We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok to Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cargo Bar & Dine

Cargo Bar & Dine
Price range: $16 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: CARGO BAR & DINE situated in the scenic luxury Grand Harbour Marina offers spectacular views of both Valletta and Senglea. The menu has a variety of Mediterranean & Maltese flavours with a specialization in fish and meat dishes. Cargo allows patrons to lounge at the bar offering a selection of cocktails, wines and platters. Cargo delivers an experience that is perfect to celebrate your big day & everyday.
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok to Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I went there with my mom-in-law for lunch.

Had a nice plate of penne with spicy chicken and mushrooms, followed by fried imqaret in syrup.

Food was ok, and the little waitress was very friendly :)

Nothing to complaint about.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JDFudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    63
    52
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Best steak i had on the island.Also had a good breakfast reasonably priced.Staff were very friendly and quick service

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkKing_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nicely Designed and Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went twice to Cargo in Birgu, once it was really good and when we went lately it wasn't that good... First time we went the food was great but last time we went the food wasn't good at all, I love pizza and chose a Closed pizza and to tell you the truth it was half cooked, the pastry was not cooked and when I cut a piece the cheese wasn't even melted... I don't know why I didn't send the pizza back but I don't really like doing that. The others said the food was JUST OK and nothing special and so we were dissapointed about it... The place is designed well and it has great ambience but they need to be careful with the cooking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian-Mixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
254 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Okay. More for its location than for the food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Visited on a Sunday evening in November. Very few guests in fact. I had pasta, my wife asked for some guidance on gluten free dishes on the menu. As in most occasions, unfortunately, staff still seem very unaware on how to handle patrons with allergen intollerances. Some seem unaware or rather indifferent of to what mishandling such requests might lead to. Others go to extremes and look literally terrified to assist. This time it was the latter case. Anyway at the end she (my wife) decided to settle for the usual boring chicken ceaser salad, just to play it safe.

Food was decent. Well cooked, well served and presented - but that'it. Not extraordinary - far from it. Service was up to standard too.

It was chilly and windy so we sat indoors. On a spring sunny day however it would be a real shame not to sit and enjoy your meal outside. The Vittoriosa waterfront is a truly wonderful setting, unique I would say.

Therefore average food, in a great location. Slightly overpriced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GOH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qrendi, Malta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nah..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went there for lunch. Chose a Caesar salad and asked the waiter wether it contains tomatoes, me being allergic to them. With this obvious "what are you saying?" face, this foreign male waiter told me "No, of course it doesnt have tomatoes!". When the plate came, it was full of them. Seeing all my friends have their plates I resorted to removing them myself, one by one.

Bad Experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Charlene84_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cargo Bar & Dine also viewed

Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta
 
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta
 
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta
 

Been to Cargo Bar & Dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing