We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Highlands Motel & Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Minden B&B and Inns
Barrie
1 review
“Very nice”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have stayed there 5 or 6 times. I am a bit of a clean freak and this place is great. The owners are
very friendly and helpful. The grounds are lovely and the flowers are beautiful. Dora and Paul are always updating the rooms and adding to the accomodations.All in all, a great place .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzie1Barrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    14
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
36
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in The Loft which is basically a one bedroom apartment (minus kitchen, but has a bar fridge and microwave, as well table for six) with 2 double futons and 2 bunkies for kids. Loved it from the minute we walked in. The whole accommodation is in pine, floor to ceiling and smells heavenly. It is clean, bright and very tastefully decorated. My husband and I enjoyed the comfort of the bedroom which is very big and has a wonderful view of the trees behind the motel. Ahh, I love the Thanksgiving colors! My married daughter and husband used the futon and my single adult child cozied up in a bunk enjoying the comfort in spite of the fact that she is 5'6" tall. The propane fireplace adjusted the heat in the loft maintaining a nice comfy temperature for the cool weather we experienced. Two Formula 1 fans rejoiced when they saw the big screen tv with cable, but were let down when F1 appeared on sport channel 2 instead of 1. We enjoyed the spaciousness of the Loft rather than being crammed into a couple of regular motel rooms. A big bonus at this motel is the club house which is a seperate building (below the Loft) and has a full kitchen and lounging area with games and if necessary a tv. Also a bonus when you have one bathroom and 5 adults is the seperate shower room from the toilet/sink area. When someone takes a shower then the bathroom is free for others to use. The owners are very accommodating and respond to all requests quickly. We can't wait to go back and are considering spending some time over Christmas at this motel. The location to the lake, hiking trails and all things good things in the north country is excellent.

Room Tip: All motel rooms are good and the owners have done extensive remodelling. If you need a little extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancebuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in the Cabin and we were pleased. The room was clean and the linens were too. The hosts were very welcoming and were always working on the property. They gave us towels for the beach when requested and were available most of the evening. There are a few good places to eat near by. The only problem was that only one window in the cabin had a screen, so we had to put the air conditioning on all night. I would have loved to open all the windows :)
All in all would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grhrb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were two families, our blankets were dirty one with a white substance dried curd fluid with some hair attached to that and the next one had some crashed food or biscuit on that. My friend sheet was not changed because there was some hair. It seems they don’t change and wash blankets and sheetes as often as other hotels or nice motels, but the room was clean, also they did not have phone in rooms, it is unacceptable for a motel or hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Behnaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandsMotel, Owner at The Highlands Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We were very surprised and puzzled by this review. Upon receiving it we immediately went and checked all our blankets in all the rooms, but were unable to find the stains the reviewer was referring to. It would certainly help if we knew which room the reviewer was staying in. As for the comment on the sheets, we would like to assure all our guests and future guests that we do not take any shortcuts when cleaning the rooms. We do not have a cleaning staff so we can personally ensure that the quality of the cleaning is there every time. The sheets are changed every single time without exception. As the reviewer states, they had two families staying with us at the same time. Between the two families (depending on the room configuration) that means about four to six beds. Although we try our best, we do not wear hairnets when changing the sheets so no matter how unfortunate this is it may have happened that there was a hair on one of the sheets. But close examination of all the other beds and the clean freshly laundered smell of the sheets should have been an indication to the reviewer that the beds were changed and the sheets were cleaned. It is hard to believe that two families would put up with dirty sheets and not approach the office about this problem. As the reviewer states the room was clean – we would certainly not put the work and effort into making sure that the rooms and bathrooms were spotless just to have our reputation tarnished by unchanged sheets.
There are no telephones in the rooms at The Highlands Motel. When we became owners of this place our priority was to upgrade and modernize all the rooms and all the buildings on the property. Since the majority of people seem to have cell phones now days, nobody really seems to be inconvenienced by the lack of phones in the rooms. Again we do not understand why the reviewer did not approach the office if he or she needed to make a telephone call. Guests are always welcome to use the office phone for local and even long distance calls at no charge of course. An “in case of emergency” telephone is located by the office entrance and it is available to all guests 24/7.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I was really sceptical about the too positive reviews and the nomination "Motel" for The Highlands, but both of them become unimportant upon arrival. The two host who purchased an old Motel 5 years ago and have converted it into something special making this place unique. Upon arrival they had prepared infos for us based on a brief phone call, and during our 4 day stay both helped us wherever posible.

In summary:
Location: next to Highway 35 and 10 min from Minden, a great restaurant is walking distance (Pepermill) and a small beach on the beautiful 12 Mile Lake is two minutes walking away.

Motel: We stayed in the loft with one bedroom and at least 4 additional places to sleep (two big sofas in the living room and two bunk beds for small children. The wooden made interior could not be more beautiful or romantic in a 5* lodge. I have not seen the double rooms but people seemed happy staying there.

What to expect and what not: It is not a resort or lodge but offeres pretty much the same in a more relaxed and personal way. Great for small families and people to explore the area.

Negatives: not many...only the shower can be challenging for bigger persons (at 6.4ft it was OK), some noise from H35 but this is the same for most establishment in this area.

We will definetely go back next year.

Room Tip: get the loft!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have stayed here 4 or 5 times and always find it excellent. We have stayed in the motel rooms and the cabin. The owners have worked hard to update the place. The rooms are attractive and clean. Lots of natural wood. Beautiful flowers blooming everywhere.
The owners are lovely people, friendly and helpful. There is also a rec lodge that guests can use, which we have enjoyed when we stayed here with family members.
Location is great right off highway 35 but you don't hear traffic. I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

you have a few choices going up to haliburton.resort and spa,or retro,back to more natural times,camping or family motel.and the highlands fits the latter.it has most modern amenities and a great laid back atmosphere.owned and operated by a very friendly and welcoming hungarian couple,paul and dora,you get that little flair of european know-how,simple,very clean accomodations at a very reasonable price.the motel is a short walk to the lake and you are in the centre of a great scenic area,easily within range of minden and haliburton village.and ,if this place wasn't homey enough,they have a cabin style clubhouse where you can prepare your own sit down meals from the bbq,or relax with games,a bar and additional tv, plus a relaxing gazebo where you can chill out and enjoy the quiet ambiance.

Room Tip: this is a small place with an additional cabin and a new loft and because it is a family business,th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
6.1 mi away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
6.5 mi away
Bonnie View Inn
Bonnie View Inn
#1 of 9 in Haliburton
206 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#3 of 9 in Haliburton
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Heather Lodge
Heather Lodge
#2 of 7 in Minden
185 reviews
7.0 mi away
Wild Swan Bed & Breakfast Inn
2.5 mi away
Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlands Motel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlands Motel & Lodge

Property: The Highlands Motel & Lodge
Address: 15102 Highway 35 1064 Omagaki Road | Haliburton Highlands, Minden, Ontario K0M 2K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Minden
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Minden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highlands Motel & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlands Motel is nestled in the heart of beautiful Haliburton Highlands just steps away from crystal clear 12 Mile Lake, about 10 minutes north of Minden and about 20 minutes east of Haliburton Village, located next door to the wonderful Peppermill restaurant. Clean cozy and comfortable rooms that come with 3 piece bath, fridge, satellite LCD TV, wireless high speed internet, air conditioning, queen, double or triple twin beds. All rooms are non smoking. The property also has a cozy one room cottage and a gorgeous Loft suite. Recreation hall with full kitchen, fire place, for gatherings, outdoor BBQs and fire pit. Access to a sandy beach of Twelve Mile Lake. Great restaurants nearby. Year round fishing. Snowmobilers - come off Trail # 8, park in front of your room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Highlands Motel & Lodge Minden, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing