We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great welcome, great host”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Alfie's Place

Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October) Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
121 reviews
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October)
Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Facade
Facade
Facade
Eat in kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Your Host - Alfred Fino
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Lynda D
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great welcome, great host”
Reviewed February 17, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful cosy Maltese house, located 5 minutes from the main square. Alfie made us feel so welcome from the moment we met at the airport. He took us on a little tour, even though it was late, and showed us the useful things like the bus terminal, ferry terminal, shops etc, then treated us to a drink in the bar, before taking us to the house. There were provisions in the fridge, milk, bread, butter, and a lovely bowl of fruit. The house has everything you need, and is only 10 minutes walk from the lovely marina and ferry to Valletta, where you can catch a bus to anywhere on the island.
We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and hope to be back soon.
Would highly recommend Alfies Place

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2016
Thank you so much for your review it was lovely meeting you both, I am always happy to hear Visitors enjoyed their stay and will be great to see you back for another Visit.

Also a big Thank you for leaving the place spotless it is always appreciated and it does make life a lot more easier.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb W
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great 3 week stay in Birgu...”
Reviewed February 5, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

* Location - The Birgu area is fantastic! Interesting sites are everywhere, and the night views are superb. Take each of the 4 Birgu walks, they are like going on a historical treasure hunt - you will be amazed at what you find behind/above/below/inside the many walls and buildings that you pass by. Local convenience shops are nearby and a large Chains supermarket is about a 20min walk. The weekly street market is great for fresh fruit/veg.
* Authentic - Staying right in Birgu Old Town you can enjoy the sights and sounds of local Maltese life - the ringing of the church bells, classical music tunes, horns of the fruit/veg truck and the bakery van (do try the delicious bread pudding!), firework displays, neighbourly chats - yet the area is very peaceful and generally quiet. We slept very well!
* Friendly Host - Alfie is a cheerful and friendly host. He responded promptly to emails, sending us some useful info before arriving and providing us with more when we got there. We weren't sure how frequent the buses would run late in the evening so Alfie offered to pick us up at the airport. It was a great chance to get acquainted and get introduced to the area, especially as we were treated to beers at the local pub once in Birgu (thanks Alfie!).
* Accessibility - We bought bus passes which cover 12 journeys for up to 2 hours each. We also took the ferry over to Valletta a couple times. Buses 2,3,4 go frequently between Birgu and Valletta and from there it is easily accessible to all areas on other buses. We did all the 10 or so Heritage Walks as well as other hikes and were able to catch buses to/from all the starting/ending points.
* Good value - Well equipped for long term stay. Alfie provides a nice starter selection of fruit, coffee/tea, and other basic provisions to carry you over 'til the next day when you can get better oriented. He also drops off clean bedding/towels on a weekly basis. A landline phone is provided should you need to contact each other for any reason.
Tip: Bring slippers (stone floors in winter can get chilly) or even better, buy a nice pair at the weekly Tuesday market.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2016
Thank you for such a great write up, always happy to hear that Visitors nor only enjoyed the place but also the area and Malta in general.

It was an absolute pleasure meeting you both, very interesting couple indeed.

Last but not least I want to thank you for leaving the apartment spotless

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip m
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed January 27, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Thanks Alfie.Place was wonderfull information also very helpful can't wait to come back. I can't recommend your place enough, a lovely house in an attractive, quiet street in the heart of Birgu, handy for all local transport easy hop for rest of Malta .Phil&Paula Mckay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2016
Thank you so much it was a pleasure meeting, and look fwd to see you back here. Also a bi thanks for leaving the place spotless and more.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Reviewed January 9, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Area
Liked least: coming home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2016
It was a pleasure meeting you both, such a lovely Couple with big smiles and hearts. I sure hope I have the pleasure of meeting you again. Day after your departure it was Dark, wet & Windy but been sunny again all week :) Last but not least Better Luck on the football side with Manchester City :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JohnDT47
Leeds England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed November 25, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Earlier in the year we stayed at Alfie's other place and had a great time so we were looking forward to experiencing this property.
Alfie was once again a great host providing a welcome pack and full of useful information . Nothing was too much trouble and is always available for queries on his mobile or landline
The property is very much Maltese so for those who don't want a modern box for accommodation this is the place for you.
It is handy for Victory Square which is the hub of activity locally with its restaurants and bars whilst at the same time only being a few yards from the marina with all its massive yachts and restaurants
Also handy for the ferry to Valletta which runs every 30 minutes and not far from the bus terminus.
Great WIFI AND TVs on both ground floor and main bedroom
Highly recommended and we are already planning our next trip to stay with Alfie...it's just that we cannot make our minds up which of the two we prefer! Both excellent

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2015
Thank you ones again and will be looking fwd to see you again in the near future. Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P
newton stewart
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was wonderful”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Four of us stayed in Alfie's little house. Although we have visited Malta frequently over the last thirty years we were delighted to be staying in an authentic and traditional Maltese house in a traditional setting. Our neighbours were friendly and helpful, particularly in helping us to unlock the front door with its mysterious lock. The house is simply but adequately furnished and the modern bathroom is well appointed. Luckily we were there for the Birgu festival which was magnificent and we also had easy access to the best flea market ever. We all loved it and must thank the cheerful and assiduous Alfie for all he did for us. We are coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2015
Thank you for your for your comments and so glad you enjoyed your stay and the place itself.

All Four of you were ever so pleasant and with a smile on your faces, I will Look Fwd to see you again next year. Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2015
Thank you so much for such a great review and a detailed one Indeed. It was absolutely lovely having you and will certainly love to see you again. What matters most to me is that my visitors go back with a relaxing memory and I am so glad Both you and Mum did. Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing