We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restorative, Peaceful, Beautiful, Friendly Lodge”
Review of Heather Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heather Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Arend and Conny Meiling, hosts of Heather Lodge provide a wonderful holiday experience. The meals are superb and the rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated. Heather Lodge is well maintained and is a gem found close to Minden in the Haliburton Highlands. My husband and I have stayed there four times and we plan to go again. We took my elderly parents for a week-end and they enjoyed themselves too. When I was undergoing active treatment for cancer my husband and I escaped from the routine of hospital visits and enjoyed a very restful and relaxing time at Heather Lodge. We were confident that I would remain "safe" at their Lodge. This year when we returned we were embraced by the Meilings as if we were family. Indeed, it is like home away from home, only better because your meals are made and your room is cleaned for you! We have never been disappointed and the opposite is true, we have always been well pleased. We look forward to returning to Heather Lodge each summer, we love it. The end of August 2010 I will be one year clear of cancer, the Meilings and Heather Lodge contributed to my successful recovery.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LangtryFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 193 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2010

We were first there 4 years ago in the summer and our review would have been the same as the ones posted already. We are headed back for an entire week on Friday, August 20. The place is immaculate, the food is excellent and included in the price of the room. It is quiet and peaceful, a perfect place for a quiet get away. There is much to do in the area in the summer with golf and cycling high on our list. Great place, try it out

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitched007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Connie and Aarond were fantastic hosts and we had an amazing summer getaway! The accomodations were gorgeous, clean, and well maintained. The atmosphere was peaceful and the landscape and view of the lake was breathtaking. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was fantastic. I would highly recommend Heather Lodge! We had a fantastic time and we had zero complaints!!!! we will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ward-quinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

The six of us have gone to Heather Lodge for 5 of the past 6 years for a winter weekend getaway. My husband and I tried it out in January 2005 and loved it so much that we decided this was the only place to spend our winter weekend getaway. Aaron and Connie are superb hosts and make your stay enjoyable in every way. The rooms are great - comfy and very tastefully decorated. The lounge is so cozy with the fire and big comfy chairs for reading or playing games. The scenery is picturesque, with lots of birds flying in for their dinner. If you're lucky, you may even see deer walking across the back at dusk. You can snowshoe right from the back door, or enjoy any of the trails close by. Last year the lake did not freeze enough to go skating, but we were lucky to find an outdoor skating rink in a nearby town which was great. There aren't a lot of rooms, which makes this a quaint spot. We say it's the best kept secret!!!! We haven't stayed here in the summer or fall, as we usually camp at that time of year, but one of these days we will because we know it will be awesome. I don't know how anyone can be disappointed with their stay with Connie and Aaron!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PTCruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lsv64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer mit Seesicht buchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Esther R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
9.0 mi away
Little Hawk Resort & Marina
Little Hawk Resort & Marina
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Highlands
47 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
6.6 mi away
Bonnie View Inn
Bonnie View Inn
#1 of 9 in Haliburton
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Red Umbrella Inn
Red Umbrella Inn
#4 of 8 in Minden
77 reviews
13.9 mi away
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
#1 of 1 in Eagle Lake
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heather Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heather Lodge

Address: 14483 35 Hwy, Minden, Ontario K0M 2K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Minden
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Minden
Price Range: $163 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heather Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heather Lodge is the perfect hideaway for adults wishing to step back, relax and enjoy the abundant natural beauty of the Haliburton Highlands. Heather Lodge is a quant, casual yet elegant resort, combining all the charm and ambiance of an old lodge with the luxury of a modern inn. Offering superb customer service, culinary delights with Chef James and an outdoor enthusiasts activities. Open year round, offering non-motorized waterfront activities in the summer and cross country skiis and snowshoes in the winter season. Twelve Mile Lake offers fantastic swimming and boating activities, adjoined to two other lakes with an enormous private deck seated with comfy chairs and bonefire. Close to many points of interests such as Haliburton Forest & Wildlife and Algonquin Park to just name a few. This couple resort offers guests a spectacular experience with each and every one of our guests. We invite you to experience Heather Lodge. Proud Members of Ontario's Finest Inns and Resorts of Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Heather Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heather Lodge Minden, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing