We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY EXPENSIVE AND FOOD WAS TERRIBLE”
Review of Tal-Petut

Tal-Petut
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 500 year old house built by the Knights of Malta With various dinning rooms all facilitated with AC Simple honest traditional kitchen with no fryers or microvaves all fresh local produce and preserves are made in house and home grown sundried tomatoes , cured tuna syrups ,jams marmalades bottarga and much more and also home made fresh local lemonade digestive always serving seasonal produce
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Went to tal-petut restaurant in Birgu. We were given no menus with prices and we ordered some snacks. For the snacks alone we had to pay 16 euro per person. The snacks consisted of four dips, bread and vegetables. I ended up eating only some bread and one of the dip cause the other snacks were completely repulsive. The food was not actually traditional maltese food and when I asked for the maltese galletti and imqaret(dates) they didn't have any not even ice-cream in summer. The coffee was not very strong and was given in transparent cups which was very gross. The restaurant was very crammed too, we could barely move. I would definitely not go again and I would not recommend this restaurant for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petut, Owner at Tal-Petut, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam I would first like to apologies for not meeting your expectations as we have with so many other patrons .
Where we are not classified as a snack bar or wine bar But restaurant serving fresh local seasonal produce and not carry an a la carte menu as we serve what mother nature provides according to season with no fryers or microwaves.

I personally hosted you on the Saturday you asked to dine and asked if it was to late being it was 10. 05 pm and when you sat I explained that we are a restaurant ,
Our Menu Is Placed on the facade prior to entry as indicated that a four to a five course dinner would be 27/28 euro per person, and when asked you opted for anti Pasto Assaggi and a selection of other items which I have listed and served to your table
Fava bean with baked cumin and lemon rind olive oil and fresh herbs, Local Arjoli crushed bread garlic sea salt olive oil and fresh parsley, local Bigilla with sea salt chili fennel seed and olive oil, air dried Zalzet tal Malti, with cooked fresh fig in red wine, fresh steamed tuna with lemon capers olives from our trees and fresh mint, local ricotta ravjoli wit a zalza of crushed olive capers and a puree of our sundried tomatoes a separate platter with grilled Qarabali, bell peppers, tomatoes and local fresh Gbejniet which all where dressed with individual dressing Portion Size as family service anti pasto
Upon request for more helpings of bread and Gallet of which we do not normally serve we provided the first .
Local bread (Tat -Tinsijla) we at tal Petut serve our Kafe Malti in clear glass as our culture dictates so and we pride our self for retaining our serving traditions as we do with fresh mint tea and did not charge ,

Once again I would like to express my apologies and would welcome you back for a free sitting as to compensate for the16 euro you felt you where cheated from
Also the table for four you where seated at measure 6.2 feet by 3 feet and other groups where seated with in other separate dinning rooms on ground floor and first floor

I responded today as I feel emotions tend to obscure responses a polite delay was merited and maintenance of respect to one an other is paramount
Rg Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 286 of 409 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

Me and my friends who are maltese went to tal-Petut restaurant and although the service was good, when we went to order we found no menus. The host told us that we should start with the antipasti which we did, however the antipasti were nothing special and there was also lack of choice. Since we didn't have any menus we didn't have the price and FOR JUST THE ANTIPASTI WE HAD TO PAY 64 EURO for four people that is 16 euro per person, one of our friends ended up eating only some dip and bread due to lack of choice of food. Since it promotes maltese food I thought that one would find some at tal-Petut however there were barely any traditional maltese food. I am highly disappointed of tal-Petut restaurant and I would not recommend this restaurant. If you want maltese food many other maltese restaurants offer better food, choice and a better value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Ruthvella29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petut, Owner at Tal-Petut, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

This is the same reply as you are part of the same complaint

Dear Sir/ Madam I would first like to apologies for not meeting your expectations as we have with so many other patrons .
Where we are not classified as a snack bar or wine bar But restaurant serving fresh local seasonal produce and not carrying an la carte menu as we serve what mother nature provides according to season with no fryers or microwaves.

I personally hosted you on the Saturday you asked to dine and asked if it was to late being it was 10. 05 pm and when you sat I explained that we are a restaurant ,
Our Menu Is Placed on the facade prior to entry as indicated that a four to a five course dinner would be 27/28 euro per person, and when asked you opted for anti Pasto Assaggi and a selection of other items which I have listed and served to your table
Fava bean with baked cumin and lemon rind olive oil and fresh herbs, Local Arjoli crushed bread garlic sea salt olive oil and fresh parsley, local Bigilla with sea salt chili fennel seed and olive oil, air dried Zalzet tal Malti, with cooked fresh fig in red wine, fresh steamed tuna with lemon capers olives from our trees and fresh mint, local ricotta ravjoli wit a zalza of crushed olive capers and a puree of our sundried tomatoes a separate platter with grilled Qarabali, bell peppers, tomatoes and local fresh Gbejniet which all where dressed with individual dressing Portion Size as family service anti pasto
Upon request for more helpings of bread and Gallet of which we do not normally serve we provided the first .
Local bread (Tat -Tinsijla) we at tal Petut serve our Kafe Malti in clear glass as our culture dictates so and we pride our self for retaining our serving traditions as we do with fresh mint tea and did not charge ,

Once again I would like to express my apologies and would welcome you back for a free sitting as to compensate for the16 euro you felt you where cheated from
Also the table for four you where seated at measure 6.2 feet by 3 feet and other groups where seated with in other separate dinning rooms on ground floor and first floor

I responded today as I feel emotions tend to obscure responses a polite delay was merited and maintenance of respect to one an other is paramount
Rg Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent food, atmosphere and service. Made most welcome throughout whole dinner. A rare experience. A must for those who love Maltese/Mediterranean cuisine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I enjoyed every moment there with my family. The food is excellent and explained to the very last detail from preparation, the way it is cooked and ingredients used. Every single item is mouthwatering. Sure a place I recommend for foreigners.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Rsjml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The restaurant's owner is a friendly and charming character and served a selection of local "assaggini" (a bit like Maltese tapas). These were so plentiful and so delicious we didn't have space left for a main course! The complimentary glass of cool lemonade with mint was a lovely touch.

2  Thank LuisaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tal-Petut also viewed

Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Rabat, Island of Malta
 

Been to Tal-Petut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing