We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great!”
Review of Red Umbrella Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Umbrella Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Minden B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Just great!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here for two days at the end of July. An absolutely beautiful setting, great food and a staff that seems eager to bend over backwards to make you happy. Not ultra-luxury - more of a home away from home, but with a big deck overlooking the water, lawns and trees, big comfortable common rooms if it rains, gorgeous views and someone else doing the cooking! There were eight of us in four very different rooms - all great. Don't expect an urban Four Seasons - think country charm and you'll be very happy. Comfy beds with nice crisp linens, spotless bedrooms and bathrooms. Thanks to Z, Richard and the rest of the staff for a great family weekend. We'll be back one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalsaSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Umbrella I, Front Office Manager at Red Umbrella Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We are so glad your wedding went so well and that weather held out for you! All the work you, your families and friends put into it truly showed, it was all beautiful. Thank you for taking the time to review us and for choosing us to host your wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    17
    13
    0
    5
See reviews for
15
30
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here for one night last weekend. On arrival, the property and the location is excellent. View is exceptional and access to lake is easy. Sadly though, the room we were given was, well, left a lot to be desired. Basic one bed, outdated fridge and the carpet looked like the inside of a 70's dorm room. Some of the carpet had actually been cut and pieced together. The bathroom was laughable. An insert had been laid into the tub but the was still a gap of 18" to the ceiling that revealed unfinished concrete block that had not been caulked or filled at the edges. Whoever painted the washroom was blind with old colour showing through and the cutting in around the ceilings and baseboards was laughable. It just screamed tacky and also it screamed a careless attitude. There's a reason they do not show pictures of the rooms as if there were some on the website, we would not have stayed here for $175 a night. It is right off Hwy 35 and this is appropriate as paying what we did for one night was 'highway' robbery. If you're planning on staying in Minden, steer clear of the Red Umbrella. You can find other simple, basic and tacky layout in a simple motel and pay half the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stumbled upon this wonderful place for dinner just on the outskirts of Minden by accident. The Red Umbrella Inn is a lovely little place for dinner or for a weekend getaway. We were blown away by the service and the food. The Executive Chef Michael Chilvers is a genius in the kitchen and presented us with two incredible tasting steaks!! We also met the owner Ziad Halasah who made us feel right at home and was so pleasant. We highly recommend this place, we had the best time and our definitely coming back!! We're from Toronto and like a good steak once in awhile, but nothing tops the tasty food and ambiance at the Red Umbrella Inn!!

Enjoy!
Emma and Nick

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EmmaRose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

we visited at Easter, we stayed in the Jacuzzi Suite which is fully equiped. Very nice and clean (really good value if you plan to cook your own meals) a lttle pricy if you take the meal plan offered. the meals were very good and Chef Michael is eager to please. My one suggestion for the Sunday brunch is to add some healthy choices for those of us who do not wish to eat bacon, eggs etc. A selection of cereals, yogurt, seasonal fruit salad and toast would be nice. Green tea is very popular these days and I was surprised to see they charge extra for it. Otherwise, very friendly staff and the owner is working all hours to make the resort more appealing and comfortable for his guests.

Room Tip: Lakeview 2 adults with meal plan
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank patricia59ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Wonderful value. Our room (in the inn) was no frills, but cute and clean. The owners are friendly and eager to help but gave us plenty of space. The lake is beautiful and clean, and the swimming is fantastic. I understand that the new owners are updating -- we hope they keep it affordable!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_and_d59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
181 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed here a night to enjoy the fall colors in Algonquin and around. The ownership changed less than a year ago and the owner was working hard to update/upgrade the Inn. We stayed in one of the economy units which are in need of a significant refurbishment, but the service was great. The location is stunning, on a lake, with beautiful sunsets.

Dinner and breakfast are a great option, good value for money and tasty.

We will likely go back and see if the upgrades are being put through.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reisaapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The new owners have redone the water system, built new docks, added a lovely addition to the lakefront restaurant as well as a new deck for dining outdoors and are now beginning to redo the cabins and rooms, starting with new beds. My husband and I just spent two delightful days here, enjoying the sauna, hiking the trails with our dog and enjoying the peacefulness of the area. The highlights however, were the meals created for us by Michael, the new chef at the resort. You can choose to cook for yourself in the kitchenette in each unit (which we did the first night) or have Michael prepare breakfast or breakfast and dinner – our choice for the second day – and a good one it was. The meals were excellent - imaginatively prepared and presented and his creativity is evident. He buys locally as much as is possible and prefers fresh to frozen in his food sources. If you love to eat and love good food thi is the place to visit. The staff is friendly and helpful - this is a great place to get away from the stress and just relax. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marnie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
0.9 mi away
Heather Lodge
Heather Lodge
#2 of 7 in Minden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bonnie View Inn
Bonnie View Inn
#1 of 9 in Haliburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
6.4 mi away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Sunny Rock Bed and Breakfast Minden
6.5 mi away
Dominion Hotel
Dominion Hotel
#6 of 8 in Minden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Umbrella Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Umbrella Inn

Property: Red Umbrella Inn
Address: 1075 Red Umbrella Rd | Twelve Mile Lake, Minden, Ontario K0M 2K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Minden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Minden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Umbrella Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Umbrella Inn is located just minutes north of Minden, Ontario in the heart of the Haliburton Highlands. Set amongst mature pines and birches on the shores of Twelve Mile Lake, the Red Umbrella Inn offers a wide range of accommodations enabling you to make the choices best suited to your needs. We are family oriented and dog friendly location. We pride ourselves on our hospitality and our reputation for outstanding food. Whenever you visit and for whatever reason, our friendly knowledgeable staff, beautiful surroundings and charming country dining will ensure you will never forget your stay at Red Umbrella Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Red Umbrella Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Umbrella Hotel Minden
Red Umbrella Inn Minden, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing