We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from the madding crowd (but not too far)”
Review of Indulgence Divine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Birgu (Vittoriosa)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indulgence Divine
Swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Far from the madding crowd (but not too far)”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

5 days during February- March 2013. Ideal if you are looking for somewhere more 'local' but within easy reach of Valetta.Tucked away in a quiet part of town close to small shops including a chemist. Managed to miss the house first time round- the house number is a tiny fixture above the door, luckily Ray spotted us before we wandered off too far.

The house-stylish,practical, compact, well conceived, whimsical and a fine example of what can be done with some imagination. Some very good restaurants nearby and the car park is just round the corner- need to get a permit if you have a hire car but that's just a short walk away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
60
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our week's stay at Indulgence Divine over Easter 2013. Ray was very welcoming at the airport and the complimentary transfer was much appreciated. As other guests have commented, it is obvious that an enormous amount of time, care and attention has gone into creating I.D., even down to the little touches like the professional looking notices and welcome pack containing helpful information/directions, and the I.D. branded towels!

The roof terrace is a delight to sit and enjoy the sunshine. I.D.'s proximity to all that Birgu has to offer, including the Square, waterfront, bars, restaurants and shops, couldn't be better. It is also very easy to travel around Malta by bus which run regularly from close by to the property. Birgu is full of charm and history and we would definitely recommend I.D. as a really special place to stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ch_F_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at Indulgence Divine for a week in March and the experience was both indulgent and divine. It's a unique house and beautifully decorated, and has everything you need for a very comfortable and relaxed stay. It's the personal touches that make it extra special, and the location in Birgu is great too - you feel like you're living in real town rather than one swamped with tourists. Go there as soon as you can - we're already planning our next visit......

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at Indulgence Divine for 10 fabulous days during the 2012 Birgu Fest (which was lovely) - and although it's taken us a while to get the review written we just wanted to endorse all the positive messages we've seen in other reviews. Indulgence Divine was just as good as it looks on the website - everything was fabulous. We loved Birgu - stunning views and excellent places to eat, we didn't want to leave. Will definitely be returning as soon as we can !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at Indulgence Divine for a week recently whilst getting married in Malta.
The house is amazing! Even better than it looks on the website.
Everything was perfect from start to finish and we did not want to leave even though we then went on to Taormina in Sicily for our honeymoon. I really was reluctant to leave the house!
As other reviewers have mentioned, Birgu is a truly stunning location. After visiting other parts of the island it really was fantastic to come back to the quietness and to the wonderful historic sorroundings. It made you feel quite smug that you'd discovered it!
All the rooms in the house have their own individuality and charm and lovely stylish touches that we appreciated. Everything has been carefully thought out and the attention to detail is amazing.
I would say this is definately affordable luxury with top quality service from both the owner and the lovely host Raymond.
Staying in this house definately made our wedding very special and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisybrown03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We have recently come back from a perfect stay at Indulgence Divine. The house is fabulous! Very spacious, with a lovely mix of old and new and several quirky touches. It's as stunning as it looks on the website. I have never stayed somewhere so wonderful for such a small price. It is excellent value!

Ray who picked us up from the airport is very helpful and even picked our bags up when we checked out and looked after them while we spent the day in Valetta, before picking us up in Valetta and taking us to the airport.

Vittoriosa is a lovely town with a stunning waterfront and great eateries.

The local bus service can have its off days so you may prefer to hire a car.

ID is highly reccommended - we did not want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hall in Tirol, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Recently again we spent nearly two weeks of our holidays on the island of Malta. This time we chose Birgu for our stay for its quietness and the flair of history you breath all time and every step you do.

But the atmosphere you feel at Indulgence Divine sets the crown on top.

These were one of the best times we ever spent!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birgu (Vittoriosa)
1.3 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,958 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,210 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
552 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Locanda La Gelsomina
Locanda La Gelsomina
#1 of 3 in Birgu (Vittoriosa)
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indulgence Divine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indulgence Divine

Property: Indulgence Divine
Address: Pope Alexander VII Street, Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta BRG1105, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Birgu (Vittoriosa)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Birgu (Vittoriosa)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its clever blend of history and design this old town house in the Collachio area of the old capital is the default choice for those romantics for whom style is a priority. A fascinating mixture of discreet glamour and colourful indulgence makes this a fairy-tale bolt-hole. Its large light-filled rooms will welcome you to its 450 year history. Carrara marble and silk curtains in vibrant Designer's Guild colours will sensuously rouse passions you never knew you had in you. Indulgence Divine comes with a modern kitchen, a large dining room, and a spacious living room that overlooks the roof terrace. It also features a tantalizing bedroom set in the old house chapel and en suite bathroom with curvy glass mosaic walls. The house is situated in the walled city of Vittoriosa/Valletta, right behind the Inquisitor's Palace and a stone's throw from the luxury yachts of the Marina. Ideal for honeymooners, romantics and history enthusiasts. Self-catering. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Indulgence Divine Malta/Birgu (Vittoriosa)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing