We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Alfies Place”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Alfie's Place

Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October) Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
118 reviews
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October)
Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Facade
Facade
Facade
Eat in kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Your Host - Alfred Fino
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 118 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Alfies Place”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Alfies place is in a good location in Birgu, close to the main square, few shops, bars, restaurants and near the marina, more restaurants. The property was clean and well presented. A large, lovely comfortable bed to fall into at the end of the day. The furniture, furnishings, equipment were of good quality, lovely bathroom. We missed not being able to sit outside to enjoy a cuppa or the odd glass but this didn't spoil it for us. Alfie is one of the best owners we have met, nothing was too much trouble for him and we are sure that if there had been any problem he would have done his very best to rectify it.

A good place to stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2016
Hi Thank you so much for your kind words, was lovely having you both and really enjoyed our conversation, Glad you liked the place and felt comfortable in it. Certainly hope to see you again in the future.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 19, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the area
Liked least: no comfy chairs to sit on downstairs
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure having you both here.

Certainly hope to see you again in the future.

Alfred Fino
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
joleeBrad...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Small but perfect !”
Reviewed October 8, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Alfies at the Alley, my daughter stayed here, at Alfie's Place. I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw this lovely little place ! It was totally unique, ram packed with character, and oozing history ! I absolutely loved it, as did my daughter and her partner. It was on a tiny, quiet street, but only a couple of minutes walk and you were in the main square. I would love to stay here sometime soon. It can sleep four, - one bedroom with a double bed,(which had a cute little balcony), and then a further two single beds on the next floor up. I think it would be more suited to two adults and two children, but I can confirm that four adults have stayed here and have been perfectly happy !
The bathroom is down stairs next to the kitchen, this looks like it has recently been done out and looks great.. I could not find any fault with the place, it really is very special. There are good facilities if you decide to eat in, but to be honest there are plenty of nice places to eat close at hand, so it is not necessary. If you are looking for something a little different from the usual tourist accommodation, this ticks all the boxes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The old world charm of the place
Liked least: It was all perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2016
Thank you so much ones again for your review, I could not write a better review myself.
I am glad both you and your daughter loved the place and certainly hope to see you again sometime in the near future.

You will always be welcome

Alfred Fino
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c0rriefan
North West
1 review
“Well managed, good location & a lovely apartment”
Reviewed September 28, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Alfie went out of his way to ensure we had the holiday we were so looking forward to.
The apartment had everything we could wish for, in a lovely setting and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone. We used Alfie for the transfers to and from the airport these were also well organised.
Thanks again Alfie

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2016
Thank you for your comments and recommendations, I am always happy o hear visitors had a holiday they were looking for.

It was an absolute pleasure having you and thank you for leaving the plaice so clean and tidy for me.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2016
Thank you for such great review, much appreciated, Glad both of you loved it and words as that is always my intended goal.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liz R
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Traditional Maltese Property in the heart of historical Birgu.”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The house is located in the gorgeous historical City of Birgu and was close to many historical places to visit in the area. The harbour is an easy 5 minute walk away and so is Victory Square, there are many lovely restaurants to choose from in the area. I Would highly recommend the Malta at War museum near the arch into Burgu at Triq P.Boffa.
Alfies place was lovely as an experience of staying in a 400 yr old Maltese house. I personally found the interior a little dark for my tastes and would have preferred brighter lighting. However the beds were comfortable and and the quirky layout of the house was charming. The house was a great base to explore the historic city and close enough to the harbour ferry across to Valetta. Alfie was lovely and full of helpful tips when we arrived and introduced us to a lovely bar and restaurant in Victory Square.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: I found the interior lighting a bit dark
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2016
Thank you for your review and your write up was lovely to ready that you enjoyed your stay.

I also what to thank you for looking after the place leaving it nice a clean for me.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashir...
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place in Malta”
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Excellent value for money wouldn't stay anywhere else the owner is a gem nothing to much trouble and if you do have any issues he there at the end if the phone and will drop everything to help you out we travel to Malta a lot and love the place

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2016
Thank you so much for your positive comments and no need saying you are always welcomed to stay.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing