We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a nice apartment where to relax, when you are...”

Review of Templar House

View of Vittoriosa from the roof terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Vittoriosa from the roof terrace
Breathtaking views from the roof terrace The comfortable roof terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
View of Vittoriosa from the roof terrace
Breathtaking views from the roof terrace
The comfortable roof terrace
Shade under the pergola
The courtyard, cool in the hot malta sunshine
Hallway
Dining area
Lounge
Living area downstairs
Kitchen
Stairwell
Hallway upstairs
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Twin Bedroom
Facade of Templar House
Typical Three Cities Street
Vittoriosa view from Valletta
Fort St Angelo, Vittoriosa
Blue Lagoon, Comino
The view from just outside the house looking over to Senglea & Valletta
The bridge to Senglea, a minute from Templar house
Valletta ferry stop, just outside Templar House
View towards Templar House, the bridge to Senglea & the Valletta ferry stop
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ambro73
rovereto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a nice apartment where to relax, when you are visiting Malta”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice apartment and everything is as described in the site. There's charming view from the terrace, perhaps too many steps, if you are a lazy person.
The time spent in the apartment, around the table, becomes really part of the holiday. Being close to the bus stop, it makes easy to reach Valletta or other nice destinations.
In Templar house we have spent 10 nice and relaxing days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky B
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“True Maltese experience in traditional but stylish house”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Travelled with older children and parents. The house is super, well thought out and very comfortable, we were 6 and the accommodation was brilliant for us, enough space and bathrooms for all. We loved the new buses and travelled all around the Island for a very reasonable €12 each (€2 for children) for 7 days, air conditioned and a welcome break from the July temparatures - perhaps not so quirky as the old buses but certainly cooler and more reliable! We loved our evening walks around Birgu and the harbour, and had lovely food in many places, including on the dockside at Senglea. The bakers off the main square was amazing and we enjoyed the morning walk for freshly made treats - the bread was delicious. We swan most days, and our favourite was the snorkelling at Ghar Lapsi, and this trip can be coupled nicely with a Blue Grotto trip (although a bit too touristy, this was still a nice trip). The owners guide was very helpful and included details of the local weekly market (Tuesday) which was very large and worth a visit. We had a super time at Templar house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Interesting area, very welcoming people and quite a different Maltese experience
Liked least: Building works in harbour, but area improving and these are short term.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ings87
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Lovely House within an Historic City”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week in Malta , staying at Birgu (Vittoriosa).
We stayed at Templar House, a large Three storey townhouse, lovingly restored and furnished by the owners.
The stone built building is very impressive with incredible character.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable.
It was equipped to a very high standard with everything you should require.
We were provided with a nice welcome pack and an abundance of information about the house, also hints and tips of the local facilities, bars and restaurants which are very close by.
The wifi was efficient and extremely popular with our teenagers to keep in touch with friends etc.
The roof top was wonderful for late afternoon sunbathing and had fabulous views of the harbour by night.
A nice cool courtyard for congregating or an al fresco meal when the roof top area was too hot.
The air conditioning was a welcome addition, keeping the bedrooms cool in the hot and humid weather.
There are lots of steps both to reach the house and when inside the house, so the building is not suitable for anyone with mobility problems or perhaps young children.
Booking process was straight forward, the owner is good to deal with and very helpful.
The transport arrangements he made for us were prompt and efficient.
Templar House is an excellent retreat from the hustle and bustle of Valletta and we would highly recommend it.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mick21
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful House in great location”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Have just returned from a wonderful holiday staying in Templar House in Malta. This is a traditional house which has been beautifully renovated with modern fittings but retaining the original character of the house. Lots of space for 6 people with stunning views from roof terrace which I particularly enjoyed. The area has all the shops and restaurants you need as well as easy access to the rest of the island by bus. We decided to hire a car and found it reasonably easy to get around using sat nav. There is plenty of parking nearby. The ferry to Valletta runs every 30 minutes and takes just 10 minutes, this costs just 2.80 euro return whereas the traditional boats vary in price from 3 - 5 euros each way! Airport pick-up was very much appreciated as was the welcome pack.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself is lovely
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadjinici
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An absolute gem of a Maltese house with great spaces and amazing rooftop views.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying at Templar House in 2011 and returned again in May because we loved it so much.
The views are amazing, the house has everything you could possibly need to enjoy your stay, including a fully equipped kitchen downstairs and kitchette and fridge upstairs for picnics on the rooftop.
Location is great - particularly if you have a car (plenty of street parking), otherwise its just near a bus stop heading into Valletta. There aren't so many tourists in this area which is wonderful as you get a great feel for the true Maltese way of life.
We will definitely return and look forward to feeling at home again in Malta at Templar House.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldpostie
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Gem of Malta”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The view up Dockyard Creek to Grand Harbour from the Templar House roof terrace is now our screensaver on the computer, such are our very happy memories of Malta, and Templar House in particular, at the beginning of May. Situated thirty two steps up from the waterfront road along a quiet pedestrian alley, and, inside, quite steep steps between the several levels living accommodation, the house may not suit the less agile but we 60-somethings had no difficulty. It was a perfect location for us. Modern, clean, extremely well appointed and equipped, comfortable (particularly the new beds) and so conveniently situated in what must be the best area of Malta. Away from the tourist bustle of Sliema, St Julians and Valetta, yet within easy reach, Vittoriosa (Birgu) is a quiet gem of a place yet with all the facilities you need. The town is very friendly and has traditional butcher, baker, greengrocer (the quality of bread and salads were outstanding), cafe and restaurants and rebuilt traditional architecture through which you can wander with safety and pleasure. If you want to go up market you just need to walk down to the modern marina, 200m away, with its posher cafes and restaurants and even casino. A water taxi (modern RIB holding just 12 pax, so may get busy in summer for €2.90 rtn) leaves for Valetta Customs House Steps leaves on the half hour from close to the house taking 8mins. The No 2 and 3 Arriva buses (€12 weekly unlimited travel) leave from a selection of local bus stops and take you into St Paula where you can change to others taking you to most places in Malta (or you can carry on round to the terminus at Valetta for even wider choices). We did not need a hire car. We failed to get tickets for the Hypogeum (St Paula) on the internet as it books up two or three months ahead but we tried on the off-chance to pick up a 'no show' place and were lucky first time. Frankly we enjoyed our time around the Three Cities more than anywhere else in Malta and Templar House was the real star – it exceeded our expectations and we can't recommend it more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnACamb...
Cambridgeshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Holiday Destination for those seeking sun, peace, historical interest and amazing views.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our stay at Templar House and feel totally refreshed following our week of relaxation in a sunny climate with loads of interesting places to visit and an amazing holiday letting. The house is situated in the old town area of Vitorriosa, part of the 3 cities and has been extensively refurbished in a traditional style, with real attention to detail. The house is comfortable throughout but we mostly enjoyed the roof terrace which has beautiful views over the newly extended marina. Breakfast on the roof terrace is easily arranged as there is a 2nd kitchen on the third floor and evenings are complete with a final cold drink watching the water taxi ploughing across the marina to Valetta - marvellous! There are loads of very reasonably priced eating places and the locals are really welcoming. The free taxi ride to the property is a great idea and I am sure we will be returning in due course.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roof terrace was marvellous.
Liked least: There are loads of stairs - but well worth the effort.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing