We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience”
Review of Red Umbrella Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Umbrella Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Minden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I was intentionally looking to room at heather lodge but accidently confused the two... I am pleased with the mistake and will be returning. it is quite, and beautiful. great food and scenery. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lily r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Umbrella I, Front Office Manager at Red Umbrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip advisor and thank you for trying us out. We are so glad you had a good time and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Red Umbrella Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 77 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were booked to stay a week, but left early due to boredom. There was only one other couple there and they left the next day. I admit it...we're an old married couple. Empty resort left us feeling empty. We went in the middle of August and the resort was a ghost town. The place was picturesque, peaceful , great food and service. Paddleboats, canoes and kayaks are all free to borrow. Dog friendly...our dog had the most fun of all of us, but of course, he wasn't the one paying. The lakeside cottage was a huge disappointment...just two rooms of beds (also 2 bathrooms). Would've been nicer to have a lakeside cottage with comfy couches (not just sitting chairs) and large windows to sit and overlook the lake.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleyDebSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Umbrella I, Front Office Manager at Red Umbrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

I would like to start by apologizing for disappointing you during your vacation and for making you feel like you had to lie to us when you left. We are quieter during the week as is cottage country itself. We try to cater to guests who are looking for a private getaway and are truly sorry that this atmosphere did not suit your needs. As for the cottage you booked it is generally a family cottage and is set up as such. We do try to give our guests as many details about the room as we can and are reviewing our room descriptions with our staff to rectify the problem. Thank you for taking the time to review The Red Umbrella Inn, we appreciate your input and suggestions and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our daughter's wedding was spectacular at Red Umbrella Inn! Our guests stayed at the Inn and were very well cared for. Ziad was extremely helpful and we could not have asked for anything more. Perfect setting, gorgeous sunset, amazing dock (where the ceremony was held), well manicured grounds, lots of parking, exceptional service and delicious brunch. We are very grateful to the entire team at Red Umbrella who went above and beyond to ensure that the event was perfect and that all the guests were well accommodated. Sincere appreciation to Red Umbrella and we would recommend the Inn to anyone looking for a lovely "get -away"

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teena b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Umbrella I, Front Office Manager at Red Umbrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review us Teena, we are so glad the wedding was exactly what you wanted and went off without a hitch. We loved having you all, it was truly a pleasure, and we all hope you stop by soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The owner (Ziad) is exceptionally helpful and willing to bend over backwards to ensure that everything was perfect for our wedding day. Guests were looked after and it felt like we were welcomed into his own family. His willingness to go the extra mile to make sure that everything was perfect included hiring an emergency electrician to rescue us from a band that was unable to communicate (the band was our fault). His willingness to help and do anything necessary to make sure our wedding went off without a hitch will not soon be forgotten. If you plan on getting married in the Minden/Haliburton area this is the place to do it!

Room Tip: The rooms along the lake have great lake views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shammule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Umbrella I, Front Office Manager at Red Umbrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us Sam. We are so glad you choose us for your wedding and that we helped make your wedding exactly what you wanted it to be. We truly enjoyed having you and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the Red Umbrella for a couple of days in July. We got a renovated lakeside cabin which was separated into two rooms (with an adjoining door), each with it's own very nice bathroom. We were right at the water's edge and the sunsets from there were breathtaking. The swimming was good, with nice warm shallow waters that go way out or a dock you can dive off. We didn't opt for the meal plan as it seemed a bit expense, but we ate breakfast there both mornings and the food is good. The only real issue was that our bed linens and towels were not replaced the whole time we were there (I'm sure if we'd asked they would have provided). Also, we seemed to be the only ones staying there, which felt a little odd. To summarize, it is a beautiful and comfortable resort, which I'm sure was a real going concern in its day. We would stay here again, but only for a day or two.

Room Tip: Ask for the "Lakeside" cabin, the others are further away from the water.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Umbrella I, Front Office Manager at Red Umbrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We would like to start by thanking you for adding those lovely pictures of the resort, your contribution is appreciated.We are glad you had a good time despite the quiet, this season we were rather quiet during the week. We do offer housekeeping by guest request, we try to cut down on our laundry and chemical use as much as we can. Living in the highlands makes you realize each person and business has to contribute to keeping area green. However we do apologize for not letting you know you had the option, we are reviewing this policy with our staff to make sure guests are made aware housekeeping is available by request. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Red Umbrella inn for 2 nights while attending an insurance ice fishing event. I must say the the Inn itself can use some upgrades, HOWEVER the staff was EXCELLENT. The owner makes you feel as if you are family. They totally catered to our needs. They could not have been more accommodating.

Although I have nothing to compare this place to, I had a great time. The owner kept the bar open till all hours for us.

The view was spectacular. I can only imagine how beautiful this place must be in the Spring/Summer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delre_Travel_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Spent two nights at the inn while working in Minden. The Inn was pretty much closed with the management meeting us to sign us in and then leaving for the night. Loved the serenity and the quiet. Can imagine that it is a great summer hotspot as it has a small beach and canoes etc. The front of the property has a large lawn with a fire pit and horseshoe pits right on the edge of 12 mile lake. Satellite TV and Wireless internet. Bed was comfy and had a fireplace but no wood for the fire .

Several restaurants within 10 kms to give you a choice of meals.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdb369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
6.4 mi away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
Heather Lodge
Heather Lodge
#2 of 7 in Minden
190 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#2 of 9 in Haliburton
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Bonnie View Inn
Bonnie View Inn
#1 of 9 in Haliburton
220 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sunny Rock Bed and Breakfast Minden
6.5 mi away
Dominion Hotel
Dominion Hotel
#7 of 8 in Minden
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Umbrella Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Umbrella Inn

Address: 1075 Red Umbrella Rd | Twelve Mile Lake, Minden, Ontario K0M 2K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Minden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Minden
Price Range: $125 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Umbrella Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Umbrella Inn is located just minutes north of Minden, Ontario in the heart of the Haliburton Highlands. Set amongst mature pines and birches on the shores of Twelve Mile Lake, the Red Umbrella Inn offers a wide range of accommodations enabling you to make the choices best suited to your needs. We are family oriented and dog friendly location. We pride ourselves on our hospitality and our reputation for outstanding food. Whenever you visit and for whatever reason, our friendly knowledgeable staff, beautiful surroundings and charming country dining will ensure you will never forget your stay at Red Umbrella Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Red Umbrella Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Umbrella Hotel Minden
Red Umbrella Inn Minden, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing