We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended! Delicious food and beautiful lodge.”
Review of Heather Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heather Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have now been to Heather lodge 4 times - in the past two years! My husband and I love Haliburton in the winter and Heather Lodge is our favourite winter getaway! Our room had our own fireplace with a beautiful view overlooking the lake. And the food was terrific. I just returned from a ‘girls’ weekend (6 of us) at Heather Lodge, and, yet again, it was wonderful - the lodge building is a classic, cosy wilderness lodge, with big stone fireplace, rustic furnishings and the diningroom facing the lake. Maria was very helpful in making us feel welcome, and even phoned ahead for us when we ventured out to other locations around Haliburton. This is a great base-camp for Haliburton adventures - we returned from our afternoon snow-shoe hike to enjoy a nice hot-tub and sauna, then sat down to a beautifully prepared, delicous dinner by chef James, before settling in to share stories and some spirits around the stone fireplace. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Lake view room on the second floor has a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 195 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

From the time we pulled in to the very first greeting everything felt perfect. James and Maria are excellent, hard working hosts! Very comfortable, DELICIOUS food and friendly as family! Can't wait to go in the summer too!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

What a fantastic place for a getaway!

Maria and James, the new owners of Heather Lodge, were extraordinarily welcoming and accommodating. Maria was a gracious hostess, server, and source of local information, while James concocted the best dinner I have ever had - a four course meal, each course being fresh, hot, and sumptuous (from a wide range of options, I selected: roasted potato and garlic soup; Camembert fritter with raspberries; prime rib, mashed potatoes, and asparagus; and, chocolate truffle).

It may sound too good to be true, but this was honestly an exceptional experience! I will certainly be recommending Heather Lodge to anyone travelling to Minden or Haliburton. Best wishes to James and Maria on their new venture!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgrif081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Relaxed & friendly Maria greeted us at the door upon our arrival and gave us a tour of this beautifully appointed 1940's rustic lakeside lodge. Renovated to modern standards the rooms were spacious, clean and very nicely decorated. Ours had a lovely second story lake view, balcony, comfortable chairs for sitting inside and out, a real fire place where we enjoyed the convenient easy-to-light 'log' and comfortable king size bed - all made for a very pleasant home away from home. AND, James created a most enjoyable and memorable dining experience! Fond memories were made. This establishment is working very hard to please.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I happily found Heather Lodge as we were looking for suitable accommodations near Minden in order to attend "A Different Way: Rug Hooking Exhibition" currently at the Agnes Jamieson Gallery. The lodge was recently taken over by new owners, Maria and James, and is a short drive, 10 minutes or less, from Minden.
Maria is incredibly accommodating and after speaking to her a couple of times, before booking, and then staying at the lodge it's clear why she is so well suited to the hospitality business.
The setting is beautiful and the view from the dining room is a visual treat.
James is the lodges' chef who cooks classic, hearty and well prepared meals. The four course dinner menu, on our visit, had a soup, three salads, three appetizers, five entrees and is considerate of vegetarians.
The Field Tomato and Asiago Soup with cream was flavourful. I chose the Camembert fritter raspberry and current coulis was a terrific tart counter balance to the rich cheese. Saturday nights' striploin, sitting on nicely done mashed potatoes, was sided with lightly battered homemade onion "fries" and locally sourced heirloom carrots. We chose the fruit plate and red velvet cake for dessert. Both of which were a welcome finish to a rich meal. The only suggestion I would offer is to reduce the salt, in this instance, on the steak and soup. Food was of high quality and beyond what one would expect in these type of establishments.
The rooms are very clean, spacious and comfortable and have a working fireplace. One artificial log is provided and additional ones can be purchased at the front desk. Each room has a well sized balcony to sit out at and admire the view. An indoor hot tub and sauna add to the experience at Heather Lodge and especially welcome on a soggy January weekend.
All in all a terrific experience and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foodie2758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed at this facility with some family. The title basically sums up the week-end. Though it has been there for many years and I have been visiting this area for many years, this was my first time staying here. I understand it is under new ownership. Our hosts were these new owners, Maria and James. They were attentive to our every need/wish and went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and looked after. As the new owners, I think you are perfectly suited to this type of business. I think you will be a smashing sccess and I wish you nothing but good fortune.

As well as being great hosts, Maria and James provided us great accommodations, the rooms were clean, comfortable, and well decorated with a fantastic view of 12 Mile Lake. Lots of clean towels and little extras. Wifi worked great. The lodge area was spacious, comfortable, and well equipped, a nice fire was going, even a pool table is included!

As for the dining experience, well, it was amazing. James is a great chef. We were a party of 11 for supper.....there was a good selection to choose from and everything that was served was well prepared, well presented, and delicious. Maria excels here as well, she is very personable and works very hard at looking after every detail and making sure everyone is happy.

All in all, this was a great experience. There was nothing lacking....absolutely nothing. And, we were thanked profusely upon checkout for staying at their facility. They asked many times if everything was OK and if we had enjoyed ourselves. Thank you Maria and James, you are certainly credits to your professions and wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Heather Lodge for a recent meeting. Room was beautiful and comfortable with a great view. The food for dinner, breakfast and lunch was absolutely incredible. I never expected this high quality although I should have once I found out about the owners previous reputation! Meeting area was very professional and would be great for banquets. Common room was also exquisite, both very authentic and welcoming. I look forward to just coming to visit the area for a holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank byron h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
0.9 mi away
Red Umbrella Inn
Red Umbrella Inn
#4 of 8 in Minden
77 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
6.6 mi away
Bonnie View Inn
Bonnie View Inn
#1 of 9 in Haliburton
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake
13.9 mi away
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
#1 of 1 in Eagle Lake
341 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#2 of 9 in Haliburton
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heather Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heather Lodge

Address: 14483 35 Hwy, Minden, Ontario K0M 2K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Minden
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Minden
Price Range: $158 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heather Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heather Lodge is the perfect hideaway for adults wishing to step back, relax and enjoy the abundant natural beauty of the Haliburton Highlands. Heather Lodge is a quant, casual yet elegant resort, combining all the charm and ambiance of an old lodge with the luxury of a modern inn. Offering superb customer service, culinary delights with Chef James and an outdoor enthusiasts activities. Open year round, offering non-motorized waterfront activities in the summer and cross country skiis and snowshoes in the winter season. Twelve Mile Lake offers fantastic swimming and boating activities, adjoined to two other lakes with an enormous private deck seated with comfy chairs and bonefire. Close to many points of interests such as Haliburton Forest & Wildlife and Algonquin Park to just name a few. This couple resort offers guests a spectacular experience with each and every one of our guests. We invite you to experience Heather Lodge. Proud Members of Ontario's Finest Inns and Resorts of Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Heather Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heather Lodge Minden, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing