We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heather Lodge is a GEM, would recommend to all Adults looking for a relaxing and romantic get away!!!!”
Review of Heather Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heather Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Heather Lodge is a GEM, would recommend to all Adults looking for a relaxing and romantic get away!!!!”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

The Lodge is run by a wonderful couple who made us feel like we were at a Bed and Breakfast with additional amenities. Room was beautiful and romantic with the very comfortable King Bed and in room fireplace with an amazing view of 12 Mile Lake!! Breakfast and Dinner were included and they were exceptional. Dining selections far exceeded our expectations with numerous choices and each dish was delicious and presented as any 5 star restaurant would serve! Service was great and warm. Will definitely return!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneMarie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    30
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
137
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2010

The lodge is on 12 mile lake, the views are 'the north', the birds & deer come by for seeds & salt. A true 4 season lodge, geared to adults, peacefull, quiet & enjoyable.
Their website is very accurate. See http://www.heatherlodge.com/. The real deal.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adregehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wainfleet
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2010

It was a quaint and relaxing place the dining room we loved the food was excellent and the hosts are very friendly and happy to accommodate .We will certainly go back. We plan to do this annually.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laur52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised at the high quality of this resort having made reservations sight unseen. We were impressed with the location and decor but mostly by the way we were treated by the hosts at this resort. The meals were execellent and all the facilities were first class.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marvin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We travelled to this location to relax. And relax we did. The resort was awesome; the lodge was beautiful and we enjoyed sitting in the lounge reading. We very much enjoyed sitting by the water and paddling around in the resort canoes. There was much to do in the area, from exploring the little towns to hiking the rapids and playing golf. The hosts, Arend and Connie, are the nicest people, amazing hosts; the dining was always pleasantly entertaining and the food amazing and plentiful. We will most certainly return. Sharon and Derek

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trips19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Wow, is all I can say about my husband and mines stay at Heather Lodge. Arend and Conny are such gracious hosts. They really do go out of their way to make you feel at home. We stayed in a lakeside room and loved waking up and having a cup of coffee on our balcony while looking out at the lake. The waterfront is gorgeous and there are numerous loungers to choose from. There are hiking trails, canoes to use, a boat we could rent, a hot tub and sauna that we could use. Oh and lets not forget the food. You have to try the mushroom chicken, it is my personal favourite.
The grounds are immaculate. And the pride of ownership is truly evident. Pictures alone do not do this place justice! It really was a great escape for my husband and I. Very quiet and relaxing. We can't wait to go back this winter and try the dog-sledding package or maybe the ski package. Who knows, maybe both, either way we are definite returning customers!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sahm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Heather Lodge for a short romantic getaway. Some of the experience was most enjoyable, but parts were not acceptable, making it an average 'okay' mini holiday.
Pros: The lodge is impeccably clean, well appointed and maintained. We stayed in the only Deluxe room which was very large and had beautiful furnishings (no fireplace however). The bed was excellent and there was a small balconey facing the woods and lake - giving a lovely view. The bathroom was exceptionally nice, very clean and modern. The main lodge building has lovely decks and the gardens and grounds are very pretty and also well landscaped and nice. Beautiful lamposts abound throughout the very small property. There are bird feeders near the decks and dining room which make for thoughtful enterainment if you enjoy nature. Our room also had a good flat screen TV with excellent satellite reception.

Cons: The lodge is located about two hundred feet from a noisy highway and you can see the highway from the very small waterfront area. Even sitting on my balconey facing the lake, I could hear the trucks roar by as well as noise from the cottagers all very close to the lodge. We saw a Lakeside room and it didn't look much better than a good quality motel room. The actual property is quite small and an unsightly marina is right next to the docks. The two waterfront docks have very steep ramps making them difficult to access if you want to sit there. There are many many steps everywhere, making Heather Lodge completely inaccessible to anyone disabled, and challenging to anyone with physical demands. The main lounge in the lodge is very dark - although the furnishings are lovely - and we found all the lighting generally very dim and dull. There is virtually nothing to do on site - a shuffleboard court sits right on top of the parking area - barely a hundred feet from the highway. We didn't use the hot tub ( a common one for all). The waterfront chairs were wet and unclean in the morning with no towels nearby to wipe them down. Meals: very average. The owners do all the cooking and cleaning and waitering. You must vacate your room between 10 -11:30 so they can do the housekeeping; you must have breakfast at 8-9 SHARP . There was no decaffinated coffee available and I was questioned about my choice in asking for this (very uncomfortable). There was one choice for dessert - ice cream the second night - so forget it if you can't have too much dairy. Your gratuity goes to the owners and it is automatically put on the bill - there is no 'staff' and no choice about gratuity.

Two nights and four meals at Heather lodge came to almost seven hundred dollars. The owners are pleasant and have certainly tried hard to maintain their lodge. However as far as hospitality - we were often told (even though we weren't soliciting an opinion)that our meal choices were strange eg "You don't want sausage? That's the best part!" "You can't have caffeine - I love caffeine!"...."Sit here - it's already set for you" (only two couples including us in the dining room. This made us feel rather awkward as opposed to 'welcomed'.

This review details our experience as best as possible. Heather Lodge in our opinion is very average, albeit a clean place. We would not return nor recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dray_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
9.0 mi away
Little Hawk Resort and Marina
Little Hawk Resort and Marina
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Highlands
45 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
6.6 mi away
Bonnie View Inn
Bonnie View Inn
#1 of 9 in Haliburton
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
#1 of 2 in Eagle Lake
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Umbrella Inn
Red Umbrella Inn
#4 of 8 in Minden
75 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#2 of 9 in Haliburton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heather Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heather Lodge

Property: Heather Lodge
Address: 14483 35 Hwy, Minden, Ontario K0M 2K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Minden
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Minden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heather Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heather Lodge is the perfect hideaway for adults wishing to step back, relax and enjoy the abundant natural beauty of the Haliburton Highlands. Heather Lodge is a quant, casual yet elegant resort, combining all the charm and ambiance of an old lodge with the luxury of a modern inn. Offering superb customer service, culinary delights with Chef James and an outdoor enthusiasts activities. Open year round, offering non-motorized waterfront activities in the summer and cross country skiis and snowshoes in the winter season. Twelve Mile Lake offers fantastic swimming and boating activities, adjoined to two other lakes with an enormous private deck seated with comfy chairs and bonefire. Close to many points of interests such as Haliburton Forest & Wildlife and Algonquin Park to just name a few. This couple resort offers guests a spectacular experience with each and every one of our guests. We invite you to experience Heather Lodge. Proud Members of Ontario's Finest Inns and Resorts of Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Heather Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heather Lodge Minden, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing