We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the entry cost”

Malta at War Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.99*
and up
Explore Malta in a Self-drive Electric Car Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Malta at War Museum is located at the original historic entrance of Vittoriosa (Birgu), the older from the Three Cities. It stands to document for posterity the great ordeal which the brave people of Malta and their defenders endured during the dark days of the Blitz (1940-43). Vittoriosa (Birgu) is the former home to the Royal Navy in the Malta and one of the most bombed places in WW2. This museum combines an attractive exhibition about the Second World War in Malta along with the viewing of an original wartime documentary – ‘Malta G.C.’ and a visit into an underground air raid shelter in which hundreds took refuge during the raids.This attraction has recently undergone a complete remake co-funded by the European Union’s European Regional Development Fund (72.25%), the Government of Malta (12.75%) and Fondazzjoni Wirt Artna. The result is a new attractive museum spread on nine galleries. Each of these is dedicated to a given aspect of wartime Malta. The museum display is organised in a chronological manner and includes some 10,000 original artefacts connected with the subject. These vary from clothing, weapons, instruments, equipment, printed matter and other large exhibits.The new Malta at War Museum is open daily for visiting between 10.00 and 17.00hrs.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage
Alness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not worth the entry cost”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had expected this museum to have more exhibits and information on the subject that its name implies, but with being disabled it was impossible for the lower parts of the museum to be accessed due to a large number of narrow steps leading down into what were said to be the Air-Raid Shelter tunnels below.
Another museum on Malta that seemed to promise more than it actually provided for those seeking to discover as to what Malta underwent during the seige that it was under during WWII.
There were however a few exhibits that were of interest, and these included the German Anti-Personnel 'Butterfly Bombs', that were dropped to try to prevent movementand them being disarmed by the Bomb Disposal teams that had to deal with a great number of unexploded bombs that were dropped by both the German and Italian aircraft during WWII.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank David L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at Malta at War Museum, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I had expected this museum to have more exhibits and information on the subject that its name implies, but with being disabled it was impossible for the lower parts of the museum to be accessed due to a large number of narrow steps leading down into what were said to be the Air-Raid Shelter tunnels below.
Another museum on Malta that seemed to promise more than it actually provided for those seeking to discover as to what Malta underwent during the seige that it was under during WWII.
There were however a few exhibits that were of interest, and these included the German Anti-Personnel 'Butterfly Bombs', that were dropped to try to prevent movementand them being disarmed by the Bomb Disposal teams that had to deal with a great number of unexploded bombs that were dropped by both the German and Italian aircraft during WWII

Good Afternoon Sir ,

The World War two underground shelter is a historical monument and it is obvious that we cannot absolutly touch the site to include a ramp for wheelchairs .You were told upon entry that it is quite difficult to visit the underground shelters using a wheelchair . The people who dug out these shelters never tought about tourisim in 1940 .

As to the 'few exhibits' on display , i wonder if you did notice our 1922 March on Rome Facsist Uniform, our falange and azul division uniform , our NDSP uniform , our unique collection of gas masks from all over the world , the boffors gun in our Museum and many other collections which are constantly growing by the day . There is certainly much more then our butterfly bombs.

Thanks and Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    118
    26
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit especially if you're interested in Malta's WW2 experience”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The museum was not as large as we had expected but nonetheless it was interesting, especially the underground air raid shelter which must have been a grim place to hide in! The constant noise houwever, presumably meant to simulate the sound of an air raid overhead, is too loud and eventually becomes very annoying, especially when it prevents you hearing the audio visual presentations properly. Overall however an excellent effort.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kcormack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at Malta at War Museum, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments . We will take note of your complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Opening times??”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

It looks really really interesting. But when we went there last October it was closed. What are the opening hours?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WillieEckerslike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at Malta at War Museum, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
The Malta at War Museum is only closed on Monday's .
Opening hours are from 10.00-17.00.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quick visit”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The museum part itself was smaller than I had expected. A few rooms with uniforms and other trinkets on display. Blaring TV sets with old propaganda & educational movies from WWII in every room, and sometimes the music & speech went into each other into a cacophony of non-distinguishable noise.

What was most interesting was the underground shelter consisting of corridors upon corridors of painstakingly excavated passageways and rooms. Very atmospheric and interesting to be able to walk about and roam freely down there. It is fun to explore such places, even though hundreds of people are probably there weekly.

As the title says - it is a quick visit, but well worth it for any "WWII-junky".

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NikeasThurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at Malta at War Museum, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Good Afternoon and thank you for your feedback.

We wish to clarify that the size of our museum is restricted by the fact that it is housed in an old 17th century casemated barracks which unfortunately do not allow for further expansion.

We will certainly take note of your comment about the cacophony of noise which will rectify.

As for your comment about having ‘few’ uniforms we wish to specify that at present we have 35 on display with the bulk of them being of a high quality and unique nature. It is appropriate here to point out that our museum is not a uniform museum but one which is dedicated to the different aspects of Malta during WW2.

We also wish to highlight the fact that our museum is still very new and that we are still working on bringing it to full scratch with new story boards and interpretation and more original artefacts.

Regards and thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must when visiting Malta”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I visited this Museum among other sites while in Malta during Jan 2013. This museum was excellent, even when I compared it to Imperial War Museum, London. At the time the Malta at War museum was due to undergo a planned expansion which can only improve an excellent value for money attraction. If you visit the museum when it is relatively quiet you may even be lucky enough to get the guided tour by the museum curator whose knowledge is extensive. As a bit of advice save your 8€ that you will have to pay to visit the Tarxian Temples (felt like I'd been mugged) and visit this museum and the Malta Experience and Old Hospital.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of FWA at Malta at War Museum, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you Thomas B for your vote and review and also for compare us with the Imperial War Museum.
We are trying to do our best everyday and also we ry to improve our stuff, knowledge and things that we are offering to the public, providing a better experience everyday.
Every heritage site is interesting in Malta, that is the reason we are trying to give something more to the turists, not only with a visit, but also with an experience, with knowledgeable guides and re-enactments in some of our attractions.
For further information, search on our websites and follow us on the Social Network pages.

Xulio Vazquez
Custodian and guide of FWA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malta at War Museum also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Mdina, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Malta at War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing