We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good atmosphere, good food, would recommend.”
Review of Del Borgo

Del Borgo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very good atmosphere, good food, would recommend.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I liked the food , altough the taste was not something surprising , I ordered pasta so I couldnt expect much, the steak was very good , and the chips were very original! I loved the wine as well, never tasted such wine and was totally worth the 20 quit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elina85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    71
    33
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very average food”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Not sure why everyone rates this quite highly. It is obviously a very popular place is fairly busy but we found the Food very average although my husband had a steak and said it was quite good but our mixed anti pasta platter was uninspiring, my pasta was not wonderful and the service was average. We wouldn't go back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbararog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing, considering other glowing reviews”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

It has a pleasant atmosphere and polite and friendly staff, but my meal was very disappointing, especially in the light of these positive reviews. I had Bragioli, which is Maltese beef olives. Now I've never had it before so perhaps this is how it's supposed to be, but I found it very bland and what little flavour it had was unpleasant. It tasted like it was fried in old oil and had nothing added to impart any taste. It was doubly disappointing since the waiter had said "oh that's a very traditional Maltese dish cooked in a tomato sauce." There was no evidence of that. My wife volunteered to swap some for a share of her pork ribs, which were very nice, and she agreed totally with my opinion. When the waiter asked if I had enjoyed it I told him what I thought and he said he would pass it on, but no adjustment was made to the bill. We're in the town for a few more days, but we're certainly not going back there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good wine, doubtful pricing”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

A cosy place with nice food and good wine, but not perfect. Service was rather slow and we had to go to the counter to ask for menu one more time. How ether, we were the only visitors and spent there quite a long tome, so it could be understood. We asked the waiter to recommend us some local wine; he told us he had some nice wine, not mentioned in the menu yet, which cost around 25€. This Gozo wine was really very good, but when we got the bill, it counted for 32€. Be ware of such unpleasant surprises.

Helpful?
Thank Tatiana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a treasure of a place.”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were passing through Vittoriosa when my friends son complained that he was very hungry. We had picked him up from school about an hour before so I couldn't blame him.
We stopped at Del Borg and I wished I hadn't eaten earlier in the afternoon as it is the most delightful place tucked away in St Dominic Street. I had an ice cream and a coffee but I won't make that mistake again.
It's on my 'definite to visit' list for a meal next time I go to Malta.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djrose007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Borgo also viewed

Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta
 
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta
 

Been to Del Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing