We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Fall Colours!”
Review of Heather Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heather Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Fall Colours!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was our second visit to Heather Lodge this past weekend for a little get-a-way. What amazing Fall Colours on the property as well as all around 12 Mile Lake. The views from the upper deck overlooking the lake were so tranquil. We sat for quite sometime taking in all the sights and sounds of what this beautiful lodge has to offer!
Wonderful hosts, very gracious and accommodating. Lovely accommodations, well kept appointed rooms with great views. So many choices for breakfast, fresh assortment of fruit on tables and meals deliciously prepared!
We are so glad we were able to experience this property once again this year. We look forward to visiting in the New Year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    29
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
135
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband & I, and my in-laws enjoyed our overnight accommodation & dining package at Heather Lodge. Beautiful appointed rooms had a fireplace and a deck looking past the bird feeders, over the grounds & to the lakefront. Our gracious hosts confirmed our dinner reservation upon arrival & reminded us they have no liquor license & directed us 5 mins up the road to the lcbo for wine to bring to the table with dinner. That was super. After a delicious meal we sat in the over stuffed chairs in the sitting area and chatted for ages. Later my husband & I used the hot tub & sauna. Next time I hope we can stay longer and we'll remember to bring pack the wine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip-and-Chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just spent an amazing awesome weekend at Heather Lodge again. Aren and Connie are the best and just when we think they couldn't make our stay any better, they did. We feel so special. That is a great feeling. This time we brought my 87-year old mother and she was so happy and impressed with everything. I have never seen my mom eat so happily and not a single complaint. Everything is top notch - 5-star, the rooms, the service, the food and the view. We highly recommend Heather Lodge. We also met some very lovely couples here. Everyone is very interesting and loves the resort. I particularly love all the plants and flowers on the property. You can tell they are loved. Other visitors also loved them very much. Beauty is everywhere at Heather Lodge. Giles and I will always look forward to coming back. Hopefully to book for a longer stay.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, the rooms are well equipped and very clean. It helps if you ask specificall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bushliewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We just got back from a one night stay at the lodge and will are already planning a trip back! The owners are so friendly and accomadating and make you feel welcome as soon as you step in the door. We didnt get to enjoy everything that the lodge has to offer because we were in Minden for a wedding but what we did see was great! The breakfast was typical with fresh fruit and the usual pancakes, eggs, or french toast. My only complaint about the resort and it was my fault for not paying attention is a resort gratuity is already added to your bill so you dont need to tip at the table. And to leave the review on a plus side both me and my husband fell in love with the bed and are on our way to purchase the same topper tonight!

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The owners are very lovely. The resort has facilities which are not that crowded, mostly available. Good breakfast and clean place worth for money. A must stay for couples and family.
We would definitively visit that place again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RjWrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Heather Lodge for our 35 wedding anniversary and had a great time. It was the perfect place to relax. The food was fantastic and the owners are very nice. It is amazing how hard they work to make your stay fun and memorable. The lake is very nice. We rented their fishing boat for 3 days that allowed us to ride around the lake. This was a great get away and I would recommend it to anyone that wants to get some peace and quite and just enjoy themselves. We stayed in the deluxe suite with a two person jacuzzi tub. It was well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our second stay at Heather Lodge. Once again, it was amazing. We had the full meal plan again and the food was very good. The hosts, Connie and Arend, are very welcoming. If your idea of a vacation is reading a good book in a northern landscape, then this is for you!!! We will definitely be returning! Thank you Connie and Arend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patnmkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
6.6 mi away
Bonnie View Inn
Bonnie View Inn
#1 of 9 in Haliburton
204 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
14.0 mi away
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
#1 of 2 in Eagle Lake
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake
8.1 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#3 of 9 in Haliburton
48 reviews
8.9 mi away
Oakview Lodge & Marina
Oakview Lodge & Marina
#2 of 4 in Algonquin Highlands
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heather Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heather Lodge

Property: Heather Lodge
Address: 14483 35 Hwy, Minden, Ontario K0M 2K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Minden
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Minden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heather Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heather Lodge is the perfect hideaway for adults wishing to step back, relax and enjoy the abundant natural beauty of the Haliburton Highlands. Heather Lodge is a quant, casual yet elegant resort, combining all the charm and ambiance of an old lodge with the luxury of a modern inn. Offering superb customer service, culinary delights with Chef James and an outdoor enthusiasts activities. Open year round, offering non-motorized waterfront activities in the summer and cross country skiis and snowshoes in the winter season. Twelve Mile Lake offers fantastic swimming and boating activities, adjoined to two other lakes with an enormous private deck seated with comfy chairs and bonefire. Close to many points of interests such as Haliburton Forest & Wildlife and Algonquin Park to just name a few. This couple resort offers guests a spectacular experience with each and every one of our guests. We invite you to experience Heather Lodge. Proud Members of Ontario's Finest Inns and Resorts of Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Heather Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heather Lodge Minden, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing