We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter weekend family get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winter weekend family get away”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at Ogopogo resort. We went with family and friends for a weekend away at the end of March. The hosts, Todd and kathy were lovely, friendly, helpful and very accomodating. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage and there was lots of room for us and our three kids, the cottage sleeps up to 7 people. The cottage was super clean and well equipped, we simply needed to bring our clothes, everything else was provided. Each cottage had a welcoming fireplace and two person jacuzzi, a good sized porch, barbeque and picnic tables. The furnishings were new, the pull out couch with memory foam mattress was only two weeks old. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped, with a full size stove, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, kettle, etc. The resort had several fun activities on offer, including ice fishing, hockey on the rink Todd had made on the lake, snowmobile ride and we all enjoyed snowshoeing around the lake too, very pretty! The cottage had satellite tv and wifi as well as a dvd player and a dvd library at the office. Family board games and info about local activities were readily available at the office. Kathy was very helpful regarding booking a restaurant in the area for a birthday meal and for info regarding the various activities nearby. The wolf centre at Haliburton Forest was amazing and I would highly recommend it. We're hoping to go back in the Fall to enjoy some canoeing, campfires, and hopefully visit the wolf cubs.

Room Tip: Two honeymoon cottages were being renovated while we were there, they are located right on the edge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerOgopogoResort, Owner at Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
We are so glad that your two families chose Ogopogo to celebrate a birthday celebration. It was great to see your family enjoying each other and the natural surroundings together. We have seen it time and time again that getting away and doing activities together is great for family bonding. Thank you so much for your kind comments, noticing the new furniture and really pleased that you will try us out again in the fall. It is absolutely beautiful here in the fall as the leaf colors reflect on the water, evening bond fires are nice and cozy under the stars and there just appears to be a sense of calm. We look forward to having you back anytime! Thanks again K&T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
105
58
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Awesome hosts, very friendly and helpful. The cottage we stayed in had everything you need, very clean and very well equipped. Will probably go back another season to get a different experience.
We went the last weekend of March '14 so had the "winter" experience; there's hockey and skating on the lake, snow shoeing, ice fishing, easy access for your snowmobile.
Wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TykeToMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerOgopogoResort, Owner at Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We would love to have you back to enjoy another season. Our inground pool will be ready for your enjoyment on and after the May long weekend along with canoes and kayaks to enjoy paddling in the lake. Fall is also another great season at Ogopogo with the fall leaf colors reflecting on the lake and evening campfires to keep you toasty warm. Thanks so much for taking time to share your experience......we truly appreciate that you chose Ogopogo for your getaway! K&T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I highly recommend a couple's retreat in this very accommodating resort with genuine owners that care. Occupying the honeymoon cabin, we immediately noticed the warmth of the cabin and all its amenities (including the easy listening music playing and fireplace, upon our arrival). Very clean, cosy and modern with everything one would need. The location is perfect for winter sport enthusiasts looking for skiing, skating, snoeshowing, tobogganing and great ice-fishing, most of which are right on site. Active lake with white fish, a variety of trout and other game fish. Towns of Minden and Haliburton are easy drives with enough dining choices for anyone, though having our own high quality gas BBQ, we enjoyed dinners at the cabin. With the wonderful experience we had in March 2014, we can see ourselves back for a summer excursion on Mountain Lake.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 09Dave68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerOgopogoResort, Owner at Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed review and your comments about our pride of ownership. As new owners we are enjoying all that the resort has to offer from its beautiful surroundings, the great things to do that you referenced along with meeting wonderful couples like yourself. We dont take any of it for granted and so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. Please book soon if interested for summer as we have only one cottage available in August with some availability in July and June. Thanks again and we welcome you back anytime K&T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Exceeded our expectations. Linens, bedding and towels were first rate. Furnishing were lovely. Gas fireplace was very welcome. Owners Todd and Katherine were very welcoming and helpful regarding restaurants and activities in the area. We have already booked for a one week stay in the early fall season and do plan to go in May or June as this crazy Canadian weather allows. Superb location and great hosts. We are almost sorry to tell you about this treasure. Maybe too many people will come to appreciate it and it will become too popular!
Olga & Frank VZ

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerOgopogoResort, Owner at Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We are so looking forward to your return visit! Thank you so much for your very kind words and for noticing all the details. Thanks again and see you soon. K&T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Owners went above and beyond to make our stay great! Katherine greeted us with warm hospitality and checked in to make sure things were good and if there was anything else that she could do to make our stay even better.

The cottages were very nice and clean and stocked with whatever we needed. We had two 3 bedroom cottages and we were a total of 10 ladies. The space was perfect for us. The beds were very comfortable.

This was our 1st Annual GO Train Girls Weekend Get A Way. We brought our own food and had more than enough equipment in the kitchen to handle our meal choices. We were provided with local restaurant menus, but never ended up going anywhere due to the amount of food that we took up for a one night stay….

Todd had cleared the snow off the lake for us to skate, but we never made it down. Thanks Todd!

I’m confident that our 2nd Annual GO Train Girls weekend is already being planned back up at Ogopogo Resort. Thanks Katherine and Todd!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerOgopogoResort, Owner at Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
The Go Train girls came and went...........and I know what goes on at Ogopogo stays at Ogopogo!!! You certainly had a blast and it is so nice to see a group of ladies that really love and enjoy each other's company. Thank you so much for choosing Ogopogo to create your winter retreat memories! All the best K&T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you want a great location, perfect setting and a great host...then you need to visit Ogopogo Resort!!! Myself and 9 of my favorite ladies visited the Ogopogo this past weekend....We had a relaxing day and evening in the comfort of our cottage with the fresh snow all around us. We were warmly greated by Katherine (the owner) and personally escorted to our cabins. The cabins are modern and very well kept. Thank you Ogopogo for your personalized attention, the Go Train Girls will be seeing you again!

Room Tip: The cabins all have excellent views,,,but the ones closest to the water are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerOgopogoResort, Owner at Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
It was our pleasure to host your girls weekend away and we feel honored that you selected Ogopogo! You girls certainly had a hoot and enjoyed each other's company to the max.........we love being part of memories and good times. Thanks again and maybe next time come during warmer months to enjoy the campfire...........we can just envision the stories! K&T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My 5 year old son has wanted to go ice fishing for a couple years now, but I've never done it and couldn't clean a fish to save my life. When I called Ogopogo the owner (Todd) was very accommodating, offering to teach us, and even clean the fish if we caught anything. My son caught a 15.5" lake trout in just 10 minutes! Todd even provided us with the seasoning to fry it up - Yum. After that we enjoyed our time relaxing in the modern, clean and comfortable cabin, snowshoeing around the large property, and playing hockey on the ice. I expected my hyper son to get bored quickly, but he really enjoyed every aspect of it - we found the setting very peaceful inside and out. The staff was incredibly hospitable and friendly. We look forward to returning again - maybe for a summer holiday, and definitely for more of that great lake trout!

Room Tip: The bed in the cabin was amazing, and fully equipped with everything we needed. We brought our own p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan_LeBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerOgopogoResort, Owner at Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
I have to say I was shocked when we caught a fish so quickly and it was so worth while being there for the smile on Alexander's face! I am glad that you had some great mom and son bonding time and hope that you will return again to visit us in other seasons. Thank you so much for taking time to write a review.....we sincerely appreciate it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
9.6 mi away
Little Hawk Resort and Marina
Little Hawk Resort and Marina
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bonnie View Inn
Bonnie View Inn
#1 of 9 in Haliburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
6.8 mi away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heather Lodge
Heather Lodge
#2 of 7 in Minden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
7.0 mi away
Halimar Resort
Halimar Resort
#6 of 9 in Haliburton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
#1 of 2 in Eagle Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake

Property: Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake
Address: 1023 Ogopogo Lane, Minden, Ontario K0M 2K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Minden
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Minden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogopogo is a four season family resort that offers 8 cottages that are equipped with full kitchens, stainless steel barbeques, porches and gas fireplaces. We offer activities in all seasons and our property is surrounded by beautiful nature on Mountain Lake ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ogopogo Resort On Mountain Lake Hotel Minden
Ogopogo Resort On Mountain Lake Minden, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing