We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“the ally bigue”
other travelers have booked this property
Alfie's Place AT The Alley" Facade 01
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alfie's Place AT The Alley" Facade 01
Alfie's Place AT The Alley" Facade 02 Alfie;s Place AT The Alley Facade 03
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Alfie's Place AT The Alley" Facade 01
Alfie's Place AT The Alley" Facade 02
Alfie;s Place AT The Alley Facade 03
Alfie's Place AT The Alley; Facade 04
Trieq Il Lunzjata / Lunzjata street 01
Trieq Il Lunzjata / Lunzjata street 02
St Dominic's Church at end of Street less than 10 Meters Away
On Right Hand Side of the street are the Historic walls of the Inquisitor Palace
Living Room Upon Entry from front Door.
Living Room
Living Room
Arched Ceiling in Living Room 01
Arched Ceiling in Living Room 02
Arched Ceiling in Living Room 03
Living Room
Kitchen / Dining Room 01
Kitchen / Dining Room 02
Kitchen / Dining Room 03
Kitchen / Dining Room 04
Kitchen / Dining Room 05
Kitchen / Dining Arched Ceiling
Main Bedroom on Ground Floor 01
Main Bedroom on Ground Floor 02
Main Bedroom on Ground Floor 03
Main Bedroom on Ground Floor 04
Ensuite @ Main Bedroom on Ground Floor
Yard's Glass Top Ceiling Fitted with lights
Yard's Glass Top Ceiling
Start of Wooden Clad Stairs from Ground Floor.to 2nd Bedroom on 1st Floor
Outside 2nd Bedroom on 1st Floor.
Wooden Clad Stairs Outside 2nd Bedroom on 1st Floor
2nd Bedroom on 1st Floor
2nd Bedroom on1st Floor
2nd Bedroom's En-Suite (Toilet & Basin) & Another Wooden Clad Stairs leading to 2nd Floor Roof Level
Roof Level Landng @ 2nd Floor fitted with Kitchen Sink Cupboard
Out Door Setting on Roof at 2nd Floor
Your Host Alfred Fino
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Roma G
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“the ally bigue”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

we had an amazing stay at the ally Alfie the owner is a great person will do anything for you even picked us up from the airport. we have never stayed anywhere like it .lovely little sun trap on the roof .would we stay there again yes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2017
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review for me.

I am glad both of you enjoyed your stay and "The Alley" meet you needs and expectations.

Look after yourselves and look fwd to see you in the future.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2017
Hi Gary, thanks you for you review and been great getting to know you, your friends and your family.

Glad you all like The Alley and Birgu.

Wish i could have accommodated you for the extension of your stay. I sure hope to see you again in the future.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lancashir...
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Place in Malta”
Reviewed December 9, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Well just spent another 2 glorious weeks at The Alley in Birgu and as always Alfie was as ever the best host anyone could hope for the guy is a gem nothing is ever too much trouble if something breaks its fixed asap if you need anything at all however small or large hes there one of lifes special people which is why we now never go anywhere else The house is always spotless equipped with all you need for a fantastic trouble free holiday and he goes that extra mile to buy you essentials like milk bread butter cheese etc etc I could write forever about this place The Alley in Birgu but to some it up in a few words IT IS SIMPLE THE BEST

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2016
Thank you for such a great Review, always appreciated. but most importantly for me is you had a great time and enjoyed your stay and that goes for every visitor that stays with me.

Look Fwd to see you back in Malta in February.

In the meantime Have a Merry Christmas and a happy New year

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenCarys
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Characterful house in first class location”
Reviewed November 30, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Second 2 week stay at the Alley.Alfie is very likeable and an extremely helpful host.The house is situated in the old quarter which is practically traffic free ,3mins walk from the square and the bus to Valletta.We choose to use the ferry across Grand Harbour a brilliant boat journey and 10 euros for 7 days unlimited use.Both Birgu and Valletta hava very interesting history,I would recommend reading Ernle Bradford 'The Great Seige' and James Holland on Maltas travails in the Second World War.Makes one appreciate what the Maltese have been through and visualise the huge events that happened in and around Grand Harbour.Was a very good base for exploring the rest of Malta.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Atmospheric and Alfie who was unfailingly helpful
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words, It was an absolute pleasure having you back, You will always be welcomed.

I am glad the rain did not spoil your stay and certainly made the most of it.

I certainly hope will see you again in the future as we have a lot of conversations to finish :)

Thank you ones again and all the best for the festive season,

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: It's in need of a really good clean - floors, drawers, cupboards, shower etc.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2016
Thank you for your Comments and was a pleasure having you here. Glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you back.

I have checked the place before your check in and look clean and tidy but I will take your comments on board and keep an eye on it.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
_mpicksto...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In the words of Mary Poppins 'Practically Perfect in Every Way!'”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Oozing Maltese tradition this beautiful house nestles just inside the ancient town of Birgu, where we spent a delightfully relaxing 2 weeks in October.
Our 'tweets' of the day were not some exotic specimen of bird life, oh no, the noises we eagerly tuned into were the claxon like horns announcing to the village square the arrival of the bread van full of freshly baked Maltese bread, or the fruit & veg van groaning with local produce; tomatoes as sweet as strawberries and mouth watering melons. Even the 'bells' became our welcomed soundtrack. What the church bells lacked in tune, was more than compensated by the apparent joyous enthusiasm of the bell ringers!!
A town full of history, excellent restaurant's and a fantastic view of bobbing yachts from the harbour key side, no better way to relax and chill out!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2016
Thank you for for such a great review and the Title is certainly one of a kind:) Glad you all enjoyed your stay and felt relaxed in Birgu.

Look forward to see you all back in May.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joleeBrad...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Full of charm and character- (both accommodation and host !)”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here for one week mid-September, before going on to Marsaskala for 2 weeks.
This place is a true gem, in a quaint old street, it was a fantastic experience to stay there.
The place looks small from the outside, but it is surprisingly spacious once you are in side. The large living room is tastefully decorated, (I loved the wall lamp feature), and the kitchen has everything you need should you decide to eat in. We only did this once as there are plenty of reasonably priced eateries in Birgu, one called, D Centre, just 2 minutes walk away, which is excellent.
The main bedroom is lovely, and has an en suite shower and toilet.
Upstairs is another bedroom with 2 single beds and a toilet/sink, in a room next to this.
Up again is a small space on the roof with tables and chairs, we used to sit here at night with a bottle of wine.
Alfie, the host is a lovely guy, who will go out of his way to make sure your holiday is a good one, nothing is too much trouble. From booking the apartment, to arriving there, and even during our visit, communication was first class.
I definitely would like to return to Birgu, it is a beautiful old place, and if I do I would stay at Alfie's ! I recommend this 100%.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact we were staying in such a beautiful old property
Liked least: Coming home !!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
What can I say, a big thank you for one special review and i am so glad you and your family liked both Places.
It was an absolute pleasure meeting you and your family and certainly love to see you all again in Malta when you are ready.
Thank you also for leaving both Places spotless it really make life a lot easier.

Take care and speak soon
Alfred Fino
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing