We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Go on - Indulge!”
other travelers have booked this property
The romantic bed with canopy in the old chapel.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The romantic bed with canopy in the old chapel.
Large open spaces with high ceilings. Ensuite with double shower with undulating lines in glass mosaic.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
The romantic bed with canopy in the old chapel.
Large open spaces with high ceilings.
Ensuite with double shower with undulating lines in glass mosaic.
Enjoy the island's mild weather on the roof terraces.
Beautifully bespoke furniture make it that more special.
Well equipped kitchen
Entrance to our Malta self catering accommodation
Bedroom detail
Glass of wine on the terrace anyone?
Cross indicating that bedroom is in what used to be the house chapel.
The arch leading to the bedroom
Beautiful pieces enhance your stay
Relax with a book or watch a DVD in the well lit sitting room.
Typical Vittoriosa street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Wilks2010
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go on - Indulge!”
Reviewed November 22, 2011 for a stay in November 2011
3
people found this review helpful

This place really is as gorgeous as it looks on the internet! Ideally situated in authentic Maltese village of Birgu, this boutique townhouse is the ideal place for a romantic break - perfect for doing nothing and a base from which to explore Malta. This place is more affordable than you may think at first sight from the website - check it out!

Beautifully restored, this old chapel has 6 main sections: kitchen (brilliantly equipped), living room (above bedroom/dining area), bedroom (V romantic), dining area, bathroom (double shower!) and roof terrace (great to relax on). Everything is in stunning condition. We enjoyed staying here massively - away from the hussle and bustle of Valetta, allowing you to soak up the atmosphere of a typical Maltese village.

We enjoyed self-catering but many good restaurants near by.

Hiring a car makes things a lot easier if you visit ID, but can get the water taxi to Valetta which is fun. Owner and his Dad (who welcomes you) are very helpful both before and during your visit with a great welcome hamper to top it all off.

Stay here to avoid a bog-standard hotel - this place has character, is hugely comfortable and great value.

Go on - INDLUGE!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eblaiz
Vitrolles, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“upper class boutique accomodation in Vittoriosa Malta”
Reviewed September 30, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a special place different from standard B&B, Indulgence Divine in the best choice :
a beautifull accomodation in a 16th century house renewed with great taste between modern and baroque italian style.
Bedroom, Kitchen, Large bathroom, livingroom, terrace, and a hidden room through narrow stairs...
Everything is well thought,
We stayed 6 days in I.D. It's quite well located ti visit Malta.
Nice restaurants in the streets around.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: En couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aljoska
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Divine indulgence”
Reviewed December 7, 2010 for a stay in November 2010
3
people found this review helpful

This was as nice an apartment as we could have imagined. It was stylish down to the last detail, combing the romance of medieval building and stonework with avant garde, quirky decoration. We were initially worried about the location being in a small town across the bay from Valletta. And we are glad that we found the previous review (Marta123456) which put our minds at rest. Depending on what you want, we found Vittoriosa to be perfect. It was quiet and charming, with many little quaint backstreets to explore, and yet with so many high quality and atmospheric bars and restaurants that we couldn't visit them all even in a week. We only ended up visiting Valletta once, and to be honest we preferred Vittoriosa. The service from the owner, Aldo, was excellent which helped us settle in and feel at home. All in all, this is somewhere we intend to come back to more than once.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_and_AG
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Indulgence and privacy in a charming city”
Reviewed December 7, 2010 for a stay in November 2010
2
people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Malta and we were so glad to find Indulgence Divine, a beautifully-restored apartment in the quiet and intriguing city of Vittoriosa. It was the perfect low-key base for our travels across Malta. It was nice to return at the end of the day to be revived by its tranquility and colours. We stayed for 11 nights.

The self-catering apartment comes with a well-appointed kitchen. Bathroom has a double shower (enjoy!). Upstairs lounge and tv area is light-fllled and spacious. Rooftop terrace is a lovely spot for afternoon sun lounging. Bedroom feels tucked away even in an open space, very nice.

The photographs on the Indulgence Divine website are true to life. The space is at once spacious, intimate, colourful and elegant. It was been put together with great care and a sense of fun. Luxurious fun.

Booking includes airport transfer and welcome pack.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta1234...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Real indulgence”
Reviewed October 31, 2010 for a stay in October 2010
4
people found this review helpful

When we first found information about this apartment and had a look at pictures online, we couldn't believe it could be so beautiful. I was wondering how disappointing the reality would be compared to lovely photos. The truth was... this apartment was even better than in the pictures! It's in the lovely old town of Birgu, situated very close to the main square and a few minutes' walk from a bus stop. The apartment is very spacious and comfortable but the main thing is decor. It's truly gorgeous and you can easily see that a lot of effort was put into its decoration. Every details fits to the style of the apartment, even towels, hangers or little notebooks left for guests to write their own travel suggestions.
The owner's father, a very kind person, welcomes you and is the person to contact if you need something. This is a self catering accommodation with a fully equipped kitchen but we actually didn't use it as we mainly had meals in restaurants. If I was going to choose between Indulgence Divine and a 5 star hotel, I wouldn't even bother thinking about any luxury hotel. Indulgence Divine is much better.
Birgu itself is a charming town with beautiful views. It has a couple of good restaurants and some other attractions. Unless you want a beach holiday, it is a very good place to stay in Malta. It takes about 20 minutes by bus to reach Valletta and from there you can go around and explore Malta.
Staying in Indulgence Divine in Birgu is a very good idea for couples that want to do some sightseeing and are interested in historic places.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buccia66
Loiri Porto San Paolo, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Visit was for: Piacere
Traveling group: Di coppia
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2016
Gentile Sabrina e Massimiliano,

Vi ringrazio per aver dedicato del tempo a recensire Indulgence Divine. Corrispondenza tra noi è già intercorsa a proposito della vostra partenza anticipata e rinnovo il mio rammarico che Indulgence Divine non abbia risposto alle vostre aspettative. L’evidenza del buon servizio risiede anche nella velocità con cui le questioni sollevate dagli ospiti sono trattate. In questo caso il nostro House-Manager (HM) si è offerto di recarsi sul posto non appena lo contattaste per la presunta mancanza di acqua calda. Foste voi ad insistere per fissare un appuntamento l’indomani mattina e, quando si presentò, avevate già fatto i bagagli ed eravate pronti a lasciare l’appartamento.

L’HM constatò in vostra presenza che l’acqua calda funzionava regolarmente. Vi faccio notare che lo scaldabagno solare ha un riscaldatore ad immersione incorporato che si attiva automaticamente quando l’acqua è al di sotto di una determinata temperatura.

Poi lamentaste il fatto che la casa era fredda la notte precedente. Fu evidente che non azionaste il climatizzatore e l’HM vi dimostrò quanto rapidamente la casa si riscaldi semplicemente accendendo l’impianto, avendo posto in essere un sistema adeguato ed efficiente per la dimensione degli ambienti. Avete comunque insistito nel lasciare la casa a dispetto del fatto che i presunti problemi denunciati fossero stati risolti.

Il nostro HM si offrì quindi di accompagnarvi nella località che evidentemente avreste preferito, cioè Sliema. Quando vi venne a prendere in aeroporto all’inizio del vostro soggiorno, prima di mostrarvi la casa, vi intrattenne per un drink e per un breve tour di ambientazione nella storica Vittoriosa. Fu allora che vi informaste sulla vita notturna (clubs, discoteche, locali) e lui vi consigliò Sliema.

Quando prenotaste la nostra casa firmaste un regolare contratto per un soggiorno di 6 notti. Solo in circostanze eccezionali (come ad esempio quando i servizi descritti non possano essere corrisposti) sarebbe prevedibile un rimborso e non è questo il caso. Questa è la prassi standard per gli appartamenti in affitto stagionale. Il nostro HM ha dimostrato in vostra presenza che tutti i servizi erano perfettamente funzionanti. La vostra decisione di lasciare l’appartamento senza preavviso, avendo l’HM fisicamente mostrato l’efficienza di tutte le forniture/servizi, è di fatto una violazione del contratto stesso. Restituendo le chiavi avete rinunciato al proseguimento dell’usufrutto della casa.

La città di Vittoriosa non è la località ideale per chi è in cerca di vita notturna. Il nostro sito web enfatizza la natura storica della casa e del contesto in cui si trova, nel cuore della medievale cittadina fortificata di Vittoriosa. La vostra prenotazione last-minute forse non ha considerato questo aspetto. Speriamo sinceramente che questa risposta serva per chiarivi maggiormente la nostra posizione.

Cordiali saluti,

Aldo Gatt
Indulgence Divine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing