We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy place to stay, ask for a room on the second floor.”
Review of Jardin del Conde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jardin del Conde
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed in room 228 for five nights from 12th December 2013, then four nights at San Seb. I booked the accommodation with Travel Republic. I paid £57 per night for one person B and B, not a cheap place to stay. Room Service was relaxed, shall we say. Sheets and towels changed twice a week I think. Clothes drying rail on balcony. Good, powerful shower.
Points to note:
1. Good breakfast, friendly cook. It certainly helps if you can speak some Spanish.
2. Across the road from Baby Beach, where people were swimming.
3. Nice breakfast room and pool area was quite attractive.
4. No bar.
5. Great sunsets.
6. Reception area looked pretty ordinary. Could do with smartening up.
7. Just 50 metres from the bus stop for San Sebastian (5 euros) via Arure (2 euro). The 8am bus is very popular with walkers. There are two 8am buses, The first one is straight through to San Seb, and is followed by the stopping bus for walkers. Another bus passes at 1pm. Bus to San Seb takes about 1h45m. Taxi takes 1h, and costs about 55 euro. It’ll scare the pants off you!
8. The walk down from Aruru to Valle Gran Rey is a great introduction to walking on La Gomera.
9. The walking on La Gomera is first rate. You will need a walking pole, and the Tour and Trail map and the Walk! La Gomera guide book, which I thought was much better than the Sunflower book
10. La Crema ice cream parlour next door to the hotel is good value and the best ice cream locally.
11. 15 minute walk to La Calera for good range of restaurants and a strong hippy vibe. Another 5 minute walk to the nudist beach at Playa del Ingles. Rocky beach. Very rough sea, unsafe to swim.
12. Walk to harbour and round headland (signposted as liable to landslides) to very interesting Fruit Garden. See my TripAd review. Continue walking up to the waterfall. It gets very steep after that.
13. Valle Gran Rey is the most popular resort on la Gomera, but still very peaceful compared with other Canary Islands.
14. Notes about getting there: I took the Fred. Olsen ferry from Los Christianos in Tenerife, booked on Direct Ferries website. You have to exchange the online ticket for a boarding card at the Port. The ferry takes 50 minutes. The Port at San Seb is a brisk 5 minutes walk from the Estacion de GuaGuas (bus station). Google buses on gomera for a timetable.
15. You’ll love La Gomera. I certainly did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor and at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 92 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. Perfectly located 20 meters from the ocean, super friendly staff and houskeeping every day. Pots and frying pans were a bit worn out and the pool was ice cold but apart from that I would definately recommend this to anyone visiting La Gomera. In case your spanish skills aren't what the once were you will cope perfectly good in German :)

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Super-janne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed in Valle Gran Rey for 2 nights at the Jardin del Conde. The apartments are very large and clean but very basic. Also the website said it has a bar and when we asked we was told they have never heard about that.
The staff were very friendly and its roughly just under a mile to the centre.
All in all it wasnt the greatest place but it is what youd expect for the money.
If i stayed in Valle Gran Rey i would probably stay somewhere else next time, but if stuck then i would go back there as its not that bad.
We stayed on the ground floor and didnt have any view.

Room Tip: Would recomend getting the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Jardin del Conde was a good choice in Valle Gran Rey - well maintained and well positioned opposite the prettiest of the beaches, with a nice clean pool, a leafy garden and within walking distance of the restaurants and shops at either end of the resort. The allocated upper floor apartment was north facing - not ideal for sun-starved Britons although in Spanish culture the shaded locations are often considered the most desirable - but the helpful receptionist swapped us to one with a sunny balcony on request. The apartment was spacious for two, quiet and well laid out. It was cleaned and the beds made on alternate days. Maybe the kitchen equipment levels were barely enough for someone wanting to self-cater and it was unusual not to have wine glasses provided (just tumblers and long glasses), but apart from breakfast we always intended to eat out. There is plenty of choice and restaurant prices were reasonable. The resort itself is very laid-back and, surprisingly, slightly reminiscent of Goa. Lots of live music, including a superb band of locals playing local music (similar to Cuban) several nights a week outside Casa Maria, reggae at the hippie venue and intensely serious Indian classical music played by a German maestro at the Piano Bar. In late December 2012 we had blue skies and few clouds all week, with temperatures peaking in the mid 20s every day and a sea still warm enough for comfortable swimming. It was a good place for a winter sunshine break for anyone happy with black sand / pebble beaches. Good walking opportunities too.

We had been concerned about the effects of the severe fires on the island this summer. However although the damage on the island was extensive there has been rain since and the valley is green again. In Valle Gran Rey itself the fire damage to the vegetation can still be seen in the lower valley bottom away from the beaches, but it is not immediately obvious and the ground vegetation is already recovering. It's probably too soon to tell but, with luck, some of the damage to the palms in the lower valley may prove to be superficial. The effect of the fires won't have an impact on anyone visiting for a beach holiday. Further up the valley and into the National Park there are areas where the damage was more severe although there are still vast areas untouched by the fires and the local guided walking companies seemed to be operating as usual.

Tip: we combined our week in Jardin del Conde with nights before and after at the San Sebastian Parador - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sunny balcony if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This hotel was quiet, clean, tidy, gave pleasant service and good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
1  Thank Bjorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Very nice set of apartments, well within walking distance of everything in the Valle Gran Re. Clean, spacious, nice pool and well organised. Just a word of warning, we had a first floor flat with a sunny balcony and a nice view of the hills of Gran Re - the ground floor apparts seemed to be in perpetual gloom and not very private and open to the curious gaze of passers-by on their way to the pool or wherever. Convenient car hire company in the adjacent street but watch out for the 'dynamc conversion' syndrome if you pay by card.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank outofBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Balcony on the ground floor with absolutely no sun. The only view was the staffs equipment. It was not any understanding for changing rooom, even the hotel was not full. Nice pool area. with view

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S2rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle Gran Rey
1125.3 mi away
Charco Del Conde
Charco Del Conde
#4 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
101 reviews
1125.2 mi away
Residencial El Llano
Residencial El Llano
#5 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
119 reviews
1125.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Rey
Hotel Gran Rey
#2 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1120.8 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tecina
Hotel Jardin Tecina
#1 of 2 in Playa de Santiago
1,626 reviews
1062.1 mi away
Laurisilva Apartments
Laurisilva Apartments
#19 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jardin Las Hayas
Jardin Las Hayas
#22 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin del Conde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin del Conde

Address: Avda Charco del Conde 13, 38870, La Gomera, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Gomera > Valle Gran Rey
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Valle Gran Rey
Price Range: $54 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jardin del Conde 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jardin del Conde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin Del Conde Hotel La Gomera
Jardin Del Conde Gomera
Jardin Del Conde La Gomera/Valle Gran Rey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing