We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful ancient house exquisitely restored in...”
other travelers have booked this property
The romantic bed with canopy in the old chapel.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The romantic bed with canopy in the old chapel.
Large open spaces with high ceilings. Ensuite with sexy double shower with undulating lines in glass mosaic.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
The romantic bed with canopy in the old chapel.
Large open spaces with high ceilings.
Ensuite with sexy double shower with undulating lines in glass mosaic.
Enjoy the island's mild weather on your private roof terraces.
Quirky bespoke furniture featured on interior design magazines make it that more special.
A kitchen equipped for your needs.
The entrance to our Malta boutique accommodation
Bedroom detail - an army to protect you while you sleep.
Glass of wine on the terrace anyone?
A detail above the arch leading to the bedroom in what used to be the old house chapel.
The arch that leads to your bedroom
Acquamarine glass to remind you of the sea that surrounds the town.
Relax with a book or watch a DVD in the well lit sitting room.
Typical Vittoriosa street (and stairs, lots of them!)
Kalanka Bay
BirguFest - the town's candlelit festival in October
The Grand Harbour
The most fascinating prehistoric underground temple, only a short bus ride away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Inspirati...
2 reviews
“A peaceful ancient house exquisitely restored in historic part of Malta”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Indulgence Divide is a special and unique accommodation. The restoration of the building in fascinating Birgu reflects the sensitivity and undoubted interior design skills of the owner. The result is a haven of peace and a most acceptable degree of luxury.
Aldo and his staff provided a service of unobtrusive care and helpful advice before and during our visit for which we were very grateful.
Birgu proved to be an ideal base with much to see in the ancient city and with easy access by ferry and bus to Valletta and beyond - a car was not essential.
Our first visit in forty seven years to Malta was wonderful and we could not have asked for any better place to stay than Indulgence Divine . We are enthusiastically commending ID to family and friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2018
Thank you for all your lovely compliments. Extremely flattered. Glad to have lived up to such a splendid occasion as your return after 47 years.

Best regards,
Aldo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourist77...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really lovely”
Reviewed May 23, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We know Malta well and have been often - my husband commuted here in the 80s, but we had never stayed in Vittoriosa.
As far as I’m concerned Birgu is the best place to stay on Malta. Forget Sliema and the tourist ridden popular parts......
Atmospheric, full of history, spotlessly clean, Birgu is a quiet oasis to which to return at the end of the day. Indulgence Divine is a fabulous bolt hole - very comfortable, really clean, and quiet. We loved it.
Thank you Aldo for sharing your delightful home in Malta. We most certainly will return on our next trip ago Malta. Kind regards Louise

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2018
Thank you Louise,

We share the same love for the Medieval town by the sea. Vittoriosa can be very charming. It was lovely to have you stay at our place - we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best regards,

Aldo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce T
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Magical Mix of the 16th and 21st Centuries”
Reviewed April 28, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Where to begin? Indulgence Divine is an amazing experience, not just a place to stay. The walk up the interior stone staircase is a trip from the 16th Century to the 21st. The apartment is incredibly clean, comfortable and stylish, with an ancient/modern aesthetic all its own.
Owner Aldo, who was home in Great Britain but kind enough to give us a call toward the end of our stay, is a delightful, gracious guy who has created a wonderful guest experience with an eye for detail you won't find in most Air BandB's, or luxury hotels, for that matter. His property manager lives two doors away and was very warm and welcoming. We could not have had a lovelier introduction to the magic of Malta.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2018
Thank you Bruce,
most kind of you to share your experience of Indulgence Divine. It has been most lovely having you stay. We hope to see you again very soon.

Regards, Aldo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janettB29...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it here.”
Reviewed March 15, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We loved our stay here and wished we could have stayed for longer. From the moment we arrived, we were met at the house and shown around, and had everything explained to us. Even if we forgot some of the things that we were told, there was their own Indulgence Divine magazine with everything that we could possibly need to know about the house in it, as well as suggestions about where to eat and sightseeing. The welcome basket was indeed, very welcome.
It's in a lovely quiet area where the locals live. A few minutes walk away from the marina and the ferry to Valletta. Alternatively, a couple of minutes walk to the square for the bus into Valletta.
Aldo, the owner, contacted us after a couple of days, to check that everything was ok and if we needed any more information about anything which was very thoughtful of him.
We loved exploring Malta and look forward to returning one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2018
Dear Janet,

Great to have had the opportunity to speak to you during your stay, and know that you were loving every minute of it. Vittoriosa and its winding Medieval lanes works magic on getting one to forget life's pressures. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. We hope to see you both soon.

Best regards,

Aldo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevewade...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Indulgence Divine”
Reviewed February 27, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

As the name suggests Indulgence Divine is an exceptional property to spend a relaxing time in Malta. The house is very well presented and is situated in a very quaint part of the island. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2018
Dear Steve,

It was a pleasure to host you both at ID. So happy you had a great time. We look forward to having you stay again.

Best regards,

Aldo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan S
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Iconic property, ideal location”
Reviewed February 10, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

It was a privilege to stay in such an iconic property. Perfectly located for us - well away from the busy streets of Valletta but they are easily reached via a regular and reasonably priced boat service. Right from the door, there are lovely streets to wander, with inviting restaurants and a fascinating story to tell of the part the area has played in the rich history of Malta. The property itself has everything we needed for a relaxing stay; providing welcome respite on the odd rainy day and a well sited terrace on which to make the most of the warm(ish) February sunshine.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2018
Dear Alan S,

Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed the history on Indulgence Divine's doorstep, the one that inspired to get the property in the first place. It has been great having you stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Aldo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnmhols
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely lovely lovely”
Reviewed December 1, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We spent three days in this fabulous apartment and wished we could have stayed longer. It's in a beautiful part of the city, tucked away in a quiet honey-coloured back street but only a few minutes from the lively square where we sat at dusk in the cafes with glasses of excellent Maltese wine. Friendly, welcoming and perfect for lazy days wandering dreamily through history or gazing across the harbour. The apartment is gorgeous, comfortable and with all we could need, from roof terrace to library - and a generous welcome basket of goodies when we arrived. It's a very special place and made us feel special staying there. Loved it.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2018
Hi mnmhols,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is indeed a common experience, this wishing one had planned a longer stay. Although the islands of Malta are small, they're packed with things to discover - history, culture and architecture-wise. We're indeed lucky to be situated in Vittoriosa as it is in the heart of it all. We're so happy that you loved staying with us. The feeling is mutual - we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Aldo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing