We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place and value in the Minden/Carnarvon area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Highlands Motel & Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Minden B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great place to stay (I have been there with family and friends in all seasons). Clean, comfortable beds, good TV reception and fast internet connection, quiet, well maintained, outgoing, friendly owners, decent places to eat nearby year round. Owners keep on working constantly on their property improving this and that. Cottage (a great choice for up to 4) has its own fully equipped kitchen. Recreation cottage open to all guests is very spacious. It has a fully equipped kitchen (water currently runs slowly), Big TV with DVD player and a bar. Great for largish party, but in winter, the cottage is slow to heat up and could be a bit cold. The motel rooms and sleep-in cottage are fine year round. I have been coming to this area for a few years, staying in several places in different seasons. This is now the place I choose when I go there. The best value around in my view

Room Tip: Go for the Cabin if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pavel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 129 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

I've stayed here a number of times and always find it very clean, comfortable and safe. The rooms are spotless with satellite tv, wireless connection, a fridge and coffee for the morning. The property is well landscaped and lovingly looked after. Dora and Paul, the owners, are terrific and will do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable. I've stayed at other places in the area and without a doubt, this is the best.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This motel was the last available during thanksgiving WE. I have choosen it based on Tripadvisor review and it was a good choice.
The rooms are very clean and the bed are good
There is not any luxury but enough to have a good stay.
The owners are very nice and they indicate all the things you can do.
For Lunch you went to the Pond restaurant on the 35 north (2 km from motel) and for the dinner to the Pepper Mill (neighbor of the motel)
The trial proposed was difficult for my old parents so we went on little hawks lake to rent a boat at Oakview lodge (75$/hour + 250$ because I broke the propeler on the rocks)

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same and as described on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flocon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Great little place to stay. Very clean,comfortable beds, satellite tv,make a coffee in the morning in your room.Beautiful flowers everywhere. 12 mile lake is a short walk down the road.
I highly recommend this cozy little motel, with extra space in the lodge for all to use.
If you are in the area and need a place to stay overnight, do yourself a favor and stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosiehip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The reviews of this motel are totally accurate. The place is cute, clean, and hospitable.
The room with a double bed is small but has all the necessities. The entrance is very pretty, the lot attractive and being made even better by the owner who likes to landscape.
No frills, but a lot of loving care and a public kitchen/living room across the parking lot which I will use next time. The Peppermill restaurant practically next door is great too.
The price is right as the expression goes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianneOntarioCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Wonderful place to stay, owners are very friendly, motel has very comfortable beds, new tv, available high speed and coffee!

Next door ( in walking distance ) is the Pepper Mill for lunch or supper. We had supper there and the food was great!

Nice affordable getaway, great place to stay with a close by place for a good meal.

I forgot to mention, there is a beautiful beach within walking distance, was a real diamond in the rough!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Due to last-minute reservations, had to change rooms for a 2-night stay. Had the cabin first night - very private, small kitchenette, twin over double bunk and a regular double/queen? bed. Very clean, satellite tv, 5mbps internet. 2nd night, had a room in the motel, good lighting, two twin beds and clean, relatively modern bathroom and a small fridge.
Dora was very helpful with suggestions for restaurants in the area. Would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentEater666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
1.0 mi away
Red Umbrella Inn
Red Umbrella Inn
#3 of 8 in Minden
77 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
6.4 mi away
Bonnie View Inn
Bonnie View Inn
#1 of 9 in Haliburton
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#2 of 9 in Haliburton
53 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sunny Rock Bed and Breakfast Minden
2.5 mi away
Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlands Motel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlands Motel & Lodge

Address: 15102 Highway 35 1064 Omagaki Road | Haliburton Highlands, Minden, Ontario K0M 2K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Minden
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Minden
Price Range: $118 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highlands Motel & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlands Motel is nestled in the heart of beautiful Haliburton Highlands just steps away from crystal clear 12 Mile Lake, about 10 minutes north of Minden and about 20 minutes east of Haliburton Village, located next door to the wonderful Peppermill restaurant. Clean cozy and comfortable rooms that come with 3 piece bath, fridge, satellite LCD TV, wireless high speed internet, air conditioning, queen, double or triple twin beds. All rooms are non smoking. The property also has a cozy one room cottage and a gorgeous Loft suite. Recreation hall with full kitchen, fire place, for gatherings, outdoor BBQs and fire pit. Access to a sandy beach of Twelve Mile Lake. Great restaurants nearby. Year round fishing. Snowmobilers - come off Trail # 8, park in front of your room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Highlands Motel & Lodge Minden, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing