now days, nobody really seems to be inconvenienced by the lack of phones in the rooms. Again we do not understand why the reviewer did not approach the office if he or she needed to make a telephone call. Guests are always welcome to use the office phone for local and even long distance calls at no charge of course. An “in case of emergency” telephone is located by the office entrance and it is available to all guests 24/7.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
6.1 mi away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
6.5 mi away
Bonnie View Inn
Bonnie View Inn
#1 of 9 in Haliburton
220 reviews
1.0 mi away
Red Umbrella Inn
Red Umbrella Inn
#4 of 8 in Minden
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#2 of 9 in Haliburton
52 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heather Lodge
Heather Lodge
#2 of 7 in Minden
190 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
#1 of 1 in Eagle Lake
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlands Motel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlands Motel & Lodge

Address: 15102 Highway 35 1064 Omagaki Road | Haliburton Highlands, Minden, Ontario K0M 2K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Minden
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Minden
Price Range: $120 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highlands Motel & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlands Motel is nestled in the heart of beautiful Haliburton Highlands just steps away from crystal clear 12 Mile Lake, about 10 minutes north of Minden and about 20 minutes east of Haliburton Village, located next door to the wonderful Peppermill restaurant. Clean cozy and comfortable rooms that come with 3 piece bath, fridge, satellite LCD TV, wireless high speed internet, air conditioning, queen, double or triple twin beds. All rooms are non smoking. The property also has a cozy one room cottage and a gorgeous Loft suite. Recreation hall with full kitchen, fire place, for gatherings, outdoor BBQs and fire pit. Access to a sandy beach of Twelve Mile Lake. Great restaurants nearby. Year round fishing. Snowmobilers - come off Trail # 8, park in front of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Highlands Motel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highlands Motel & Lodge Minden, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing