We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position but.....”
Review of Hotel Gran Rey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gran Rey
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Valle Gran Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel in Valle Gran Rey is right on the coast and could not be in a better position. The rooms are on the small side but OK if a little 'tired'. The bathroom needs refurbishing just to freshen it up - the bath is very small (but there wouldn't be enough space to have a larger one) - I'm 5 feet 10 inches and people much smaller wouldn't fit in either! As others have mentioned, the evening buffet meal isn't over-exciting but was reasonable value at 18 euros. Breakfast on the roof terrace was better. Nice atmosphere in the hotel and friendly staff both in reception and throughout the hotel. Mainly because of its position and despite some of these comments, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor (there are only two) sea view room and pay the little extra.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackNicklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gran Rey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 204 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks half-board (Halbpension) and really enjoyed the hotel atmosphere and facilities. The previous reviews of the evening food were a good warning, but really I have no complaints. It is not 'top quality' but more like food you find at home. The salad bar was great and there are plenty of non-meat options for main course. Breakfast was a top full service.

The service is fast, polite, and efficient. Very helpful front desk staff and thorough cleaning staff.

We took a sea view room and loved having the sun all afternoon and the sunset over the water. A bit of noise from the early morning arrivals/departure buses but the sound of the ever beating waves on the shore were more than a compensation!

Would definitely stay here again.

.. As an example of this hotel, there was a blind guest staying alone. It was inspiring to see how the staff took care of his extra needs, with patience, friendliness, and humor. To see this, was a reflection of the general satisfaction of the staff, meaning it is also a great hotel behind the scenes.

Room Tip: Seaview is great for sun on the balcony and sunset views. Rear rooms have great view of impressive m...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichTravelWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Jardin Tecina in Santiago in February but there is little to do in Santiago. It seemed from pictures as if Valle Gran Rey would be more interesting. So we went to Valle Gran Rey in November 2013 and we were not disappointed. In my opinion Valle Gran Rey is the best resort on the island. The hotel was more than good enough. Rooms are spacious and clean with a nice enough bathroom and very effective air conditioning. We had a room at the back looking at the hillsides. I would pay the extra for a room at the front next time. The balconies for the rooms at the front get sunshine for most of the day. Our balcony at the back got the sun for about 10 minutes around 10am.
We ate the buffet meal on our arrival on the first night. Plenty of choice and the food was fine. However we prefer to try local restaurants at night and so our booking was for bed and breakfast. Breakfast was perfect for us. Plenty of fruit, cereals, bread, cooked foods, drinks, cheeses etc etc to choose from. We ate a brilliant breakfast every day.
Reception staff was cheerful, friendly and helpful throughout.
This hotel may have only a 3 star official rating but we enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back to this resort and we would definitely stay here next time. There are some brilliant local restaurants nearby so the hotel's location was perfect for us.

Room Tip: I would choose a room at the front next time. The balconies at the front get the sun for most of th...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed a week in this hotel in April 2013. It might have been the first time I found a hotel room to look nicer in real life than on the hotel website pictures. The room was quite large and well decorated with a small kitchenette, sofa area, a large bed, good bathroom, and a balcony with a great view over the Atlantic Ocean (we hadn't payed extra for the view, so I guess we were lucky).
The rooftop terrace pool was beautiful and had a tranquil feeling to it. Often there were only a few other guests, so it was far from the chaos that often take place at family resorts. I guess the travel it takes to get there makes families with small kids choose something else, so we mostly saw adult couples and a few teenagers...
The only downside with this hotel was the poor dinner. We had booked breakfast and dinner in advance for the full week. The breakfast was actually quite nice. The dinner buffet however, seemed like it was prepared by somebody who didn't care about quality at all, and some nights it was hard to find anything I would eat at all (few options, all of poor quality; e.g. rock hard overcooked pork, salad which might have been crunchy a few days ago but had started to go bad, etc...). If I hadn't booked the full week in advance, I would definitely not return to the restaurant a second time. There are good restaurants very close to the hotel, so if we return to this area, we would stay at the hotel, but not buy the dinner there.
The location is great for full day hiking "expeditions" if you like hiking in mountains with magnificent views. We rented a car for three days for the quite reasonable 40EUR/day, from which we saw most of the island. Further, we would recommend a boat trip for whale watching. If you like nature you'll love the location; if you require shopping there might be better options for you.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, just don't eat your dinner there. I rate the hotel 4 out of 5, and if it hadn't been for the dinner service it would have been a 5.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DrG_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Hotel must have been one of a kind when it was built in the 70-80's.
Well kept though considering its age. Probably thanks to German
involvement in running the hotel. Speaking of Germans, dont expect
some extraordinary service. You get what you need but thats it.
I guess they fill their rooms most of the year and dont worry about
doing the little extra. So if you are looking for a hotel where they
are on their knee's for you this isnt the place, but one who dont demand
more than normal would be very happy here.

I would recomend this hotel to anyone I know!!!

I prefer the hotel people to be flat honest and not give some
superficial smiles and stuff like that so for me the hotel
employee's are excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperTommy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Recently spent 5 days in the hotel as part of Canary Island tour. Although only rated 3* compared to other 4* hotels on tour, was very much the best with excellent service, nice food (buffet always hot and topped up, unlike some hotels), lovely room, high standard of hygiene. Location on beach front near shops and bars was very good. La Gomera is quiet island as was the hotel and the very low key bar might not suit all. A very nice touch was having tea making facilities in the room. Staff very friendly and helpful as well as very efficient;most spoke good English.

Room Tip: Sea view best as rear of hotel looked on to scruffy area of unused farm land although have nice view...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WullieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed 5 nights as the final part of a SAGA Canary Islands tour. Dinner was being served when we arrived and we were immediatly invited into the dining room. A traditionally themed evening was in progress and the waiting staff were wearing their local costumes. The food was of good quality and plentiful. By the time that we had eaten, our luggage had been placed in our room which was of a good size and spotlessly clean. We then went up to the roof terrace (third floor) where coffee and other drinks were available.

Breakfast (also served on the roof terrace) was plentiful and we had no complaints regarding quality or quantity. There is a reasonably sized swimming pool also on the roof. Our room had a sea view with a good balcony and we did not have any problem with traffic noise. The staff were very helpful and polite and helped to increase our appreciation of this area.

One problem with the island is that as it is precipitous, there are no roads around it and therefore it is only possible to visit other areas by using the same very steep road for several miles until reaching the cross roads. The damage to the trees from the recent fires was still very evident although it was possible to see signs of new growth already.

We had a very early derarture on the last morning and were very pleasantly surprised to find a full breakfast available to those who could face it at 4.15 in the morning.

An excellent stay at this 3 star rated hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle Gran Rey
10.0 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tecina
Hotel Jardin Tecina
#1 of 2 in Playa de Santiago
1,583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playa Calera
Playa Calera
#1 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charco Del Conde
Charco Del Conde
#4 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Parador de la Gomera
Parador de la Gomera
#1 of 9 in San Sebastian de la Gomera
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laurisilva Apartments
Laurisilva Apartments
#19 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residencial El Llano
Residencial El Llano
#5 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Rey

Address: La Puntilla | Avda. Marítima Nº1, 38879, La Gomera, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Gomera > Valle Gran Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Valle Gran Rey
Price Range: $113 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Rey 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gran Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Rey Hotel
Hotel Gran Rey La Gomera/Valle Gran Rey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing